We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Best guide ever!

John was wonderful! He is incredibly knowledgeable on a wide range of topics and is very... read more

Reviewed 8 September 2018
arayka2016
,
McHenry, Illinois
Day tour to Cape of Good Hope and the 2 day wine tour

We toured with John who was perfect and extremely knowledgeable. Was more like traveling around... read more

Reviewed 8 September 2018
argede0
,
McHenry, Illinois
Read all 53 reviews
  
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
53
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
53
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine country wine tour south africa fantastic wine day tour wealth of knowledge cape point itinerary history fairview wineries winery route accommodation
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2015

John picked us up at 9am sharp for a full day of touring the Franschoek/Stellenbosch wine region. We found John to be friendly, very informative regarding the history of this area, and obliging to stop when we wanted to take extra pictures. It was a very pleasant day of visiting a good variety of vineyards and sampling an array of wine that did not disappoint !
We would not hesitate to recommend John who offers an excellent day out. We will call him when we return to Cape Town. Thank you John !

Date of experience: April 2015
Thank Betty Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2015

From the very beginning at the airport, to the last minute again at the airport we spent
two wonderful weeks in Cape Town and on the garden route with John Lawrence.
He is the best company you can wish for and an excellent driver.
Every day was well organised: beautiful places, fine wine tasting, and lovely guesthouses.
He took care to arrange a romantic new years eve for a middle-aged couple.
If we come back to ZA it will be with John Lawrence for sure.
Thank you John from Switzerland.

Date of experience: January 2015
Thank christina w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2015

We had a wonderful tour with John - it was a highlight of our vacation in CPT. He is filled with great knowledge but is also so relaxed, he allows his guests to really enjoy and take in the beauty. John had the whole day perfectly planned, a great itinerary, with excellent lunch plans already made and even managed to time it right to miss the traffic (in the high season no less). John was responsive, enthusiastic and just a great resource. He was wonderful company and I would recommend him without reserve.

Date of experience: December 2014
Thank scathcart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2014

John's introduction to the Cape was one of our highlights in an amazing visit to the city and region. The range of activities, the information given and his good humour made the day enjoyable for all of us. He also has the rare ability to make the history of the Cape relevant to now and his local anecdotes gave the tour great depth. The views we experienced were spaced to enable all of us to appreciate the great beauty of the Cape. We were so impressed we immediately booked John to take us on a morning wine tour, again another wonderful experience. Book this man and you will not be dissappointed.

Date of experience: October 2014
Thank elainetyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2014

I am a tour operator and I often use John as my guide for my groups. He is amazing - keen, enthusiastic, massive knowledge - and the most soothing, dulcet toned voice imaginable! I would highly recommend him to anyone looking for a guide.

Date of experience: November 2014
Thank andrewrussell1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews