We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Best guide ever!

John was wonderful! He is incredibly knowledgeable on a wide range of topics and is very... read more

Reviewed 8 September 2018
arayka2016
,
McHenry, Illinois
Day tour to Cape of Good Hope and the 2 day wine tour

We toured with John who was perfect and extremely knowledgeable. Was more like traveling around... read more

Reviewed 8 September 2018
argede0
,
McHenry, Illinois
Read all 53 reviews
  
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
53
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
53
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine country wine tour south africa fantastic wine day tour wealth of knowledge cape point itinerary history fairview wineries winery route accommodation
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2014

John's introduction to the Cape was one of our highlights in an amazing visit to the city and region. The range of activities, the information given and his good humour made the day enjoyable for all of us. He also has the rare ability to make the history of the Cape relevant to now and his local anecdotes gave the tour great depth. The views we experienced were spaced to enable all of us to appreciate the great beauty of the Cape. We were so impressed we immediately booked John to take us on a morning wine tour, again another wonderful experience. Book this man and you will not be dissappointed.

Date of experience: October 2014
Thank elainetyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2014

I am a tour operator and I often use John as my guide for my groups. He is amazing - keen, enthusiastic, massive knowledge - and the most soothing, dulcet toned voice imaginable! I would highly recommend him to anyone looking for a guide.

Date of experience: November 2014
Thank andrewrussell1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2014

We spent an entire week in Cape Town as a family trip. John took care of us like no one ! He is an excellent guide, he has a great knowledge about history, nature, people and life in and around Cape Town. He was just fantastic, helped us with a lot of reservations and details. He was really pedagogic and clear for us as we are not fluent in English. We were never lost ! Thanks to him and to Sonia too for being so patient ! The only regret would be not having enough time to learn more and more histories from him, but anymay we’ll come back one day ! Thank you John for this unforgettable experience and for transmitting us the love of this place. Of course we couldn’t recommend him highly enough.

Date of experience: October 2014
Thank ccilou65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2014

We spent two wonderful days with John Lawrence and Sonja Briggs. They showed us the fairest Cape in the world, the beautiful scenic drive to reach it and the penguin colony in Boulders. John is an extraordinary and excellent guide, he told us a lot about history, nature, people and life in and around Capetown without being long-winded so that we had time to enjoy, admire and dream of our next stay in this fantastic region... The second day John arranged a beautiful, interesting wine tour in the Cape Winelands with a relaxing picknick on the famous pavillion lawns at Boschendal - we tasted some delicious and exceptional wines, just great! We hope to be back soon and just say: We came as guests and left as friends". Once more, many thanks to you, John and Sonja, good luck until we see each other again! Urs and Christine Hasler, Basel/Switzerland

Date of experience: October 2014
Thank ChristineHasler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2014

Thanks to the expertise and professionalism of John Lawrence, I enjoyed an incredible holiday in a truly magnificent country. Fourteen days, 2000 plus kilometers in Cape Town, the Cape Winelands, Route 62, Addo Elephant Park and the Garden Route. My focus was Kirstenbosch, gardens and spring flora, but John insured my itinerary covered the highlights of the Western and Southern Cape. What a fantastic introduction to South Africa! All accommodation - exceptional! Everything within a modest budget too! John is a brilliant private guide - knowledgeable, patient and enthusiastic.

Date of experience: September 2014
Thank SBeckett45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews