We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Place”
Review of Lezard Bleu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lezard Bleu
Ranked #32 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
“Fantastic Place”
Reviewed 26 February 2017

We had spent seven 7 nights in this lovely, well located guest house in Cape Town. The friendly and helping owners as well as the tidiness, the large pool and the superb breakfast made this place very special for us. We also enjoyed the open atmosphere of the place which allows having the sun-downer after the exhaustive trips through town either at the pool, on the common terrace or privately.

Last but not least, many thanks also to the Lizzi and the others of the friendly and caring staff, which makes us hope that we find time to come again, soon.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank etwimkietz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herbergsvater, Owner at Lezard Bleu, responded to this review, 27 February 2017
Thanks a lot for your kind words and appreciation of what we have to offer, now we too really hope, that you will find time very soon, to come and visit us again ! In the meantime the very best for you. Looking forward to welcome you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    14
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
38
106
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Velaux, France
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2017

This house will always have a special place in my heart from now on.
It is all Nikki's and Chris fault! :-) they are both such warm, lovely, caring, funny, helpful...etc...people!
I liked them immediately when I entered their lovely, cozy home. I believe it's the people who make ( or break) a place and in their case, you cannot not appreciate their deep humanity and sincerity. I even cried when we had to leave them after 6 days;It was like leaving dear friends you have known for many years...
I wish we could have stayed more and I really can't wait to be back there!
I enjoyed a lot our conversations with Chris around a glass of wine. I loved the lovely decor of the house, it feels very cosy.I loved the adorable dogs and the cat. The garden is gorgeous and so is the pool area...the view on Table Mountain is amazing.
The best were the breakfasts.I read that it is considered the best guesthouse breakfasts in Cape town and I am not surprised.Everything is freshly made with very good products and you have a huge selection of everything: cheeses, breads, delicatessen, fruits, etc etc...
I wish I won the lottery and I would go back there tomorrow! One can dream!
More seriously, we plan on going back in a year or two and we will stay there for sure.
I miss these people and this place!
PS: the rest of the staff is also really lovely and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djbambi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herbergsvater, Owner at Lezard Bleu, responded to this review, 7 February 2017
Oh DJ Bambi ! This was probably the sweetest text placed here ever. Thank you so very much - I wish you would have won the lottery already, the would make things easier but now we have to wait a bit until your return one day and then we shall really work on something which enables you stay longer in town ! In the meantime our sincerest wishes
for your well being and teaching and planning important moves... go well, we shall keep you and Sebastian in our hearts too
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tervuren, Belgium
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Super cosy guesthouse. Warm welcome and quality services. Almost in the centre of Cape Town but a haven of peace. Very nice room with a little patio, a beautiful garden and a nice pool. Unfortunately we could'nt enjoy due to the weather and to little time. Excellent breakfast with fresh fruit and delicious bread (and that is seldom in South Africa).
A must!
Thanks to Niki, Chris and Lizzi for your generous hospitality!

  • Stayed October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvette V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herbergsvater, Owner at Lezard Bleu, responded to this review, 29 October 2016
That was very swift, Yvette, baaie dankie, indeed ! Next time come 2 weeks later and we shall make sure the weather is right for the pool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2016

This is the ideal place for a vacation in Cape Town. It is located in a pleasant residential area that is a 20 minute walk or short cab ride from the center of the city. Our room was spacious and comfortable and our hosts, Niki and Chris, really went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. They had excellent suggestions for places to eat, they booked our tickets for Table Mountain, and they provided a lavish breakfast that kept us going for most of the day. They also connected us to Ismail Parker, who took us on a great day trip to Cape Point for a very reasonable cost.

  • Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nandini2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herbergsvater, Owner at Lezard Bleu, responded to this review, 29 October 2016
Thanks a million, it's always fantastic to get positiv feed back and real appreciation. We love what we are doing but reactions like yours keep us keepin' on... even after 19 years...
did send your lines to Ismail too and he was also very glad to read that you enjoyed your day with him so much. All good wishes from us !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freiberg am Neckar, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2016

very friendly owners (german nd english speaking) with lovely tips even if You have been to CPT some times before. Excellent breakfast and it is perfect to reach with very good parking (not secured). A must to visit !

  • Stayed September 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jens290972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herbergsvater, Owner at Lezard Bleu, responded to this review, 29 October 2016
Thank you so very much, Jens, it was fabulous having you here as guests !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Rosedene Guest House
Rosedene Guest House
#25 of 156 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Rutland Lodge
#35 of 156 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
City Bowl
Radium Hall Guest House
Radium Hall Guest House
#50 of 156 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bluegum Hill Guesthouse and Apar...
#7 of 156 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
La Grenadine
#4 of 156 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
City Bowl
Himmelblau Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Himmelblau Boutique Bed & Breakf...
#41 of 156 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lezard Bleu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lezard Bleu

Property: Lezard Bleu
Address: 30 Upper Orange Street | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Oranjezicht
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price range (per night): R1 389 - R1 455
Hotel Class:4 star — Lezard Bleu 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lezard Bleu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing