We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$91
US$79
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$88/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$133
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$94
US$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$91/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$71
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Urban Hive Backpackers(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$32
US$22
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$83
US$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$118/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Cape Diamond Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$151
US$60
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Book now, pay at stay
US$203
US$168
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$191
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (214)
Filter reviews
214 results
Traveller rating
191
18
3
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
191
18
3
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest housetable mountaingreat hostslarge poolseven nightsclose to the city centernice roomgreat poolwarm hospitalitysuperb breakfastspent nightsa lovely stayminute drivewestern capeguesthouse
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 214 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2016

Nestled just at the base of Table Mountain and centrally located near downtown, Lezard Bleu is the best place to stay in Cape Town. Rather than a sterile, traditional hotel, his guest house truly feels like home. The proprietors who have been welcoming guests for twenty years are warm and exceptionally accommodating. They are quick to provide expert advice on touring, hiking, wine-tasting, theatre, etc. The common areas are cozy and comfortable and a good place to engage other travelers from Africa, the US and Europe. Bedrooms that open out to patios or decks overlooking stunning garden and pool also have large, modern bathrooms. One of the best benefits is the exquisite breakfast made to order with local ingredients. The proprietors also have three adorable dogs that are exceptionally well-behaved and hang out peacefully on the property. I have visited Capetown a number of times but in the future, I will always stay at Lezard Bleu.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank wm23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herbergsvater, Owner at Lezard Bleu, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2016

A little belated but a super big "Thank You" for your brilliant words and great review. Unfortunately we had to send 2 of the 3 well-behaved dogs into the endless playground
in April, they have been rather old and sick lately... but big Willem got a sister just this month and we shall keep it at 2 dogs for now ! All the best and looking forward to welcome you here again the near future...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2016

We stayed in the Tree house for two days and we had a wonderful time at the Lézard Bleu. The room was huge and beautifully decorated. The staff and the host couldn't be nicer and they were always available to offer advices or just to chat with us.
The breakfast is gorgeous and includes everything (eggs, croissants, fruits, meat, ...).

Thanks to Chris, Lizzy and Willem! This is such a warm place that we will never forget.

Room Tip: The tree house is wonderful, beautiful room that offers an amazing view on Cape Town.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JulienMei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herbergsvater, Owner at Lezard Bleu, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2016

Thank you so much, Julien, wonderful you could enjoy your time with us and finding such nice words while traveling on. All good wishes for both of you !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

Amazing guesthouse with a lovely and very helpful staff. We've spent 2 nights there and everything was perfect thanks to Chris and Lizzy (and Willy)
We had a very nice room with a beautiful view of Cape Town. Just perfect!!!!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ginitess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herbergsvater, Owner at Lezard Bleu, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2016

Aaah, merci bien, Lily, also for your entry in the guest book. Willy has been kissed and
I am wishing you still a beautiful time ahead in SA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

This is the second time I have been here. The staff are great, they do everything to accommodate your needs. I would like to point out a small detail as a business traveller and that is they already have in the rooms plug adapters for pc or other things that not even in high class hotels have. The selection at breakfast was 5 ***** with bacon and eggs made to order, selections of cheese, fruit, cold meats, cereal etc
Well done! You have a lot of passion in what you are doing.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank Paolo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herbergsvater, Owner at Lezard Bleu, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2016

Thank you so much, Paolo, your appreciation is greatly valued ! Yes, we are still loving what we are doing here and that's why we are very happy to receive some beautiful reviews like yours. All good wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2016

"Guest house" does not do this wonderful place any justice. It's like entering an artistic sphere - an oasis in a delightful, quiet area of the city - against the background of the mountains and with the urban lights of Cape Town twinkling below. For once, words fail me. I think one of the LB's greatest assets is the manager/housekeeper Lizzie - a power house of infectious energy and warmth and affection - always there to offer uncomplaining assistance - brilliant at tips for places to eat. And then there are the little touches in the rooms - ground coffee and a cafetiere - lovely toiletries. We loved every minute of our stay.

Room Tip: Fight, do anything you can to get the tree house - loads of space, a balcony and startlingly stunning views of the mountains and the city.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank IntrepidHector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herbergsvater, Owner at Lezard Bleu, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2016

Lizzy says thank you for your wonderful and heartily appreciation, yes, we are still proud and happy to have her on the stern which allows us to take a break from time to time, knowing that all guests will be looked after with great care. No, words definitely have not failed you at all ! Many thanks indeed and all the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews