We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lezard Bleu
Nearby Hotels
US$138
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$223
US$216
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$146
US$133
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$121
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$206
US$183
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$87
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cape Diamond Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$148
US$51
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$792
US$749
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (211)
Filter reviews
211 results
Traveller rating
188
18
3
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
188
18
3
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest housetable mountainwonderful guesthousegreat hostslarge poolclose to the city centerseven nightsnice roomwarm hospitalitygreat poolsuperb breakfastspent nightsa lovely stayfresh fruitminute drivewestern cape
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 211 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2016

We stayed in the Tree house for two days and we had a wonderful time at the Lézard Bleu. The room was huge and beautifully decorated. The staff and the host couldn't be nicer and they were always available to offer advices or just to chat with us.
The breakfast is gorgeous and includes everything (eggs, croissants, fruits, meat, ...).

Thanks to Chris, Lizzy and Willem! This is such a warm place that we will never forget.

Room Tip: The tree house is wonderful, beautiful room that offers an amazing view on Cape Town.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JulienMei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herbergsvater, Owner at Lezard Bleu, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2016

Thank you so much, Julien, wonderful you could enjoy your time with us and finding such nice words while traveling on. All good wishes for both of you !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

Amazing guesthouse with a lovely and very helpful staff. We've spent 2 nights there and everything was perfect thanks to Chris and Lizzy (and Willy)
We had a very nice room with a beautiful view of Cape Town. Just perfect!!!!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ginitess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herbergsvater, Owner at Lezard Bleu, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2016

Aaah, merci bien, Lily, also for your entry in the guest book. Willy has been kissed and
I am wishing you still a beautiful time ahead in SA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

This is the second time I have been here. The staff are great, they do everything to accommodate your needs. I would like to point out a small detail as a business traveller and that is they already have in the rooms plug adapters for pc or other things that not even in high class hotels have. The selection at breakfast was 5 ***** with bacon and eggs made to order, selections of cheese, fruit, cold meats, cereal etc
Well done! You have a lot of passion in what you are doing.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank Paolo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herbergsvater, Owner at Lezard Bleu, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2016

Thank you so much, Paolo, your appreciation is greatly valued ! Yes, we are still loving what we are doing here and that's why we are very happy to receive some beautiful reviews like yours. All good wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2016

"Guest house" does not do this wonderful place any justice. It's like entering an artistic sphere - an oasis in a delightful, quiet area of the city - against the background of the mountains and with the urban lights of Cape Town twinkling below. For once, words fail me. I think one of the LB's greatest assets is the manager/housekeeper Lizzie - a power house of infectious energy and warmth and affection - always there to offer uncomplaining assistance - brilliant at tips for places to eat. And then there are the little touches in the rooms - ground coffee and a cafetiere - lovely toiletries. We loved every minute of our stay.

Room Tip: Fight, do anything you can to get the tree house - loads of space, a balcony and startlingly stunning views of the mountains and the city.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank IntrepidHector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herbergsvater, Owner at Lezard Bleu, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2016

Lizzy says thank you for your wonderful and heartily appreciation, yes, we are still proud and happy to have her on the stern which allows us to take a break from time to time, knowing that all guests will be looked after with great care. No, words definitely have not failed you at all ! Many thanks indeed and all the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2016 via mobile

You enter the gate (you leave the car outside, parked on the road) and are greeted by two barking dogs who come toards you. Nothing to be scared off, but if you are not fund of dogs, disturbing.
The room we got was the first in a raw after the common lounge. It was not possible to lock the window, nor was there a safe in the room, but we were told that this isn't a problem. In the evening the owners had a nice dinner party going on until 22.30, just in front of our window. Next morning at about 6.00 the traffic waked us up. Being situated on a steep road, cars an especially lorries tend to use lower gears and are particularly noisy.
The pool area is nice, the water clean.
The breakfast next morning was very nice, excellent products, although left also to the enjoyment of flies, as not covered by a net or so. The general impression was as if it was the house of a big family where the kids have grown up and left the house. So the parents earn the extra penny by renting their kid's rooms.
Compared with other 4* accommodations in SA, we were disappointed. A better Airbnb, thus.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Martino V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herbergsvater, Owner at Lezard Bleu, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2016

Thanks for the "better" before the AirBnB, Martino, greatly appreciated, as much as your opinion... Although I cooked something when you arrived, we were not holding a dinner party at all ( how do know it was nice ?) but we had house guest on the terrace who enjoyed their evening on that balmy night - actually we were not even with them and they would have welcomed you in their midst for a glass with pleasure, I am sure. This is a Guest House and not a hotel, no-one was sitting in front of your window which is a sliding door and lockable shutters in fact, quite a few meters away from mentioned door (window).
We do live in different worlds indeed ! All good wishes and good vibes... for all those days ahead...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews