We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lezard Bleu
Nearby Hotels
US$134
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$148
US$131
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cape Diamond Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$144
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$218
US$213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$276
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$118
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$754
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$66
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$87
US$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (211)
Filter reviews
211 results
Traveller rating
188
18
3
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
188
18
3
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest housetable mountainwonderful guesthousegreat hostslarge poolclose to the city centerseven nightsnice roomwarm hospitalitygreat poolsuperb breakfastspent nightsa lovely stayfresh fruitminute drivewestern cape
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 211 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

This is the second time I have been here. The staff are great, they do everything to accommodate your needs. I would like to point out a small detail as a business traveller and that is they already have in the rooms plug adapters for pc or other things that not even in high class hotels have. The selection at breakfast was 5 ***** with bacon and eggs made to order, selections of cheese, fruit, cold meats, cereal etc
Well done! You have a lot of passion in what you are doing.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank Paolo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herbergsvater, Owner at Lezard Bleu, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2016

Thank you so much, Paolo, your appreciation is greatly valued ! Yes, we are still loving what we are doing here and that's why we are very happy to receive some beautiful reviews like yours. All good wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2016

"Guest house" does not do this wonderful place any justice. It's like entering an artistic sphere - an oasis in a delightful, quiet area of the city - against the background of the mountains and with the urban lights of Cape Town twinkling below. For once, words fail me. I think one of the LB's greatest assets is the manager/housekeeper Lizzie - a power house of infectious energy and warmth and affection - always there to offer uncomplaining assistance - brilliant at tips for places to eat. And then there are the little touches in the rooms - ground coffee and a cafetiere - lovely toiletries. We loved every minute of our stay.

Room Tip: Fight, do anything you can to get the tree house - loads of space, a balcony and startlingly stunning views of the mountains and the city.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank IntrepidHector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herbergsvater, Owner at Lezard Bleu, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2016

Lizzy says thank you for your wonderful and heartily appreciation, yes, we are still proud and happy to have her on the stern which allows us to take a break from time to time, knowing that all guests will be looked after with great care. No, words definitely have not failed you at all ! Many thanks indeed and all the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2016 via mobile

You enter the gate (you leave the car outside, parked on the road) and are greeted by two barking dogs who come toards you. Nothing to be scared off, but if you are not fund of dogs, disturbing.
The room we got was the first in a raw after the common lounge. It was not possible to lock the window, nor was there a safe in the room, but we were told that this isn't a problem. In the evening the owners had a nice dinner party going on until 22.30, just in front of our window. Next morning at about 6.00 the traffic waked us up. Being situated on a steep road, cars an especially lorries tend to use lower gears and are particularly noisy.
The pool area is nice, the water clean.
The breakfast next morning was very nice, excellent products, although left also to the enjoyment of flies, as not covered by a net or so. The general impression was as if it was the house of a big family where the kids have grown up and left the house. So the parents earn the extra penny by renting their kid's rooms.
Compared with other 4* accommodations in SA, we were disappointed. A better Airbnb, thus.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Martino V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herbergsvater, Owner at Lezard Bleu, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2016

Thanks for the "better" before the AirBnB, Martino, greatly appreciated, as much as your opinion... Although I cooked something when you arrived, we were not holding a dinner party at all ( how do know it was nice ?) but we had house guest on the terrace who enjoyed their evening on that balmy night - actually we were not even with them and they would have welcomed you in their midst for a glass with pleasure, I am sure. This is a Guest House and not a hotel, no-one was sitting in front of your window which is a sliding door and lockable shutters in fact, quite a few meters away from mentioned door (window).
We do live in different worlds indeed ! All good wishes and good vibes... for all those days ahead...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2016

Me and my wife had the pleasure to stay in this remarkable guest house a week this year and we had such a great time!
I can truthfully say that this guest house had the best breakfast and gave us the best service ever in a very good and relaxing atmosphere when comparing it to many other guest houses that me and my wife have been to in South Africa, and we have been to many. The room and the pool was very nice and the location of this guest house is excellent and you can walk to many good restaurants in the area. Thank you for such a lovely week!

Kind regards,

Kenneth and Mona from Sweden

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herbergsvater, Owner at Lezard Bleu, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2016

Thanks a stash for this, Kenneth, it was a great pleasure having you here and we do hope for a return of yours one day. Until then keep well !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2016

Let me start by saying that I would have given it a five star perfect rating, except for the notable absence of air conditioning. We arrived on a day where the temperature was 44 degrees Celsius, and I'm Canadian. Imagine my face when we learned there was no air conditioning. We did have a fan, but my sleep was not very restful as it was simply too hot. My wife is from a hot European country, so she slept well. Bed comfort and room design and decor were very good, service was top notch, host couple were very nice and extremely helpful and breakfast was very yummy with lots of selection to please all. Free wifi worked. Highly recommend this place, unless it's a heat wave, otherwise, great value.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank thebaron007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herbergsvater, Owner at Lezard Bleu, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2016

Thanks a lot for your honest wording and many thanks for the praise in general. After the unusual very, very hot days we had for weeks this season, we do have some portable air condition units in mind ! In the past not an issue in Cape Town, but as we all know - Mother Earth is heating up !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews