We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd visit”
Review of Lezard Bleu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lezard Bleu
Ranked #33 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

This is the second time I have been here. The staff are great, they do everything to accommodate your needs. I would like to point out a small detail as a business traveller and that is they already have in the rooms plug adapters for pc or other things that not even in high class hotels have. The selection at breakfast was 5 ***** with bacon and eggs made to order, selections of cheese, fruit, cold meats, cereal etc
Well done! You have a lot of passion in what you are doing.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank Paolo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herbergsvater, Owner at Lezard Bleu, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2016

Thank you so much, Paolo, your appreciation is greatly valued ! Yes, we are still loving what we are doing here and that's why we are very happy to receive some beautiful reviews like yours. All good wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2016

"Guest house" does not do this wonderful place any justice. It's like entering an artistic sphere - an oasis in a delightful, quiet area of the city - against the background of the mountains and with the urban lights of Cape Town twinkling below. For once, words fail me. I think one of the LB's greatest assets is the manager/housekeeper Lizzie - a power house of infectious energy and warmth and affection - always there to offer uncomplaining assistance - brilliant at tips for places to eat. And then there are the little touches in the rooms - ground coffee and a cafetiere - lovely toiletries. We loved every minute of our stay.

Room Tip: Fight, do anything you can to get the tree house - loads of space, a balcony and startlingly stunnin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank IntrepidHector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herbergsvater, Owner at Lezard Bleu, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2016

Lizzy says thank you for your wonderful and heartily appreciation, yes, we are still proud and happy to have her on the stern which allows us to take a break from time to time, knowing that all guests will be looked after with great care. No, words definitely have not failed you at all ! Many thanks indeed and all the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2016 via mobile

You enter the gate (you leave the car outside, parked on the road) and are greeted by two barking dogs who come toards you. Nothing to be scared off, but if you are not fund of dogs, disturbing.
The room we got was the first in a raw after the common lounge. It was not possible to lock the window, nor was there a safe in the room, but we were told that this isn't a problem. In the evening the owners had a nice dinner party going on until 22.30, just in front of our window. Next morning at about 6.00 the traffic waked us up. Being situated on a steep road, cars an especially lorries tend to use lower gears and are particularly noisy.
The pool area is nice, the water clean.
The breakfast next morning was very nice, excellent products, although left also to the enjoyment of flies, as not covered by a net or so. The general impression was as if it was the house of a big family where the kids have grown up and left the house. So the parents earn the extra penny by renting their kid's rooms.
Compared with other 4* accommodations in SA, we were disappointed. A better Airbnb, thus.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Martino V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herbergsvater, Owner at Lezard Bleu, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2016

Thanks for the "better" before the AirBnB, Martino, greatly appreciated, as much as your opinion... Although I cooked something when you arrived, we were not holding a dinner party at all ( how do know it was nice ?) but we had house guest on the terrace who enjoyed their evening on that balmy night - actually we were not even with them and they would have welcomed you in their midst for a glass with pleasure, I am sure. This is a Guest House and not a hotel, no-one was sitting in front of your window which is a sliding door and lockable shutters in fact, quite a few meters away from mentioned door (window).
We do live in different worlds indeed ! All good wishes and good vibes... for all those days ahead...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2016

Me and my wife had the pleasure to stay in this remarkable guest house a week this year and we had such a great time!
I can truthfully say that this guest house had the best breakfast and gave us the best service ever in a very good and relaxing atmosphere when comparing it to many other guest houses that me and my wife have been to in South Africa, and we have been to many. The room and the pool was very nice and the location of this guest house is excellent and you can walk to many good restaurants in the area. Thank you for such a lovely week!

Kind regards,

Kenneth and Mona from Sweden

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herbergsvater, Owner at Lezard Bleu, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2016

Thanks a stash for this, Kenneth, it was a great pleasure having you here and we do hope for a return of yours one day. Until then keep well !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2016

Let me start by saying that I would have given it a five star perfect rating, except for the notable absence of air conditioning. We arrived on a day where the temperature was 44 degrees Celsius, and I'm Canadian. Imagine my face when we learned there was no air conditioning. We did have a fan, but my sleep was not very restful as it was simply too hot. My wife is from a hot European country, so she slept well. Bed comfort and room design and decor were very good, service was top notch, host couple were very nice and extremely helpful and breakfast was very yummy with lots of selection to please all. Free wifi worked. Highly recommend this place, unless it's a heat wave, otherwise, great value.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank thebaron007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herbergsvater, Owner at Lezard Bleu, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2016

Thanks a lot for your honest wording and many thanks for the praise in general. After the unusual very, very hot days we had for weeks this season, we do have some portable air condition units in mind ! In the past not an issue in Cape Town, but as we all know - Mother Earth is heating up !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Villa Belle Ombre
Villa Belle Ombre
#43 of 156 in Cape Town Central
115 reviews
City Bowl
Himmelblau Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Himmelblau Boutique Bed & Breakf...
#40 of 156 in Cape Town Central
59 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 156 in Cape Town Central
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Floreal House
Floreal House
#60 of 156 in Cape Town Central
86 reviews
Acorn House
#8 of 156 in Cape Town Central
504 reviews
Bayflowers Guest House
#9 of 156 in Cape Town Central
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lezard Bleu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lezard Bleu

Address: 30 Upper Orange Street | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Oranjezicht
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R1 753 - R1 930 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lezard Bleu 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lezard Bleu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing