We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lezard Bleu
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
MannaBay(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Three Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
2Inn1 Kensington(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Four Rosmead(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alta Bay(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
SunSquare Cape Town Gardens(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kensington Place(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lady Hamilton Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Derwent House Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (209)
Filter reviews
209 results
Traveller rating
187
18
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
187
18
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest housetable mountainwonderful guesthousegreat hostslarge poolclose to the city centerseven nightsnice roomwarm hospitalitygreat poolsuperb breakfastspent nightsa lovely stayfresh fruitminute drivewestern cape
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 209 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2016 via mobile

You enter the gate (you leave the car outside, parked on the road) and are greeted by two barking dogs who come toards you. Nothing to be scared off, but if you are not fund of dogs, disturbing.
The room we got was the first in a raw after the common lounge. It was not possible to lock the window, nor was there a safe in the room, but we were told that this isn't a problem. In the evening the owners had a nice dinner party going on until 22.30, just in front of our window. Next morning at about 6.00 the traffic waked us up. Being situated on a steep road, cars an especially lorries tend to use lower gears and are particularly noisy.
The pool area is nice, the water clean.
The breakfast next morning was very nice, excellent products, although left also to the enjoyment of flies, as not covered by a net or so. The general impression was as if it was the house of a big family where the kids have grown up and left the house. So the parents earn the extra penny by renting their kid's rooms.
Compared with other 4* accommodations in SA, we were disappointed. A better Airbnb, thus.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Martino V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herbergsvater, Owner at Lezard Bleu, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2016

Thanks for the "better" before the AirBnB, Martino, greatly appreciated, as much as your opinion... Although I cooked something when you arrived, we were not holding a dinner party at all ( how do know it was nice ?) but we had house guest on the terrace who enjoyed their evening on that balmy night - actually we were not even with them and they would have welcomed you in their midst for a glass with pleasure, I am sure. This is a Guest House and not a hotel, no-one was sitting in front of your window which is a sliding door and lockable shutters in fact, quite a few meters away from mentioned door (window).
We do live in different worlds indeed ! All good wishes and good vibes... for all those days ahead...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2016

Me and my wife had the pleasure to stay in this remarkable guest house a week this year and we had such a great time!
I can truthfully say that this guest house had the best breakfast and gave us the best service ever in a very good and relaxing atmosphere when comparing it to many other guest houses that me and my wife have been to in South Africa, and we have been to many. The room and the pool was very nice and the location of this guest house is excellent and you can walk to many good restaurants in the area. Thank you for such a lovely week!

Kind regards,

Kenneth and Mona from Sweden

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herbergsvater, Owner at Lezard Bleu, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2016

Thanks a stash for this, Kenneth, it was a great pleasure having you here and we do hope for a return of yours one day. Until then keep well !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2016

Let me start by saying that I would have given it a five star perfect rating, except for the notable absence of air conditioning. We arrived on a day where the temperature was 44 degrees Celsius, and I'm Canadian. Imagine my face when we learned there was no air conditioning. We did have a fan, but my sleep was not very restful as it was simply too hot. My wife is from a hot European country, so she slept well. Bed comfort and room design and decor were very good, service was top notch, host couple were very nice and extremely helpful and breakfast was very yummy with lots of selection to please all. Free wifi worked. Highly recommend this place, unless it's a heat wave, otherwise, great value.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank thebaron007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herbergsvater, Owner at Lezard Bleu, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2016

Thanks a lot for your honest wording and many thanks for the praise in general. After the unusual very, very hot days we had for weeks this season, we do have some portable air condition units in mind ! In the past not an issue in Cape Town, but as we all know - Mother Earth is heating up !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2015

We recently stayed at Lezard with Nikki where she and Lizzie looked after all our needs and we did prove to be rather demanding guests particularly when we left a passport behind and were trying to hire a car. They came to the rescue and scanned over the details required. We were advised on restaurants and they booked for us which all proved to be excellent and arranged taxis when required.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in comfortable surroundings which is also well located.

Thank you Nikki we will definitely stay again on a return visit.
just lovely!

Bev and John from Kent England

Stayed: December 2015
Thank 482bev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2015

The best compliment one can give an establishment, is to return for another visit. We've returned five times to date, and will go again next December. When we are there, we meet lots of friends - all also returning guests! What else can I say?

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Christo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herbergsvater, Owner at Lezard Bleu, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2016

And we are truly looking very much forward to welcome you back here !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews