We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveller rating
197
19
3
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
197
19
3
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest house table mountain wonderful guesthouse great hosts close to the city center nice room great pool warm hospitality a nice place to stay spent nights a lovely stay minute drive western cape rental car cape point breakfast was delicious lizzy
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 221 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2014

We stayed here for a week as part of our honeymoon and used the guesthouse as a central base to explore around the cape area. We booked into the tree house and were not disappointed. Nicki and Chris made us feel at hime from the first moment we arrived and the treehouse was actually better in reality than we could have believed from the pictures and reviews. Breakfast was both plentiful and varied, catering for all tastes. Suggestions and advice on trips, tours, directions and attractions was always available without being forced on you, and advice on the many eating establishments was great. The location was beautiful, sitting close to the base of table mountain, with beautiful views across the city on 1 aspect and back up table mountain from another. It was also a short walk down into downtown Cape Town which was great for those who liked to get out and explore on foot.

The only negative from the break was our hire car, which we booked through the Lezard Bleu website with First Car hire. To be clear, this company have no affiliation or tie in to Lezard Bleu, but i would be wary of hiring cars through this organisation if you are hiring, given the problems we had both at commencement of hire and on receipt of the final invoice, which unfortunately came only when we were home and with no opportunity to challenge. The company took off a large amount from the deposit which has to be paid without justification and when challenged, we were told that it was tough. We would stay again with Lezard Bleu without hesitation, but i would not be hiring a car through this company ever again.

Room Tip: We only saw the tree house during our stay which was fantastic
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alrob01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herbergsvater, Owner at Lezard Bleu, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2014

Dear Alan, thank you so very much for your great words and such positive feedback ! Good to know that we could contribute in a helpful way to your special days in your honeymoon. Wishing you all the best and wonderful years together with Jacqueline.

After I received another complaint about First Car Rental, we shall now take their listing off our website and we actually will not replace it with any new link, since in this times it is easy to find a car via the internet and it will always be better if you book your rental car in the country of your residence. In case of troubles all legal stuff will be dealt with there and not abroad, which only complicates procedures... Please accept our apologies for your negative experience in this regard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Our second time in the guesthouse and we love it to stay there!!! The main building, the rooms, the pool, the wonderful view up to Table mountain or down to the harbour are fantastic.The breakfast is excellent and we enjoyed to share vacation experiences with other guest:-) Chris, Nicki and Lizzie are very helpful and makes it perfect to stay there! Thanks for everything (the wine was always great:-)) and we come back - we don`t wait four years again!!! Best wishes Sanne & Gerald

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic and wonderful decorated!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herbergsvater, Owner at Lezard Bleu, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2014

Dear Susanne, thanks a lot for your greatly appreciated and relevant words - we love it !
Your are always heartily welcome back here and there will always be a chilled Great White
in the fridge... Keep well

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

In Cape Town, we started our holiday in Lezard Bleu. This was really exellent. Nice spacious rooms, Table Mountain and nice decor. The welcome is very warm and you are getting good help. The breakfast is really Super! very large selection and super tasty. Chris has also recommended us some good resaurants which were also very good, overall a great holiday here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herbergsvater, Owner at Lezard Bleu, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Many thanks, Steven, for these great words. Happy to read that you had a wonderful time in South Africa and that we could be part of making it memorable. Greetings to all your ladies and all the best,
hope to welcome you back here on day !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We booked this B&B upon two recommendations of friends who stayed here a while ago and we were glad we did. From the moment you walk onto the premises who actually feel welcome and get the impression (even on a first visit) that you are more than a special guest but part of the family. According to our friends, the staff is still the same as it was when they stayed, which is also a good sign. Cool rooms, beautiful pool with a view of Table Mountain and a huge breakfast, all top notch. We were also lucky to get lots of excellent tips from Chris on excursions into the vineyards. The next time we come to CPT, we will be going back to Lézard Bleu, that's a fact. Only downside, the tree house was booked, :-( hopefully we will be able to book that next time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Akilah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herbergsvater, Owner at Lezard Bleu, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

I am deeply impressed by your write up and scoring, thank you so very much, we shall strive to keep the standards and to have the TreeRoom available for you next time you come around...
All good wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Everything about the guesthouse is fantastic - the decor, the pool and garden, the view, location, delicious breakfast etc. but what makes it extra special are the owners. Chris and Nikki, as well as Lizzie and all the others, were so welcoming, friendly, interested in their guests and willing to help. It's a lovely atmosphere. We got married in Cape Town and Lezard Bleu was an oasis of calm for us as we got ready on the day. After having the perfect, intimate wedding, we came back to amazingly thoughtful gifts, words and well wishes from the staff, that it really made our stay in Cape Town. We hope to go back to Cape Town again and for sure will make sure we have a room here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herbergsvater, Owner at Lezard Bleu, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

This is zoo sweet, dear Hannah, and unexpected... many, many thanks and for both of you the very best and wonderful years together - hopefully with a return at one of your many anniversaries -
Keep well, keep happy !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews