We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful apartment in a great part of the city”
other travellers have booked this property
The decor is crisp and clean
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The decor is crisp and clean
Indoors/Outdoors Open plan living
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
The decor is crisp and clean
Indoors/Outdoors
Open plan living
Large open living space
Living area
Lounge area
Bright open living area
Balinese daybed and table and chairs on the balcony. Perfect for reading and relaxing
You can live indoors or out
Dining Table decor detail
Decor
There's a full kitchen
Air-conditioned bedroom
Bedroom has a queen-size bed
The view from the balcony
Bathroom
The exterior of The Rockwell
The interior of The Rockwell building
There's an indoor heated lap pool at The Rockwell
Location
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cape Town Central, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Susanne K
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
“Wonderful apartment in a great part of the city”
Reviewed 8 November 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I loved this apartment, it was close to downtown (within walking distance) as well as the waterfront. Great restaurants nearby and very helpful people who managed the apartment. I highly recommend this apartment to other travellers to Cape Town.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guy E
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful place - I'm a repeat customer and will surely come again.”
Reviewed 23 January 2016 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Great location, very fair price, fantastic service. Wifi is great, place is ultra clean, all the amenities you need, nice fitness center, grocery store across the street, protected parking garage. Jenny will take great care of you - dont waste time searching and searching...this is the best place you are likely to find. Thanks again Jenny!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bambi1973
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Superb location to use as a base”
Reviewed 18 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The apartment, part of The Rockwell complex on Prestwich Street, was perfectly located for us to be able to explore Cape Town.

The décor and facilities were ample for a couple on holiday and the Vodacom WIFI box provided a decent speed internet to be able to check/send emails but as is the norm in SA, it is all on a pay as you go basis so uploading/downloading is very expensive and it is easy to use up all of the free credit that the owner provides.

The balcony of the apartment provided us with a great view of Table Mountain and was a real suntrap in the afternoon right through until 6pm.

There is a Spa supermarket 2 mins walk from the apartment (you can see it from the balcony)which has an extensive collection of food and drinks, including an excellent bakery/confectionery section. The Rockwell complex itself has a bar and 3 bistro/restaurants offering sushi, pasta and light snacks. All staff are friendly and helpful.

We found that we felt perfectly safe walking around the area of Cape Town during the day, we walked the 15-20 minute journey to the V&A waterfront a couple of times and the only issue we had was the heat but a quick jump into a bar for a drink soon cured that problem.

We took the advice to take taxis in the evenings and these were reasonably priced (R50-R70 to the waterfront.

We stayed over the Christmas period and booked our Christmas lunch at the Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel which was excellent and highly recommended.

I would be more than happy to return to this apartment when I am next in the area and encourage anyone else to do so.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol M
Swift Current, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We were delighted with this lovely apartment!”
Reviewed 20 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was our first trip to Cape Town and it could not have been better! Jenny had everything arranged for us knowing we would arrive very late at night. The apartment was clean, well furnished with every amenity we required and the bed was extremely comfortable! I appreciated the high quality bedding and having a washer and dryer in our suite. This apartment is a gem! With respect to location, it is situated close to great restaurants and shops. We walked all over our neighbourhood and enjoyed every minute! I rated the facility 'good' instead of 'great' only because the pool heater was under repair while we were there. Finaly, I must say that I can't imagine a better person to deal with than Jenny. From our first email exchange to our last she was helpful beyond measure going above and beyond to meet our needs!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The apartment had everything we required. Nothing was missing.
Liked least: Unfortunately the heating system in the pool was broken during our stay.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lars M
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment in De Waterlant”
Reviewed 25 November 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed at this lovely apartment in De Waterkant for 5 nights. We loved the location, many nice restaurants and bars within walking distance. It is very nice furnished and has a lovely balcony. There is also a nice equipped kitchen, and a washing maschine, which we did not use. If you have a car the apartment has a secure parking space. We felt as at home and will rent it for sure for our next stay in Cape Town!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing