We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jonathan P
Hove, United Kingdom

Superb boutique hotel in quiet part of Cape Town

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 01 Nov 2019via mobile
Small but well formed boutique hotel in quiet central neighbourhood of Cape Town. Rooms are modestly furnished but clean and comfortable with a king size bed. Perfect start to our South African adventure. The team here led by Louis are happy to help and advise and highly knowledgeable. Breakfast is plentiful and great with good choices. The delightful servers/ chef are fantastic. Our room was fantastic with a view of Table Mountain. We loved it.
Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
africanvilla16, Owner at An African Villa, responded to this review
Responded 04 Nov 2019
Hi Jonathan P
Good to hear you enjoyed your time with us.
All the best and enjoy the rest of your holiday in SA celebrating your wedding anniversary.
Louis and the Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 3 080
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 3 080
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 080
  • Hotels.com
    R 3 080
0.7 km from An African Villa
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 972
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 1 368
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 270
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 003
0.9 km from An African Villa
Free Wifi
Pool
R 2 115
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 2 020
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 921
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 968
2.2 km from An African Villa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Long Street Hotel Bath
R 821
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 593
  • Agoda.com
    R 539
  • Expedia.com
    R 810
0.7 km from An African Villa
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
R 750
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 750
  • Expedia.com
    R 675
  • StayForLong
0.3 km from An African Villa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
R 5 860
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 6 060
  • Agoda.com
    R 5 091
  • Priceline
    R 5 581
3.1 km from An African Villa
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Junior Suite at the Cape Town Lodge
R 646
R 528
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 570
  • Agoda.com
    R 536
  • Vio.com
    R 527
1.0 km from An African Villa
Pool
Restaurant
R 8 726
  • Priceline
    R 8 715
  • Radissonhotels.com
    R 8 726
  • Hotels.com
    R 8 726
3.2 km from An African Villa
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviews (1 079)
Filter reviews
1 079 results
Traveller rating
963
94
19
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
963
94
19
3
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1 079 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2019

It was a comfortable room, good breakfast, good garden if it's sunny;. Very helpful - the best "induction" I've had in a guest house! Recommended. It's also close to amenities - a walk from the town centre.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Malc-Simmonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 September 2019 via mobile

We had 4 nights at this amazing guest house. It is quite possibly the best hotel / guest house I have ever stayed in. Louis and his team make you feel so very welcome - like you are in their own home. With only 7 rooms it has an exclusive feel to it. The rooms are beautifully appointed and the breakfast is a home cooked delight. Louis and Kayla are so knowledgeable about Cape Town and can help you out with your itinerary for tours and restaurant recommendations .

I cannot praise this place highly enough

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jane c
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 March 2019

Lois and the team have created a totally relaxed atmosphere within a delightful property in a quiet and safe suburb of Cape Town. They will go the extra mile to assist in any way so don`t hesitate to ask! A visit to the local restaurant The Millers Thumb is a must!

Date of stay: March 2019
1  Thank donhLongfieldKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 March 2019 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights with a friend From the time of our booking the service was great They replied to my request for a twin room and e mailed us to ask if we required transport from the airport and also booked a restaurant for us The villa was extremely clean and beautifully decorated We only met Kayla and Louis who were very friendly and assisted us with transport, restaurants etc as were the breakfast ladies who were very courteous We loved the area it was in and found great restaurants within walking distance from the hotel Would highly recommend and hopefully will return one day myself Thank you

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank 762beverleyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 March 2019

We had such a nice stay of 4 nights at An African Villa, at a beautiful location with a view of Table Mountain. The owner gave us a very valuable introduction to everything we needed to know about Cape Town. The service was great in all aspects from quality of breakfast, friendliness of staff and cleanliness of rooms. We felt at home immediately! As an extra bonus, when my daughter forgot her jacket when we checked out, the owner helped to send it to our last hotel stay in Stellenbosch and didn't even charge us for it.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Karin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews