We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 052)
Filter reviews
1 052 results
Traveller rating
938
92
19
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
938
92
19
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews platinum room honesty bar table mountain complimentary sherry and port african theme millers thumb honor system guest house within walking distance stay in cape town kloof street cooked breakfast perfect place to stay car hire camps bay boutique hotel yogurt
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 1 052 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2017

African Villa is a hotel full of character. Much more individual than the streamlined international Hotels. A perfect place to stay for some days in Cape Town. The interior fitting is both elegant and authentic and follows a clear concept. We appreciated and enjoyed the service and friendliness and a lot of helpful advice by the proprietors and the staff.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank karlwolf2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

A perfect place to stay in Cape Town - close to our favorite area around Kloof St but also strategically situated for getting around other parts of town. Lovely old house renovated with care - a true boutique hotel. Great service and food, everyone was really helpful and made sure we had a great stay, also introduced us to the city and told us what to do/not to do, where to go/not to go, etc. Will come back as soon as we can!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jonas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017

An African Villa has received tremendous reviews on Trip Advisor through the years and deserves all of the compliments they've gotten. The proprietors and staff are as helpful and accommodating as any you'll find anywhere. The rooms are well appointed and the entire facility is extremely clean and up to date. We stayed in room C-4 which gave us access to a private balcony. Located in a quiet residential area close to restaurants and a shopping mall, it's an easy Uber ride to many of the Cape Town attractions. Uber fare to the V&A Waterfront was just over $3 U.S., and it cost just over $4 for a ride to the cable car station at Table Mountain. Speaking of Table Mountain, we bought our tickets online ahead of time and saved ourselves a long wait in the ticketing cue.

Room Tip: Ask for Room C-4
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank REEF_Surfer_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017 via mobile

Excellent hotel as a base in Cape Town when we first arrived from London. Cindy took the time to show us around the beautiful house (actually three joined together!) and gave us all the info we needed to explore the city. She could not have been more helpful. The breakfast was superb (delicious scrambled eggs) and we loved being near Kloof Street with so many good places to eat and drink. This hotel and local area has SO much more character than the V&A waterfront where most people flock to!! Book Millers Thumb and Kloof Street House in advance for dinner.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017 via mobile

The hotel is very well situated for the vaccation in Cape Town. It’s a really nice hotel with an excellent staff that kindly helps the guests with everything. The breakfast is the best part and gives you a good start for the day ahead of you.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mats W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews