We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A sexy restaurant with very good food”
Review of Kloof Street House

Kloof Street House
Ranked #41 of 1 298 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Kloof street house is an eclectic inspired restaurant and bar set in a magnificent Victorian house on the famous Kloof Street, nestled in the Table mountain valley, Cape Town. Join us in our garden for Saturday and Sunday Brunches, daily lunches and Sunday lunch Jazz, candle lit dinners in our dining rooms, drinks in our beautiful garden under the palm trees or just relax on our chesterfield couches in our cozy lounge. With our inviting homely feel and warm welcoming service, Kloof street house makes you feel just right at home.
Reviewed 5 February 2018

My husband and I really enjoyed our dinner at Kloof Street House. We started with a cocktail at the elegant, old-world bar (a delicious smoked Nigroni) and then moved to the main dining room for dinner. The room was packed with a nice looking urban crowd, and there was a not-too-loud buzz in air. For dinner we shared the steak frites and the onion tart, both of which were very good. Paired with a nice South African red we were all set! We skipped dessert because we indulged at lunch. Highly recommend Kloof Street House and will definitely return when we find ourselves in Cape Town again.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tribecadoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 747)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

237 - 241 of 1 747 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2018

The food and the restaurant were just fantastic. Lisa took great care of our table and the family! We loved this place-- a great choice with a very diverse menu!

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JohnJNorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2018 via mobile

Lovely location inside and outside with great and fun service as well as delicious food. Must visit while in CT

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Schnapphuhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2018

Great restaurant, excellent food, cool vibe, great decor, great cocktails. Recommend going on a Sunday for the live jazz band. Would go back!

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank londonjanep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018

14 nights in the Western Cape and this was the only restaurant that got a second visit. Atmospheric, quirky decor in city setting. Off a lively street, you enter through an al fresco garden section up steps into a stylish building with a bit of a colonial food. Good mix of ages, relaxed, fun, buzzy vibe. Food was excellent but shy of fine dining. Both of our waiters had engaging characters and good knowledge of varied menu and wine list. With a couple of bottles of decent vino we ran to £70 a head minus dessert but the best recommendation would be that we both wished there was a KSH at home. We would be regulars.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank clivet2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kloof Street House also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Kloof Street House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing