We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning spot!”

The Cousins Trattoria
Ranked #6 of 1 170 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: R 200 - R 800
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Description: "Founded in September 2012, our story began with two cousins, Andrea and Simone, driven by a deep love for their Nonna's traditional Romagna recipes. They decided to share their passion in the city they adore, Cape Town. One year later, Luca, the third cousin, joined the family business, infusing even more flair and passion. We wholeheartedly welcome you, just like family."
Reviewed 11 December 2020 via mobile

Definitely the best Italian restaurant in Cape Town. The food was truly delicious - I cannot fault it in any way! The service was great, the hostess was super welcoming and the space had a great vibe. Cannot wait to go back. Highly recommend The Cousins pasta (their signature) and the Lamb Gnocchi.

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank annika_dutoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (684)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 166 of 686 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2020

Truly authentic italian food provided with an italian flair. Seafood pasta really fresh and delicious. We were convinced by our wonderful waiter to order desserts which did not disappoint. Will be back

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tiziana117
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 March 2020

Visited The Cousins on a Monday night. It was busy and had some atmosphere. The waiter went through the menu and the specials board with enthusiasm. It made it hard to choose what to eat as every dish sounded great.

My wife chose their signature “Cousins” pasta dish and I had the Tagliata. The pasta was served with some theater, which was fun, and got top marks; very good. The steak was good too and served just as the Italian’s do and generous with the cheese.

The table we sat at was close to two other tables and the experience was enhanced by the couples at the other tables having some banta with us.

Good food, good atmosphere and both of us enjoyed the experience.

Date of visit: March 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 February 2020

This is a true trattoria in every sense of the word. The cooking is traditional trattoria cooking, and I felt a time warp for Italy in the 60s. This is a good thing. The food was plentiful and scrumptious and very inexpensive. Thank goodness not nouvelle cuisine. The service is excellent, the waiters and the host very gracious. They even make their own wine, which is quite tasty for what it is. I highly recommend this place for dinner.

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank laficabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 February 2020 via mobile

Quaint but you leave with a huge impression. The owner is hands on. Food out of this world. Final food preparation is done at your table where they infuse your pasta on this huge flat dome cheese. So original! Lemoncello's ended the evening in true Italian style. By far the best Italian restaurant I have eaten at. Price very reasonable. Lovely atmosphere.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Sourfigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Cousins Trattoria also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to The Cousins Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.