We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely sea-side cottage in Glencairn”
other travellers have booked this property
Sea Fever is all about the view and the sound of the ocean.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sea Fever is all about the view and the sound of the ocean.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Sea Fever is all about the view and the sound of the ocean.
Sunrise at Sea Fever
Queen size bed
View from the bed
View of Glencairn beach
Cottage backing onto the mountain
Winter sunrise
Open plan living room and kitchen
Fully equipped kitchen
Outdoor braai (barbeque) area
Spacious lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cape Town Central, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Kenneth_C...
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A lovely sea-side cottage in Glencairn”
Reviewed 18 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This was our second stay at the Sea Fever cottage. We found this rental to be every bit as perfect this time around as it was for our first rental, two years ago. This cottage has the most amazing view of the beach, ocean and mountains. It is located in a quiet residential area about two streets from the beach. It features a fully self-catered arrangement with a complete kitchen and a clothes washing machine. Several restaurants are nearby as is a small grocery store. It is also easy to get to neighbouring Simon's Town or Fishoek, especially so now that Uber is in town. Most local Uber rides were about US$3. Heath and Belinda, the hosts, are simply delightful and fully invested in ensuring that their guests do enjoy themselves during their visit. Heath is also a very experienced and credentialed tour guide and we used his services for several tours (wine country and Cape Point) and we found him to be truly amazing in his knowledge of the area. We are already planning a return visit!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2018
Thank you Ken and Robert for such a detailed and glowing review. We look forward to hosting you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith R
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent Base to explore the Cape Town area”
Reviewed 14 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

A lovely place to stay and explore the Cape Town area. Heath and Belinda are wonderful and helpful hosts who live next door and really make you feel welcome. And what wonderful views from the living and bedrooms, lovely to wake up to. CT is less than an hour away, the Cape of Good Hope is similarly easy to drive to and there are some lovely drives around False Bay.

Overall First Class, Thank You

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smithjeza...
Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Secret Romantic Honeymoon Getaway”
Reviewed 19 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Reviving the mind,restoring the spirit & inspiring the soul.Thank you soooo much Heath and Belinda for your hospitality and allowing us to share in your piece of heaven!Thank you for the treats and making our stay the best EVER!The amazing sea view, the beautiful family history and the best of all no matter the weather ;the view, a glass of wine and a crackling fire will make anyone fall in love with seafever.highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2017
Wow Angelique and Zayne, it was an absolute pleasure hosting you and we look forward to seeing you back at Sea Fever soon. Thank you for the awesome review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worldtrav...
Berlin
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful place - highly recommended”
Reviewed 25 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

This apartment is just wonderful. The view is the best of it, it is just amazing. And then everthing inside: Not luxurious, but spacious for a couple, and very practical. You find everything you need, even for an extended stay.
The hosts are wonderful people, very helpful and generous, and we felt really at home. I only can recommend this place and would definitely come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YVR_guest...
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, beautiful people”
Reviewed 14 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Our stay in Capetown got off to a bad start when our luggage didn't arrive on our flight. I'm so glad we were staying at Sea Fever when that happened because no host could have been more helpful and accommodating than Heath. Thanks to Heath we actually got to get out some and enjoy the beautiful, uncrowded beach at Glencairn rather than being prisoners waiting for the delivery to arrive.
Heath took us on a magnificent tour of Cape Peninsula National Park, and it was one of the truly magical days of my life. Heath is so knowledgeable and so generous with his knowledge. He's a licensed South Africa tour guide but what he shares with you is his love of his country. It wasn't long at Sea Fever before we were planning a return trip.
The house is spacious, with wall to wall views of the beach and sunrise. It's comfortable and no-fuss, with tile floors that don't mind wet sandy footprints. (And Heath leaves a basin for your feet and sandals by the door and changes the water for you!) We truly felt like long-term residents rather than visitors.
Glencairn is an extremely quiet, peaceful, not-over-developed haven on the Cape. You won't find expensive shops and restaurants, nor will you find huge crowds and accompanying noise. To me, it felt like my father's tiny fishing village on the coast of France - quiet, rustic, peaceful.
We got to know Heath and his wife and children during our stay and I can honestly say, they became our very first friends in South Africa.
We have grown to love Capetown and Sea Fever and Heath were a huge part of that. We have never been this far from home, but felt we found a new home here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Proximity to, and views of, the beach
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jan 2016
Friends indeed!! Ken and Robert were truly sincere and enthusiastic about everything they experienced while staying at Sea Fever. We would definitely call them "locals" as they embraced swimming in the sea a number of times a day, sometimes at 5am!! Thank you for your extremely kind review of our spot. As the poet john Masefield wrote, "I must down to the seas again......."
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing