We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy building work”
Review of Canal Quays

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Canal Quays
Reviewed 10 November 2017

Lovely spacious apartment with washing , machine,dryer and dishwasher
15-20 minutes walk to Victoria & Albert Dock
Only downside was noisy building work, Monday to Saturday so could have breakfast on balcony which we would have liked to do. We did know of work but it was due to finished

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robyn N, Guest Relations Manager at Canal Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Thank you for your review and for choosing our establishment. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed in the building work taking place - this has continued for longer than expected and we have updated our information to reflect this.

We do hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back on a return visit!

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2017

The apartment has all you would need for a comfy stay, the welcoming pack is a nice touch. The staff are friendly and helpful. Building is going on nearby, no noise but hopefully when completed the access of an evening will improve. The path to the waterfront is good during the day (under a bridge by the canal) but locked up in the evening resulting in a longer walk back to the apartment.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robyn N, Guest Relations Manager at Canal Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Thank you for your positive comments. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! I hope your next stay is just around the corner. Please do call us if there is anything we can help you with.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

Tucked away behind the Convention Centre, this place was convenient for both the city centre and the Waterfront. The apartment was spacious, clean and well appointed. It was a shame about the building work opposite, in terms of both the view and the noise, but the sound-proofing was very good, so we barely noticed the noise when the windows were closed.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank alicerO4183QF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robyn N, Guest Relations Manager at Canal Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Thank you for your review and for choosing our establishment. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you again as a guest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

I with friends have two nights stay. Pretty disappointed since the apartment surrounding buildings under construction. One bedroom without aircon and furniture is too simple. Not suggest for holiday view.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 367yangz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robyn N, Guest Relations Manager at Canal Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback pertaining to your stay.

I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your stay with us.

Despite this we hope that we get the opportunity of welcoming you back on a return visit, perhaps at one of our sister properties.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

A great modern apartment with all amenities for comfort in the city. Ultra-modern, clean and well positioned for business and leisure. It is on the waterway and linked by water taxi to CTICC and surrounds.

Room Tip: All good it seems. Higher up will give great views over waterway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 267desireeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robyn N, Guest Relations Manager at Canal Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us!

We are thrilled to hear that you had an enjoyable stay anf hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Radisson Blu Le Vendome Hotel
#38 of 112 in Cape Town Central
509 reviews
Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point
#74 of 112 in Cape Town Central
374 reviews
City Bowl
The Three Boutique Hotel
The Three Boutique Hotel
#30 of 112 in Cape Town Central
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Icon Luxury Apartments
#13 of 131 in Cape Town Central
799 reviews
Harbouredge Apartments
#20 of 131 in Cape Town Central
556 reviews
Harbour Bridge Luxury Apartments
#34 of 131 in Cape Town Central
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Quays

Address: 1 Lower Burg Street | Convention Centre Square, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 131 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 1 185 - R 2 710 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Canal Quays 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a serene location overlooking the beautiful working harbour of Cape Town. Canal Quays is a modern property classically furnished and ideally positioned on the canal waterway. This venue affords guests the comfort of spacious self-catering apartments in a quiet area of the city. Canal Quays is ideal for business and leisure as it's a stroll to the Cape Town International Convention Centre, and within walking distance to the city's financial district and a short drive to various shopping centres, restaurants and major attractions. Each modern apartment is equipped with a kitchen, open-plan dining and lounge areas, including spacious bedrooms, which makes Canal Quays suitable for short and long stays in Cape Town. Our services include pre-arrival grocery shopping, airport transfers, car rental, day tours and sightseeing excursions (charges apply). Personal laundry and dry cleaning services are available upon request (surcharge applicable). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Canal Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing