We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Principal's Conference”
Review of Canal Quays

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Canal Quays
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

A short walk from CTICC, this apartment was a luxurious home away from home. Fully serviced self catering unit with free wifi and all other amenities you could think of. Close to V&A waterfront and Cape Town central. A great place to stay!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Logan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomefromHomeCT, Guest Services Manager at Canal Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear Logan,

Thank you fr reviewing your stay with us.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Robyn Noel
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 17 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

Having stayed at Canal Quays 4 times I decided to treat my family and friends to a long weekend in Cape Town.
The apartment it's self is clean and tidy, but the building construction going on opposite the lounge and main bedroom is totally unacceptable. The noise starts at 7am and goes on till after 9pm at night. I believe Agoda as the booking agent should have bought this to our attention before the booking and offered us alternative accommodation.
The view of the docks has been taken away and I see no reason to stay here again. It's a terrible shame as I have had many a good stay here in the past.

Agoda you should do your home work before booking. A waste of money.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank TamboRambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomefromHomeCT, Guest Services Manager at Canal Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear TamboRambo,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us!

We are sorry to hear that the construction opposite the building disturbed your stay.

We have placed notifications on all booking sites advising our guests of the construction taking place - we will contact the booking agent to ensure that the notification is being displayed correctly, so as to avoid any disappointments in future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Great apartment/complex. Good location for the convention centre (5 minute walk) and an easy walk to the V&A Waterfront (only during the day - at night its a taxi ride, cheap - 50 Rand or so - but necessary after dark).

The apartment was a good size - modern, clean and fresh throughout - with a good size bathroom (also with washing machine in the entrance), big kitchen/eating area (Oven, hob, microwave, toaster, fridge/freezer), large and comfortable bed (with nice pillows) and pleasant seating area with satellite TV/DVD. We had a large balcony overlooking the canal. Overall a very pleasant space. We had room 202.

Staff are very helpful, arranging taxis, offering advice and recommendations and are available 24 hours. A special mention to Chris who went above and beyond by ensuring we got to the airport on our departure when we found the Cape Town Marathon had closed many local roads and the taxi was delayed!

There was ongoing building work adjacent to our apartment on the other side of the canal so during the day there was some construction noise. The soundproofing of the room was very good so we weren't disturbed - just meant we kept the window closed - not a big deal for us.

Overall a great stay and this combined with the food and sights to see in and around Cape Town has us planning a return visit!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomefromHomeCT, Guest Services Manager at Canal Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear Peter,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such detailed feedback.

We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Robyn Noel
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Apartment / spacious with all required amenities available, well serviced
Short walk to the VA Waterfront close to restaurants and shops, close to Cape Towns central business district, family enjoyed the stay

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank C3991QMgeorgec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomefromHomeCT, Guest Services Manager at Canal Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback regarding your stay.

We are glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time here and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Robyn Noel
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

I would love to keep this place in my memory. It wasan incredible time to stay there. The staffs are very nice. The room isvery clean. This place should be recommended to my friends. Hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank vorapatw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomefromHomeCT, Guest Services Manager at Canal Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear Vorapatw,

Thank you for your kind review and for recommending us to others

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Robyn Noel
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Radisson Blu Le Vendome Hotel
#38 of 112 in Cape Town Central
509 reviews
Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point
#74 of 112 in Cape Town Central
374 reviews
City Bowl
The Three Boutique Hotel
The Three Boutique Hotel
#30 of 112 in Cape Town Central
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Icon Luxury Apartments
#13 of 131 in Cape Town Central
800 reviews
Harbouredge Apartments
#20 of 131 in Cape Town Central
556 reviews
Harbour Bridge Luxury Apartments
#33 of 131 in Cape Town Central
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Quays

Address: 1 Lower Burg Street | Convention Centre Square, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 131 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 1 135 - R 2 664 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Canal Quays 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a serene location overlooking the beautiful working harbour of Cape Town. Canal Quays is a modern property classically furnished and ideally positioned on the canal waterway. This venue affords guests the comfort of spacious self-catering apartments in a quiet area of the city. Canal Quays is ideal for business and leisure as it's a stroll to the Cape Town International Convention Centre, and within walking distance to the city's financial district and a short drive to various shopping centres, restaurants and major attractions. Each modern apartment is equipped with a kitchen, open-plan dining and lounge areas, including spacious bedrooms, which makes Canal Quays suitable for short and long stays in Cape Town. Our services include pre-arrival grocery shopping, airport transfers, car rental, day tours and sightseeing excursions (charges apply). Personal laundry and dry cleaning services are available upon request (surcharge applicable). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Canal Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing