We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Canal Quays
Nearby Hotels
US$138
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$211
US$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$221
US$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$154
US$132
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cape Diamond Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$146
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$65
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$792
US$742
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$120
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (333)
Filter reviews
333 results
Traveller rating
129
128
46
11
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
129
128
46
11
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfurnished apartmentself catering apartmentsecure underground parkingbuilding worksecond bedroomthese apartmentswalking distancehome from homewashing machineva waterfrontminute walkeasy accessreception areaenjoyed my stayexcellent locationlong streetnoise
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 333 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

Having stayed at Canal Quays 4 times I decided to treat my family and friends to a long weekend in Cape Town.
The apartment it's self is clean and tidy, but the building construction going on opposite the lounge and main bedroom is totally unacceptable. The noise starts at 7am and goes on till after 9pm at night. I believe Agoda as the booking agent should have bought this to our attention before the booking and offered us alternative accommodation.
The view of the docks has been taken away and I see no reason to stay here again. It's a terrible shame as I have had many a good stay here in the past.

Agoda you should do your home work before booking. A waste of money.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank TamboRambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomefromHomeCT, Guest Services Manager at Canal Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear TamboRambo,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us!

We are sorry to hear that the construction opposite the building disturbed your stay.

We have placed notifications on all booking sites advising our guests of the construction taking place - we will contact the booking agent to ensure that the notification is being displayed correctly, so as to avoid any disappointments in future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Great apartment/complex. Good location for the convention centre (5 minute walk) and an easy walk to the V&A Waterfront (only during the day - at night its a taxi ride, cheap - 50 Rand or so - but necessary after dark).

The apartment was a good size - modern, clean and fresh throughout - with a good size bathroom (also with washing machine in the entrance), big kitchen/eating area (Oven, hob, microwave, toaster, fridge/freezer), large and comfortable bed (with nice pillows) and pleasant seating area with satellite TV/DVD. We had a large balcony overlooking the canal. Overall a very pleasant space. We had room 202.

Staff are very helpful, arranging taxis, offering advice and recommendations and are available 24 hours. A special mention to Chris who went above and beyond by ensuring we got to the airport on our departure when we found the Cape Town Marathon had closed many local roads and the taxi was delayed!

There was ongoing building work adjacent to our apartment on the other side of the canal so during the day there was some construction noise. The soundproofing of the room was very good so we weren't disturbed - just meant we kept the window closed - not a big deal for us.

Overall a great stay and this combined with the food and sights to see in and around Cape Town has us planning a return visit!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomefromHomeCT, Guest Services Manager at Canal Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear Peter,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such detailed feedback.

We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Robyn Noel
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Apartment / spacious with all required amenities available, well serviced
Short walk to the VA Waterfront close to restaurants and shops, close to Cape Towns central business district, family enjoyed the stay

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank C3991QMgeorgec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomefromHomeCT, Guest Services Manager at Canal Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback regarding your stay.

We are glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time here and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Robyn Noel
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

I would love to keep this place in my memory. It wasan incredible time to stay there. The staffs are very nice. The room isvery clean. This place should be recommended to my friends. Hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank vorapatw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomefromHomeCT, Guest Services Manager at Canal Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear Vorapatw,

Thank you for your kind review and for recommending us to others

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Robyn Noel
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

Good location, great value for money, very pleasant staff, a very good place to stay in a walking distance from the main sites, Long Street and V & A Watherfront.
Just it will be better to have the check out time latter .

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank albinopedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomefromHomeCT, Manager at Canal Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Dear albinopedro,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Robyn Noel
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews