We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Greek food in cape town.”
Review of Mykonos Taverna

Mykonos Taverna
Ranked #154 of 1 193 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 8 February 2020 via mobile

Best Greek food in town.
I ate at the one in Camps Bay that’s recently opened. I normally go to the one in Sea point.
Food is always consistently fresh, delicious, flavorful and well priced. There is something for everyone’s dietary needs. Has a wonderful casual Friday night dinner with friend. Staff is extremely friendly.

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank xoxopottery
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

37 - 41 of 383 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2020

What an absolute Gem of a restaurant. We discovered it a few years ago on our annual SA holiday. Loving Greek food we gave it a try. Outstanding Authentic Greek food from home made Tsatziki and hummus to tender fresh cooked neat dishes.
The Meze is 230 rand for 2 people and with a small Greek salad added that could easily be enough for 2 to graze on for the night.
What tremendous value and well priced wines too.
On top of that the same smiling well trained waiters keep the place running smoothly and so efficiently.
Great team, great food and exceptional value.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank wayne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 January 2020 via mobile

Can’t fault the place!

It’s rare that I’ll give 5 stars to a restaurant but everything about this place was excellent. The ambience, the service were both spot on, whilst the food was delicious. My partner had the chicken souvlaki meal with Greek salad, chips and pitta, whilst I had the same with lamb. The salad was full of flavour and sumptuous whilst the lamb was nice and tender - pink how it should be. Melted in your mouth. The homemade Tzatsiki was the best I’d had. A great choice

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank DoubleD1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 January 2020 via mobile

The food is fantastic and the setting is straight out of Greece.

Joined for dinner with a party of 8+ which meant that a tip was included. Happy to pay a tip for good service but this needs to be on my terms and is completely dependent on the level of service experienced. My experience is that when a tip is automatically included then the service levels drop and unfortunately this was the case at Mykonos.

The waiter also didn’t tell us that the tip was already included and we almost ended up paying an additional percentage.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank LawHollander
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 January 2020

Last dinner of 2019 and it definitely didn't disappoint. The food was incredible and our waiter was great. Ended the night with Ouzo. Bad idea haha we didn't realise how strong that stuff is

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank LMojito22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Mykonos Taverna also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Mykonos Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.