We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful breakfast”

Vovo Telo Bakery & Cafe V&A Waterfront
Ranked #54 of 1 193 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Vovo Telo embodies soul through the love of creating good food in an authentic way. Its not just about our great coffee and small batch baked goods, but also about freshly prepared wholesome food
Reviewed 3 April 2021

Breakfast and coffee was delicious, second time we visited and will definitely be back. Service was great.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank Magda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (853)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 38 of 853 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2021 via mobile

Coffee is delicious, but croissants are not really good.
It is difficult to find the right croissant...they are big but not crispy as it has to be.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank Lieveke49
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 October 2020

For the first time since lockdown started in March, we went to Vovo Telo this for a late lunch. I have eaten there many times before and always had good food and I was excited to have a slice of their delicious sourdough bread.

We arrived at 3:50pm and were seated at a table and, after ordering some drinks, we ordered our meal. Our waitress came to the table about 10 minutes later to tell us that, as the restaurant was closing soon, they didn't have any sourdough. As soon as our meal was delivered to the table, she told us that the kitchen was closing and we needed to order anything else immediately.

The food was below average. My chicken salad had cherry tomatoes in it that were soft and off. My daughter's pizza was undercooked. And while we ate our food, all the chairs were being packed up around us. It was a very bad experience and cost R440 which was overpriced considering what we ate and the freshness of the food. I was very disappointed that there wasn't any sourdough.

I have written them an email but had no response. The food was bad, but my biggest complaint is that we weren't actually turned away rather than being seen to a table. I didn't know that they closed at 4pm and, as there are many choices of places to eat at the Waterfront, I would have happily gone somewhere else instead of obviously putting out all the staff to serve us after closing time.

All in all, it was a very bad experience and left my fellow diners embarrassed by my complaints.

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SusieSA2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 August 2020

We sat outside in the sun on this beautiful Sunday and ordered lunch at Vovo Telo. The waiter was nice, but inexperienced and dropped a complete jug of salad dressing on our 6 years old son's head. This by itself would have been unpleasant but things happen - if you had a manager who knew how to dealt with issues like that. Instead of immediately getting our son a clean towel and assist with cleaning up the mess, the waiter disappeared and continued to serve other guests - we couldn't believe our eyes. I went inside and asked to see the manager to get this sorted immediately. The manager wasn't apologetic and didn't even come out to see if our son was ok. When bringing the bill, not even our son's grapetizer was taken off or maybe a sweet treat offered to him offered, just to say sorry and make up for vinegar dressing in his hair and a ruined shirt. So I said that this is just not good enough, and consequently, he was offered a small pastry. - Now what makes it completely unacceptable from the manager was that he made the waiter pay cash to the barman for the little pastry and didn't even offer it on the house. What a disgrace. At this point, we started feeling bad for the waiter that he had to work for such a manager. A manager who doesn't accept responsibility, doesn't take ownership of his job and makes his waiter pay for a small pastry is a waste of money. The manager probably earns 3 times more than his waiter and instead of sorting out the situation, he hides inside and lets his waiter pay - we've never seen anything like that before.

Date of visit: August 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank CoinFrancais
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 March 2020

We went here twice just to enjoy the pizza. Great service too. Great place for people watching along the harbor.

Date of visit: March 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Vovo Telo Bakery & Cafe V&A Waterfront also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town, Western Cape
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Vovo Telo Bakery & Cafe V&A Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.