We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Burgers”

Gibson's Gourmet Burgers & Ribs
Ranked #68 of 1 228 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$12
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: After 2 years of perfecting the perfect burger, we have a range of Gourmet Burgers as well as amazing succulent fall-off-the-bone ribs (pork, beef & lamb). We have just launched another 17 shakes to our already 40 Gourmet Shake range, which include Chocolate Brownie shake, Cheesecake shake as well as a huge flavour of fruit shakes (Blueberry, Summerburst & Black Cherry to name a few) and now also Gingerbread, Malva&Custard and Orange Blossom
Reviewed 20 April 2018

Well cooked burger and fries. Very tasty and a good size. And the milk shakes are pretty good as well. Perfect location.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chillman555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Gibson's Gourmet Burgers & Ribs, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Dear Chillman, thank you for the post on Trip Advisor. We appreciate it and we look forward to having you choose us again soon. Regards, Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (905)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 22 of 905 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2018 via mobile

Blessing, my waiter was awesome and the burgers were incredible! So tasty, the view of table mountain is a bonus too! Highly recommend!

Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Gibson's Gourmet Burgers & Ribs, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Dear Ben, thank you for the review that you post on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate it and we look forward to having you dine with us agin soon. Regards, Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018 via mobile

Awesome milkshakes (120 to choose from!) and great burgers. Top service from Lameck. Would definitely visit again.

Thank Laura-Jane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Gibson's Gourmet Burgers & Ribs, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Dear Laura, thank you for the post. We appreciate it very much and look forward to having you join us again soon. Regards, Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

The ultimate burger was ultimately magnificent. Possibly the best burger I've ever had. The sirloin was good too though they had run out of the t-bone I had wanted to order. The milkshake selection is unbelievable though 2 of the 3 were so sweet they were undrinkable (or should that be inedible given the ingredients?)

Thank BangkokAndy1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Gibson's Gourmet Burgers & Ribs, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Dear Andy, thank you for the review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate it and we look forward to having you choose us again when you are next in the area. BTW, the shakes are made with 100% pure ingredients, so there is no added sugar or syrups (unless listed as ingredients). We have a Fudge sauce, an English toffee sauce, we use melted BarOnes, and so on. Regards, Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018 via mobile

We were really looking forward to our meal at Gibson's as we had a great meal there on our holiday last year. Sadly this year was a different story. I appreciate that it was busy (but not full), but the service was really poor, worst we had anywhere on this holiday. We were seated outside and had to ask to get the table cleaned as it was still dirty from previous diners. Then it was only half set. Our bottle of white wine came warm. Not just room temp, but actually warm! My burger arrived without the fries, and my daughter's without her baked potato. My husband's side salad arrived, but no burger! We had to start eating the burgers as they were going cold waiting for our sides. Had to ask twice for the missing cutlery and napkins. Decided we would have the milkshakes as dessert (our main reason for going!). But it took so long for the waiter to come back our kids decided we should go elsewhere for dessert. It was a real shame as the burgers were really tasty. Unfortunately they were let down by there poor service. And it wasn't just us, another table got up and left as they were so fed up waiting. There are so many restaurants in the Waterfront, that I would have to really think about it before I would go back to Gibson's.

Thank Sandy1038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Gibson's Gourmet Burgers & Ribs, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Dear Sandy. My sincerest apologies. This is not our standard at all, as can be seen from most of our reviews. Please can you email me a copy of your bill to support@slickrestaurants.com, or the time and date of your dining occasion as well as some of the item names you ordered, so I can take this up with the kitchen, management and service staff. Regards Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gibson's Gourmet Burgers & Ribs also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Gibson's Gourmet Burgers & Ribs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing