We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hamburger and Milkshake heaven”

Gibson's Gourmet Burgers & Ribs
Ranked #35 of 1 207 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$12
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: After 2 years of perfecting the perfect burger, we have a range of Gourmet Burgers as well as amazing succulent fall-off-the-bone ribs (pork, beef & lamb). We have just launched another 17 shakes to our already 40 Gourmet Shake range, which include Chocolate Brownie shake, Cheesecake shake as well as a huge flavour of fruit shakes (Blueberry, Summerburst & Black Cherry to name a few) and now also Gingerbread, Malva&Custard and Orange Blossom
Reviewed 30 December 2016

Absolutely delicious hamburgers and lip licking milkshakes (over 100 flavors). Exciting starters, salads and other entrees if a hamburger is not just quite what your palate required. Service is good and friendly. Location in the Waterfront is ideal with a covered terrace dining area with fine mist sprays of water to cool you down on a hot summers day. Stunning view of Table Mountain, the Waterfront Harbor and the other attractions in the Waterfront..and so location, ambience and food get a full 5 stars from me.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JohannesDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Gibson's Gourmet Burgers & Ribs, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Dear JohannesDavid, thank you for the wonderful review on Trip Advisor for Gibson's. We really appreciate it and we hope you will be joining us again very soon. Kind Regards, Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (865)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

216 - 220 of 865 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2016

When all the other restaurants in the V&A Waterfront area refused us seating because their kitchen wasn't efficient enough to get the orders out... my mother and eye came across this place!
Reluctant to try a burger joint as we are vegetarians, the pretty hostess with curly hair approached us with a huge smile and asked if we would like to be seated... within a minute, Thami acknowledged us and said he would be with us in just a second. Regardless of how busy he was running around, he made sure to keep his eye on us and all his tables. Best server I've has so far in the past 2 weeks in South Africa. Wish I could take him to Canada to work for me! (wink)
definitely try the grilled calamari, great light dressing and very fresh. We also chose to eat the eggplant/gouda cheese burger out of a number of delicious sounding veggie burgers! To finish, I had Thami choose my milkshake... and he was on the money with the real strawberry and oreo cookies shake, WOW. But it didn't end there.... I was cold at night, so Thami offered me a blanket...and IT WAS CLEAN!! Thank you Gibson's for being so hospitable.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 19Lydia83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Gibson's Gourmet Burgers & Ribs, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Dear Lydia, thank you for the kind review. We appreciate it and we hope that you will join us again before you end you vacation. Regards, Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016

Excellent burgers, quick and efficient service. Attached bar.
Wide variety of burgers, both burgers I tried were, to die for.

Thank drmadhu1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Gibson's Gourmet Burgers & Ribs, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2016

Dear DrMadhu1973, thank you very much for the lovely review. We appreciate it much and we hope that you will be joining us again soon to try some more of our over 40 burger options. Kind Regards, Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2016

We sailed into Capetown and were joined by our son's friends who'd arrived from the UK on Boxing Day. We decided to take them for lunch at Gibsons. What a great lunch we had. The burgers were as described and were to everyones satisfaction. I had the Gorgonzola with extra chilli's, Gina had the trio of mini burgers. The milkshakes were splendid. The service attentive and very professional, we enjoyed the lunch very much.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Gibson's Gourmet Burgers & Ribs, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2016

Dear Andy, thank you for the great review. We appreciate it very much and we look forward to you and the family joining us again soon. Regards, Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

Been to Gibson's maybe 3 times in the last month and every time food has been excellent. Pricey, but really good. Service is good and staff are friendly. Ribs are great but the burgers are really really good. Highly recommend eating there.

Thank Dooogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Gibson's Gourmet Burgers & Ribs, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2016

Dear Dooogs, again, thanks for the review. We hope that this becomes a regular thing. I hope that you have one of our Loyalty Cards? If not, as your Service Ambassador the next time you are in. Regards, Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gibson's Gourmet Burgers & Ribs also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Gibson's Gourmet Burgers & Ribs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing