We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakaway Weekend”
Review of The Backyard Grill

The Backyard Grill
Ranked #190 of 1 299 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Price range: US$6 - US$16
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Seapoints hidden gem ! A true South African "braai" experience.... rub shoulders with the locals whilst your food gets grilled at the bbq right in front of you. We have a fantastic selection of meat and seafood to choose from and a cozy neighborhood vibe that will make you feel right at home !
Reviewed 6 November 2018

This was a great outtng somewhat rustic but great food

Service was average and the resturant has no veiw but really nice meeting place

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mikeaJ3743LD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2018 via mobile

It's not often you go to a BBQ joint and come away talking about the gnocchi, but this place has great food from appetizers to BBQ. We had the butternut gnocchi w/ nutmeg spice as starter, which were probably some of the best gnocchi I've ever had! Then the BBQ itself was delicious and perfect, everything on the BBQ platter was as BBQ should be. Great place, great staff and big thanks to Sharon (our super Uber driver for the great insider tip) place lived up to the hype!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank 381dra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018

we bought a voucher via wikideals and that was our biggest mistake. we called since friday to no avail, we were very surprised that a restaurant located at a tourism area opens at 12 o'clock noon. on sunday when we eventually got responded to we booked a table for 6pm, when we got there we were tod the chef knocked off.. i read their reviews to see they have terrible service.even today i am still with that voucher. not reccommended

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank phindilem109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

We were a party of 4 tonight. One friend had been here months before, having enjoyed the beef ribs, and recommended it for the special. We arrived at 19:25. The waiter took our drink orders and then vanished. Two drinks arrived at 19:45 - which is the same time we placed our order of 4 beef rib specials and a respective side dish per order. The two other drinks arrived at 20:30. One hour after the order was placed. We enquired once when the food would be coming at around 20:45 and was told that it'd be at the table soon. We also noticed that one of the chefs had only arrived at 20:00 (perhaps an assumption but he was the same person at the grill outside, handling the ribs shortly after his arrival). We eventually received our food at 21:20 - over an hour and a half after we ordered. Every side dish was wrong and the beef ribs were completely over-cooked, near inedible. The only thing complimentary is the rib basting, however not a compensation for inedible meat. Tables were barely cleared when emptied. Cutlery was wet upon arrival. Many other tables waited over an hour for their food. We were told we got "complimentary sides and ribs" for our wait but we definitely had no more than 3kgs worth of meat overall (considering that we're paying for 4kg) and we were never asked prior to this if we'd even want complimentary food, and there was nothing complimentary about it. More drink orders were neglected (as there was a lot of time to kill between ordering our food and receiving it) and our waiter, who was handling the floor, alone, was struggling. Apparently he is also your Manager. I felt sorry for his lack of floor support. We left hungry, disgruntled and in disbelief that a place is managed this poorly.
If there was any "atmosphere" tonight, it was an air of awkwardness and snide laughter at the chaos of it all. Gordon Ramsey would take you guys for a ride. Overall, the owners of this establishment need more staff support and possibly to dine at their own restaurant to get a feel of its lack of experience. What a disappointment.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank JulieGrant0104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

We were the first couple in for the evening and wondered what we were getting ourselves into. But the food! Awesome!! Protein is ordered by weight which allows you to order according to appetite. The sauces the chef used must be a secret recipe because they are ridiculously tasty. By the time we were done the place was half full, the music was cranking and people were clearly having a good time.

Date of visit: September 2018
2  Thank dbuley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Backyard Grill also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town, Western Cape
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to The Backyard Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing