We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food good drinks”

Clarke's Bar and Dining Room
Ranked #68 of 1 297 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Description: Cape Town diner with juices, all day breakfasts, sandwiches, brunch, dinner and excellent cocktails.
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

Great vibe with great food. Had a burger which was top notch and the extra hot sauce was amazing bread . Burgers served medium and love it. Drinks are a plenty with a young crowd.

Making return.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Gerbrandt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
133BreeST, Owner at Clarke's Bar and Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Hi there Gerbrandt, it's so great to hear that you had a good time! Many thanks for the review and we'll see you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2018

The bustling art and food scene in the Bree Street and surrounding streets of central Cape Town has been fun to watch emerge over the last several years. Clarke's is a standout in part because of its complete lack of pretentiousness combined with fantastic flavorful simple food and unfailingly cheery staff.

I'm not normally a huge sandwich fan but here the pressed sandwiches have a dreamlike quality to them as the interesting flavor meld together............

A great informal spot to enjoy with friends or else go alone and sit at the bar/kitchen counter and watch the preparations taking place!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
133BreeST, Owner at Clarke's Bar and Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Hi there! Many thanks for your review, we're so happy to hear that you had a good time and enjoyed the food! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2018

Thanks Clarke's. Your food is still excellent five years on. Especially love your wholesome breakfasts like the labneh with avo and poached eggs on sour dough bread and the burgers! What a delight to find you've expanded with a new Hail Pizza restaurant behind Clarke's. Not only delicious fire baked pizzas, cocktails and oysters but breakfasts like Fire Eggs.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank japoia93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
133BreeST, Owner at Clarke's Bar and Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Hi there! Thank you so much :) It feels really good to have been running for such a long time and to hear from people who have been coming here for such a long time! We're really glad to hear that you enjoy the food and look forward to keeping it up :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

I enjoyed my breakfast in a relaxed atmosphere, sitting on one of the outside tables. The omelette was very good. I discovered the magazines afterwards, and what was available were really interesting.

Asking for a second glass of water was frowned upon, but I did receive it. I would definitely go back to try some other vegetarian dishes. ( there is not a big range, if I recall correctly).

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank MariamneY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
133BreeST, Owner at Clarke's Bar and Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Hi there Mariamne, many thanks for the great review. We're very glad to hear that you enjoyed the food and had a good time. I think the concern around the second glass of water would have been because of the current Water Crisis we are experiencing in Cape Town. As a business we are doing everything that we can to save every drop of tap water possible and we are encouraging our customers to work together with us in order to make a difference in our city.

At first glance it might seem like we don't have many Vegetarian dishes, but there are actually quite a large number of options, including the new pizzas that we've added to our courtyard menu.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

This is the second time I've been to your establishment and I've loved your burger then and now. It's different and tasty as hell. Your chips are also something to rave about.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank defreitas21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
133BreeST, Owner at Clarke's Bar and Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Hi there, thanks so much for the great review, we're super glad to hear that you enjoyed the burger :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Clarke's Bar and Dining Room also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Clarke's Bar and Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing