We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still serving great food five years later”

Clarke's Bar and Dining Room
Ranked #68 of 1 297 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Description: Cape Town diner with juices, all day breakfasts, sandwiches, brunch, dinner and excellent cocktails.
Reviewed 4 May 2018

Thanks Clarke's. Your food is still excellent five years on. Especially love your wholesome breakfasts like the labneh with avo and poached eggs on sour dough bread and the burgers! What a delight to find you've expanded with a new Hail Pizza restaurant behind Clarke's. Not only delicious fire baked pizzas, cocktails and oysters but breakfasts like Fire Eggs.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank japoia93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
133BreeST, Owner at Clarke's Bar and Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Hi there! Thank you so much :) It feels really good to have been running for such a long time and to hear from people who have been coming here for such a long time! We're really glad to hear that you enjoy the food and look forward to keeping it up :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

I enjoyed my breakfast in a relaxed atmosphere, sitting on one of the outside tables. The omelette was very good. I discovered the magazines afterwards, and what was available were really interesting.

Asking for a second glass of water was frowned upon, but I did receive it. I would definitely go back to try some other vegetarian dishes. ( there is not a big range, if I recall correctly).

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank MariamneY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
133BreeST, Owner at Clarke's Bar and Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Hi there Mariamne, many thanks for the great review. We're very glad to hear that you enjoyed the food and had a good time. I think the concern around the second glass of water would have been because of the current Water Crisis we are experiencing in Cape Town. As a business we are doing everything that we can to save every drop of tap water possible and we are encouraging our customers to work together with us in order to make a difference in our city.

At first glance it might seem like we don't have many Vegetarian dishes, but there are actually quite a large number of options, including the new pizzas that we've added to our courtyard menu.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

This is the second time I've been to your establishment and I've loved your burger then and now. It's different and tasty as hell. Your chips are also something to rave about.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank defreitas21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
133BreeST, Owner at Clarke's Bar and Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Hi there, thanks so much for the great review, we're super glad to hear that you enjoyed the burger :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2018

The guide on our free walking tour highly recommended this place so my boyfriend and I popped here for breakfast. The coffee was delicious. We both had avocado on toast with bacon and poached eggs..... it was cooked perfectly and presented well. We did want to share a granola and Yoghurt bowl but they were out of Granola. The service was great and the food fantastic. Wish we had more time to come back as there was a lot on the menu we wanted to try.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jennah271018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarkesCapeTown, Owner at Clarke's Bar and Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Hi there Jenna. Many thanks for the great review, it's super good to hear that you enjoyed the food and the service. We hope that you enjoyed your time in Cape Town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2018 via mobile

Great food wine and service. Amy, smiley stripey and guy really looked after us and gave us great service. Joshua also great running a good bar and great vibe,. Highly recommend food wine and service. Cool place to go

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Henrystafford80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarkesCapeTown, Owner at Clarke's Bar and Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Hi there Henry. Many thanks for the great review. We're really glad to hear you had a good time and will be sure to give Amy and Josh your feedback. Look forward to seeing you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Clarke's Bar and Dining Room also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Clarke's Bar and Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing