We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveller rating
115
34
7
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
115
34
7
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest housekloof streettable mountainwhale roomgiving recommendationspeaceful locationstay in cape townnice roomprivate bathroomwithin walking distancehonesty bara lovely staywe loved our staylovely guesthousebreakfast was amazingcomfy bedenjoyable stay
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 162 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2018

Excellent service and comfortable place to stay in Cape Town. Close to the nicer restaurants in Cape Town and very close to the heart of the CBD if you stay for business. Definitely my no 1 choice to stay when in Cape Town.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank buysteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antonymaltz, Owner at The Lions, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Thank you Steve for taking the time to review your stay.
We enjoy hosting your stay when you are in Cape Town for business.
We look forward to your future stays.

With Kind Regards

Antony, Mariette & The Lions Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay, perfect location, amazing breakfast and wonderfull staff

Good food and personal attention.

The staff was very hospitable and the location was superb.

There are also cakes/sweets available during the day for guests.

We absolutely loved the lionsgate. We felt comfortable, secure, and well cared for the entire time.
This property exceeded my expectations.

Anthony was very friendly, accommodating and kind!

I totally recommend!

The bad things was the city noise, noisy cars, motorcycles, sirens and people talked in the morning, well was temporarily.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank MitsucaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antonymaltz, Owner at The Lions, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Mitsuca, what a lovely opportunity to meet you and to host your stay.
It was a real pleasure to have you stay for 7 x nights.
We are happy that your expectations were exceeded and that you felt well cared as we try to make the experience a home from home one.

We really look forward to hosting future stays with you.

With Kind Regards

Antony, Mariette & The Lions Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018

The Lions in Cape Town is a wonderful little guesthouse in a great part of Cape Town.

We stayed in the leopard room overlooking the quiet backyard and had an amazing view of Table Mountain. In the morning you could lie in bed and watch the sun light up the mountain and see the clouds roll in, it was picture perfect. There was a private bathroom with toiletries provided and a good shower (through we made little use of it due to the drought). There was a small tv, as well as a mini-fridge, and a safe to store all our valuables. The bed was comfortable and we slept well. The wifi was good as well.

The guesthouse itself was locked both by the front door and a door gate so we always felt secure. The area is quite nice and the owners outlined to us the areas that were safe to walk in at night, which was helpful and made us feel comfortable. It was only a 5 minute uber ride to the Table Mountain cableway, or the base of the Lions Head hike. Kloof Street and Bree Street were both a short walk away and are great to explore during the day.

Breakfast is not included in the room rate but can be purchased for 120 ZAR per day and is very worth it! Each morning started with a fruit plate that was as beautiful as it was delicious. Berries, kiwis, figs, peaches, passionfruit, etc. Then an egg dish that changes each day and was always excellent, along with fruit juice and french press coffee.

Note: It is a guesthouse, meaning there is not always someone on site. The family that runs it is often there in the day/evening and there are staff on site during the day.

Room Tip: Leopard room faces the backyard and has a beautiful view
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jessba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antonymaltz, Owner at The Lions, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Jessica, it was a pleasure hosting your stay and happy that you decided to join us for breakfast each morning.
Even though it was only 4 x nights we enjoyed every minute of your stay.
The Leopard Room is by far the most popular room at The Lions Guest House.with the direct view of the private back garden and Table Mountain.

We are delighted that you had the opportunity to explore the city so extensively.

We definitely look forward to the opportunity of hosting a future longer stay.

With Kind Regards

The Lions Guest House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2018 via mobile

Fresh friendly comfortable feeling of home. Owner called as we arrived at CT airport, to check if we were ok. She then send her son to fetch us as it was late at night. We were offered coffee with fresh cupcakes, relaxed in the large warm lounge. Room was large and comfortable with WiFi and lots of plugpoints to charge all electronics. Breakfast was a variety of cereals and toasts and a specialty breakfast of the day!! super awesome! Anthony and family, the owners, were very helpful and friendly. Stunning garden and situated on the road to Table Mountain. Highly recommended.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank luv2travel323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antonymaltz, Owner at The Lions, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

It was a delight and pleasure to host your stay and that you found The Lions Guest House to be the best B&B you have stayed in.

We were happy that you decided to stay at The Lions Guest House and experience our daily breakfasts.

We hope that we will have the opportunity to host your future stay.

With Kind Regards

Antony, & The Lions Guest House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018

What a Stay....its a really nice looking Guesthouse in Gansbai. We got an upgrad to a Beautiful large room. In thr evening we could enjoy a cold beer in jacuzzi on top of thr house with stunning sunst. All in all totslly recommendable

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antonymaltz, Owner at The Lions, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Thank you for your review David.
I think you posted the incorrect review as we are based in Cape Town and not Gansbai.
It was a real pleasure hosting your stay and we look forward to your return in the future.

With Kind Regards

Antony, Mariette & The Lions Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews