We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lions
Nearby Hotels
US$136
US$116
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$123
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$87/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$183
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$158/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$87
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$116
US$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$74
US$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$107/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Cape Diamond Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$149
US$43
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$856
US$836
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveller rating
106
34
7
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
34
7
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest housetable mountainleopard roomcommon rooms areexcellent holidayfriendly and helpful ownerspeaceful locationtrendy kloof streetlong streetstay in cape townlovely guesthousenougatprivate bathroomhonesty barmyciti busnice rooma lovely stay
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 153 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2017

We stayed for 3 nights at the Lions guesthouse at the end of November. Overall it was a thoroughly enjoyable stay

Positives:
Excellent staff - all staff are super friendly and helpful. Anthony is a terrific host and helped us to check weather for our Table Mountain trip and book seats on local tours. I do think this was some of the best service I experienced in SA. Arranged a very reliable airport transfer for us which was perfect after a 12hr flight.
Location - superb location with easy access to Camps Bay and Downtown with a beautiful view of Table mountain from the lovely garden out the back.
Breakfast - Food is really excellent and well presented.
Safe area - Surrounding area felt OK to walk around in at all hours of day/night with lots of nice restaurants and cafes nearby.
Decor of the building and rooms is really well done, homely, and authentic.

Negatives:
While location is very good it must be noted that it is on a main road so there is quite a lot of noise. We were in the Rhino room in the garden which I was a little bit disappointed with. The room is extremely small and low ceiling (the bed probably takes up 80% of the room with little space to open suitcases and unpack etc). Bathroom is very large however with large bath and shower. Also rhino room is directly below the kitchen and therefore it is very noisy. Zero chance of sleeping later than 6.30/7am as this is when staff start to prepare breakfast.

Room Tip: Avoid Rhino room if possible as below kitchen
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antonymaltz, Owner at The Lions, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2017

Thank you Patrick for the time to write your review of your stay.

i am happy that you found the staff to be excellent and super friendly as well as your overall positive comments are well received.

I am sorry to hear that there was quite a lot of noise.

We will work reducing the noise as I understand that some guests prefer to sleep in and rest and build up energy for the days activities

It would be a pleasure to host your stay again.

With Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017

A nice place to stay, not too far from the "Long Street" and the center of Cap Town. Very nice welcome, friendly service and support and a marvelous breakfest every day with a different offer.
We have enjoyed very much and should we have the opportunity to come back to Cap Town, the Lions will be our first choice.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank richardfP2843HZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antonymaltz, Owner at The Lions, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Dear Richard & Helen

Thank you so much for your positive review.

It was a pleasure hosting your stay and I am happy that you had such a great time.

You are welcome to stay again at your first choice in Cape Town.

It would be awesome to see you again.

With Kind Regards

Antony, Mariette & The Lions Guest House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017

We stayed for 4 nights and it was our first time in SA. They organised airport pick-up for us and it was very reasonable. Great location with fantastic view of Table mountain. Nice room and bathroom. Spotless and comfortable. Excellent & varied breakfasts. The staff and owners (Antony and Mariette) were super helpful and gave us great advice and booked tours for us. They also checked weather forecasts and helped us to book Table Mountain. We highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ljdomie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antonymaltz, Owner at The Lions, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

We are happy that you enjoyed your experience at The Lions Guest House.

It was a pleasure to host your stay in Cape Town.

We hope you will return in the future for a longer stay.

With Kind Regards

Antony, Mariette & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017

My friends and I needed to get away for a night to enjoy a bit of "City Life". Lions Guesthouse is conveniently situated just outside of the hustle and bustle of CBD which allows you to enjoy the nightlife and return to a peaceful surrounding with spectacular views. The staff were very accommodating and the service was great! Not forgetting that delicious breakfast... Definitely a place I would recommend to family and friends, it is well priced and such a great place.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bronwyn Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antonymaltz, Owner at The Lions, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Dear Bronwyn

Thank you for your positive review and for recommending to your family and friends.

It is always great to host new guests and to receive warm reviews.
We were thrilled to have you stay.

It would be a pleasure to host you for a longer stay in the future.

With Kind Regards

Antony, Mariette & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017

The Lions was a very nice place to stay in Capetown. It was clean, safe and the people were very nice. Do enjoy the amazing breakfast! Also ist was very near to all the main visting sites. Have fun there.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank helenasQ5747DG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antonymaltz, Owner at The Lions, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Dear Helena

Thank you for the time in reviewing your stay.

I am happy that you found The Lions Guest House to be very nice as we have recently upgraded the rooms.

It would be great to host your stay in the future.

With Kind Regards

Antony, Mariette & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews