We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded High Expectations!”
Review of Kensington Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kensington Place
Ranked #18 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

WOW! My wife and I celebrated our honeymoon and 1st anniversary in Cape Town. This was the first boutique hotel we stayed in and it was PERFECT! Gillian, Hope and the rest of the staff were incredibly knowledgeable and provided exemplary service. They even connected us to a fantastic tour guide which added so much to our experience in Cape Town. The property was immaculate, the room was perfect and the food was well executed. The location was great, convenient to get to everything, however a bit removed from the touristy areas. We look forward to our next stay at Kensington Place, our go to property in Cape Town!

Room Tip: We stayed in the suite which was a private "house" just up the drive from the main propert...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Brooklynroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This was our third visit to Kensington Place. My husband and I have gone back for a visit every year since we were there for a night while on honeymoon - three years ago...it's THAT good!
It's a well located, central boutique hotel which feels like a real oasis far away, yet still so close to everything. Literally on the slopes of Table Mountain, a short walk down the road to the vibey restaurants and bars of Kloof street and a short 5-10min drive to the beautiful beaches of Camps Bay!
The food and service are equally good and the rooms are perfect for a little romance;)
Love this place each time we visit and of course we'll be back and I do HIGHLY recommend it.

Room Tip: Very few rooms...each special in it's own way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Palesa11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017 via mobile

What a nice boutique hotel ... with 9 rooms and a maximum of 18guests the staff make stop feel “home away from home”
Nestled in a beautiful residential area above the city and at the bottom of table mountain, but either a 20minutes walk down or a 10 minutes cab/ Uber drive takes you wherever you want to go. Very quiet and peaceful with generous rooms . Super friendly staff and good service

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Matthias F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

Our stay at Kensington place to start our dream South African honeymoon and could not have been happier about our experience. The staff was so welcoming and friendly upon arrival and did everything they could to make sure we felt welcome and had a full plan of attack for our stay in Cape Town. Gillian was a wealth of information on what to expect with different attractions and experiences and made sure we had everything we would need to enjoy our time there.

When they escorted us up and showed us all of the areas of our room we were blown away with our view as well as the room itself. A very large living space and comfortable couch and bed as well as a great bathroom with a very large tub. The view really stole the show however. What a great view of part of table mountain as well as an incredible view over Cape Town

In the morning the breakfast was amazing. So many options and a wonderfully friendly staff. We always headed out for the day with a full belly and smile on our faces. The staff also ensured we had dinner reservations for the evening and made calls to ensure all of our adventures were still on due to some windy weather and cloud cover. Made the full experience a total breeze.

I recommend to all that if they are looking for a place to stay they go to Kensington Place!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

A very nice place to stay, very comfortable and friendly. They had even thought to book us into recommended restaurants as theirs was not open in the evening (we were early season). Great view from our (first floor) balcony.

Stayed: October 2017
1  Thank SallyChris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#4 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 459 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#10 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 336 reviews
MannaBay
#2 of 112 in Cape Town Central
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 839 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#6 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 900 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Place

Address: 38 Kensington Crescent | Higgovale, Cape Town Central 7405, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R2 925 - R4 887 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4,5 star — Kensington Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Kensington Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Place Hotel Cape Town Central
Kensington Place Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing