We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful base to explore Cape Town from.”
Review of Kensington Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kensington Place
Ranked #19 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2015 via mobile

Beautiful boutique hotel with stunning views all around of table mountain, the city bowl and the sea. The property is incredible and immensely relaxing. The food is actually well beyond expectations - in fact the breakfast is some of the best we have ever tried which is surprising for a small hotel without a proper restaurant. Poolside relaxation is amazing with multiple beautiful seating areas. The neighbourhood is clearly high end, local and non touristy. Everything was perfect and we would return to this sanctuary any day!

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank ReadyJetSetGo419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 112 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2015 via mobile

We are full of complimentary adjectives for this brilliant boutique hotel. There is literally nothing we were left wanting from our arrival until our departure.

The hotel itself has a contemporary feel with interesting artwork & finishings. The terrace, garden & poolside deck are very relaxing & small details (like music being turned on if you decide to have dinner downstairs) are attended to promptly.

The entire staff are so friendly & very generous with their advice whilst also completely respecting your privacy. They are amazing.

Our room was incredible - almost like a home. It was fresh, spacious, the bed was comfortable, the balcony provided a stunning view over the city and Table Mountain. It was invigorating to wake up to this each day.

The breakfast matches that of a small cafe & we were completely satisfied with this each day - enjoying the ritual.

Despite this hotel not being in the typical buzz areas of town, it's only a short taxi ride to these areas & we found it to be relatively central to get to both sides of the coast. We also appreciated the added benefit of the locale being quieter at night after returning home from a day of adventure or dinner!

We would highly recommend staying here & would indeed return if we visited Cape Town again!

Stayed: April 2015
1  Thank ClementineDwyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2015 via mobile

When we got to the hotel we instantly felt comfortable. The duty manager was friendly and very welcoming. We have been offered a drink - glass of champagne for me and beer for the husband - on arrival and while we enjoyed our drinks the lovely manager went through all the must see and must do in Cape Town. She then promptly guided us to our room. Room was super lovely, spacious with comfy bed and fantastic balcony! There was a complimentary bottle of chilled wine waiting for us, which we very much enjoyed while sitting on the balcony admiring the view. Breakfast was great too! To sum it up great, modern and comfortable hotel with ever so helpful and pleasant staff. I was sad to leave this lovely place. I an usually very fussy but this hotel have met my expectations and there was nothing that was missing to make our stay in Cape Town an enjoyable one! Highly recommended!

Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank marta k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2015

If you're looking for a hotel in the thick of things, where all the action is and lots of other tourists then this place isn't for you. But if you're looking for a beautiful contemporary design, incredible staff and quiet elegance at the foot of Table Mountain, then you're in luck.
The interiors are clean and contemporary yet remain warm and comfortable.
The staff, among the best I've seen, are unobtrusive but so friendly and eager to please. They always made us feel welcome and special.
This is a great place to stay

Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2015

This small boutique hotel stands out for its friendly can do staff. They take their guests' safety and comfort extremely seriously and help sort out reservations, taxi pick up and drop off.

Pros - clean rooms, comfortable beds, delicious breakfast. welcoming fireplace in the lobby/ public sitting room. Good book collection in the public sitting room. Location is near Table Mountain, it's nice to stay away from the heart of the super touristy areas. Our room had a beautiful view of trees and magnificent sunsets. Walking distance to decent local restaurants. The warm and friendly staff!

Cons - small hotel so no gym (they send you via 10 min cab ride to an excellent fitness center), nice if not somewhat bland decor.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank extinctdu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#3 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 471 reviews
City Bowl
MannaBay
MannaBay
#2 of 112 in Cape Town Central
473 reviews
The Tree House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 112 in Cape Town Central
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 860 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#10 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 352 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Place

Address: 38 Kensington Crescent | Higgovale, Cape Town Central 7405, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 2 961 - R 4 873 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4,5 star — Kensington Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Kensington Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Place Hotel Cape Town Central
Kensington Place Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing