We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$211
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$200/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$122
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$140/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Cape Royale(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$162
US$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$119
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$84/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$110
US$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$91/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Sugar Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$113
US$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$111/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$77
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$95/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Urban Hive Backpackers(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$28
US$22
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Reviews (371)
Filter reviews
371 results
Traveller rating
342
26
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
342
26
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskloof streetboutique hotelour honeymoontable mountaindinner reservationslovely boutiquecomplimentary bottle of winesmall hotelprior to our arrivalrestaurant bookingsthe entire staffbreakfast was amazingsuperior rooma short cab ridesmall pooltop floorcamps bay
Filter
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 371 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2015 via mobile

We are full of complimentary adjectives for this brilliant boutique hotel. There is literally nothing we were left wanting from our arrival until our departure.

The hotel itself has a contemporary feel with interesting artwork & finishings. The terrace, garden & poolside deck are very relaxing & small details (like music being turned on if you decide to have dinner downstairs) are attended to promptly.

The entire staff are so friendly & very generous with their advice whilst also completely respecting your privacy. They are amazing.

Our room was incredible - almost like a home. It was fresh, spacious, the bed was comfortable, the balcony provided a stunning view over the city and Table Mountain. It was invigorating to wake up to this each day.

The breakfast matches that of a small cafe & we were completely satisfied with this each day - enjoying the ritual.

Despite this hotel not being in the typical buzz areas of town, it's only a short taxi ride to these areas & we found it to be relatively central to get to both sides of the coast. We also appreciated the added benefit of the locale being quieter at night after returning home from a day of adventure or dinner!

We would highly recommend staying here & would indeed return if we visited Cape Town again!

Stayed: April 2015
1  Thank ClementineDwyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2015 via mobile

When we got to the hotel we instantly felt comfortable. The duty manager was friendly and very welcoming. We have been offered a drink - glass of champagne for me and beer for the husband - on arrival and while we enjoyed our drinks the lovely manager went through all the must see and must do in Cape Town. She then promptly guided us to our room. Room was super lovely, spacious with comfy bed and fantastic balcony! There was a complimentary bottle of chilled wine waiting for us, which we very much enjoyed while sitting on the balcony admiring the view. Breakfast was great too! To sum it up great, modern and comfortable hotel with ever so helpful and pleasant staff. I was sad to leave this lovely place. I an usually very fussy but this hotel have met my expectations and there was nothing that was missing to make our stay in Cape Town an enjoyable one! Highly recommended!

Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank marta k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2015

If you're looking for a hotel in the thick of things, where all the action is and lots of other tourists then this place isn't for you. But if you're looking for a beautiful contemporary design, incredible staff and quiet elegance at the foot of Table Mountain, then you're in luck.
The interiors are clean and contemporary yet remain warm and comfortable.
The staff, among the best I've seen, are unobtrusive but so friendly and eager to please. They always made us feel welcome and special.
This is a great place to stay

Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2015

This small boutique hotel stands out for its friendly can do staff. They take their guests' safety and comfort extremely seriously and help sort out reservations, taxi pick up and drop off.

Pros - clean rooms, comfortable beds, delicious breakfast. welcoming fireplace in the lobby/ public sitting room. Good book collection in the public sitting room. Location is near Table Mountain, it's nice to stay away from the heart of the super touristy areas. Our room had a beautiful view of trees and magnificent sunsets. Walking distance to decent local restaurants. The warm and friendly staff!

Cons - small hotel so no gym (they send you via 10 min cab ride to an excellent fitness center), nice if not somewhat bland decor.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank extinctdu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2015

Our regular place to stay for the last years unfortunately closed its doors (Boutique Manolos converts into a private home). Therefore we had to look for a new place to stay. Kensington Place was recommended to us as a very good place. It comes with a pretty high price and we also could find some good comments on TripAdvisor.

Ok, we had kind of a difficult start. They could not sell us any additional services as we know the city very well and organized everything by ourselves already. Also they recognized us as guests for 3 nights but we were booked for 5. Can happen. Checking out after 5 days they did still not know who we are. Telling me another guests name, wrong room (we had room 8 as one could easily see on the key itself) etc. – this is a no go!
They call it a luxury boutique hotel and have a dedicated concierge team. Don’t know where it was during our stay. We not even got asked how our stay was, or if everything was ok or so…..

The bigger issue was the quality of the room. Our room had a backdoor with direct access from the street (pretty noisy in the early morning hours). Security wise this door is questionable. The room had no view at all, only down to the pool and to the trees in front of the house. There was a small table with two chairs in front of the room with no shade and therefore not usable during daytime. The aircon is placed so badly that you cannot switch it on at night. It’s blowing directly down to the bed. The bed has an inacceptable quality. The mattress was more like a hammock. Room service can improve – drinking glasses not replaced once used, waste forgotten to take away.
The other disappointing thing was breakfast. No fresh bread (toasted bread only). A few things just came with an inacceptable quality. E.g. completely black burned toast, black burned bacon, poached egg totally dry like a hardboiled egg, one day we ordered coffee latte, we got another coffee with the explanation that we cannot get latte because “we have no glasses left” etc. There seems to be no quality control existing.

As mentioned, we maybe had a difficult start – but unfortunately there was no improvement during the entire stay. No more option for us.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank TuYBuonas_Schweiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kplace, Owner at Kensington Place, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2015

It is most uncomfortable to receive a review of this critical nature. After having owned and being associated with Kensington Place for 18 years it is difficult to digest this criticism. I have taken this review up with all departments concerned to establish the veracity thereof.

As TRIPADVISOR allows review from anonymous subscribers it is not easy to ascertain exactly which guests were in house and had such an alleged experience.

During March we had one guest who stayed for 5 nights in the room mentioned, Room 8, i can only assume it was guests from Switzerland.

Firstly, with regard to check in procedures my Front of House staff certainly have no recollection of making a mistake about their check in,
With regard to the concierge services, we made restaurant reservations for these guests during their stay including both Pot Luck Club and Test Kitchen. Just to mention both of thse restaurants are impossible to get reservations at. These guests had made there own reserations and cancelled all of the reservations made by us except for the Test Kitchen reservation.

Security room 8. There are security cameras and security personel at the Hotel.

The quality of teh bed being a Hammock, is one of the most absurd comments I have heard, and completely unfounded.

With regard to Breakfast, another completely unfounded comment and I do believe the bulk of Tripadvisor reviews praise the breakfast sered at Kensington Place. No bread is absurd to say the least, we bake fresh bread everyday and had they asked they would have received it.
The only accurate comment in the review is the latte cups, but we were having issues regarding the supply of these cup, which is now resolved.

If it is the guests we suspect, we made the wife birthday cakes as she was celebrating her birthday whilst at Kensington Place, she sent them back with a rather nasty note.

i can only conclude from my duiscussions with the various departments hat all allegations contained in the review are done with malicious intent.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews