We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small hotel in the center of the City Bowl”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The New Tulbagh Hotel
Ranked #102 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel in the City Bowl is very central. The room are spacious and have great walk-in shower.The major problem in this hotel is the noisy lift, which one hears from the room,.It sounds like thunder. The meals served are great either.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
Thank Mike_G6308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is located in the city centre, close to the lower end of Long Street. The hotel lobby and the lifts look a bit ‘dated’, but the room and bathroom that we had were very clean, spacious and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was good and the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The square on which the hotel is located is a bit ‘sleazy’, but there are lots of good restaurants within walking distance, such as the upper section of Long Street and the area around Green Market Square (10 mins). The V&A Waterfront with is also within walking distance (15 mins).

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Osprey141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018 via mobile

I booked here last minute via Booking.com because it was the most central (I needed to take the train next day and station was half a mile away).
I paid the equivalent of £40 for bed and breakfast in a clean and perfectly acceptable hotel. Quite a lot of construction noise ( hotel is in the Central Business District) going on in day from surrounds but nice and quiet at night. Aircon and good room facilities.
Lady on reception was extremely helpful and professional and all the staff were gently fanastastic. No hotel parking but for 70 rand (about 4 quid or 5 dollars) you had all day parking in courtyard behind hotel frontage (with direct access to hotel via back entrance).
For the price, regardless of the price, I doubt I could have picked a better hotel. Thank you staff - you have a great team and location. Keep the prices competitive!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
Thank JHazzers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017 via mobile

I was booked in to the hotel on a business trip for a full board with another colleague. When we arrived we were both given rooms right next to the elevator. The elevator is extremely noisy so I went to ask if I could have my room changed to no luck. I dreaded having to go back to the hotel for the entire three nights spent there.
Breakfast was just terrible & I wish I was exaggerating. I ordered an omelette and had to wait 20mins for it, at which I had already resorted to having scrambled eggs on the buffet menu. The croissants were as stale as can be (on the 2nd morning I resorted to taking a picture of one). The bacon was soaking in oil and it was a very unpleasant sight to see. On the third morning my colleague and I resorted to having cereal as we could not stand anything else.
Ordering room service at dinner was a nightmare; there was no menu in the room. Everytime I wanted to order I would have to call Reception for someone to bring the menu once done call again to have someone come take my order. On the first night I ordered lamb chops, one of the three chops was basically raw and just drenched in basting sauce. Second night I decide to go down to the restaurant to order myself and I immediately wished I didn’t. The gentleman I found was less than pleased to assist me up until another person came to my rescue.
What completely appalled and threw me off was the cleanliness. On two occasions I came back in the evening with dirty crockery & left over dinner, used glasses & empty soda cans from the previous night. On the first instance I thought it was a mistake, on the second day I resorted to taking pictures yet again. I had opened a milk satchet on the first night wanting to have tea but decided against it. The opened milk remained there the whole duration of my stay.
To say that this is worst hotel I have ever been to in SA would be an understatement. The only good thing about this trip was when I was checking out.

Stayed: December 2017
1  Thank Lungi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

This is a 3 star hotel, in Cape Town. Centrally located within walking distance to Bus and Train Station and makes this hotel an ideal launching pad to the major Cape Town attractions namely Victoria & Albert Waterfront, Table Mountain as well as the beaches.
There is an on site restaurant, not sure if does dinner though.
Most of the rooms have two single beds - which appeared to be a sore point with all guests that checked in that day. The rooms are quite big (beds are just tiny) and sorely in need an upgrade, everything looks worn, including the linen.
All in all you get what you pay for, as this hotel comparatively is cheaper than the surrounding hotels.

Final word of advice, don't mistake this hotel for the Tulbagh Hotel in Somerset West

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Kayroon14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0,1 km away
Hollow On The Square Cape Town City Hotel
Hollow On The Square Cape Town C...
#80 of 112 in Cape Town Central
125 reviews
1,5 km away
Best Western Cape Suites Hotel
Best Western Cape Suites Hotel
#81 of 112 in Cape Town Central
374 reviews
5,7 km away
Protea Hotel Cape Town Mowbray
Protea Hotel Cape Town Mowbray
#79 of 112 in Cape Town Central
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 km away
The Amalfi Atlantic Hotel
The Amalfi Atlantic Hotel
#107 of 112 in Cape Town Central
89 reviews
0,7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#48 of 112 in Cape Town Central
860 reviews
0,8 km away
Townhouse Hotel
Townhouse Hotel
#50 of 112 in Cape Town Central
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Tulbagh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Tulbagh Hotel

Address: 9 Ryk Tulbagh Square, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 1 170 - R 2 860 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3,5 star — The New Tulbagh Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful city of Cape Town, The New Tulbagh Hotel is within walking distance from the famous V&A Waterfront, City Centre and Cape Town International Convention Centre. The New Tulbagh Hotel offers stylish and modern accommodation; the finest amenities will ensure a comfortable stay. Free wireless connectivity throughout the hotel enables you to chat to loved ones via the internet. The New Tulbagh Hotel Restaurant offers fine dining with street cafe flair, as well as in-house dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The New Tulbagh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing