We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 315)
Filter reviews
1 316 results
Traveller rating
788
371
92
37
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
788
371
92
37
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jazz brunch harvey's bar sea point inner courtyard lovely courtyard free shuttle sea view colonial style beach road junior suite hotel shuttle camps bay reception staff hop on hop off bus charming hotel shuttle service the hotel offers
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 1 316 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2018

We loved everything about Winchester Mansions. The hotel had old world charm but was modern with very nice rooms and good internet access. A very nice buffet breakfast is served in a lovely courtyard. The servers at breakfast were very warm and worked hard to make sure we had everything we needed. I ordered a hot chocolate on my first day, and the server brought me one every day after without being asked. There is a lot of attention to detail. There is a bar with a porch that faces the ocean and is a wonderful place to sit and watch the sun set. The location is close to all attractions with a van ready to shuttle guests to almost any location. Really a nice place.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray N, Managing Director at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2018

Thank you for this wonderful review, we appreciate you taking the time to let us know what your experience was like. We all enjoyed having you stay with us and do hope we will be your first choice when you are in Cape Town again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2018

Stayed 3 nights in October as part of a tour group. Lovely small hotel in Cape Point a couple fo miles out of the city of Cape Town. It has lots of character and is right on the sea front. Lovely nicely furnished bed room with breakfast served in a quaint courtyard. Evening meals are served both in the main dining room and in the bar. We ate twice in the bar and the quality was good and the prices reasonable. The number of patrons indicate how popular the place is. The pool was closed for refurbishment but is located in a pleasant area with new decking (open again by now). The hotel operates a shuttle into the centre of Cape Town and to the Waterfront area - very handy. There are several fast good outlets and restaurants about 10 minutes walk away.

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray N, Managing Director at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2018

Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel and for your lovely feedback. Harveys' is very popular with the locals as you witnessed yourself and you can see why. Our pool is opened now and looks incredible and you will hopefully get to experience it when you return to the Winchester Mansions in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

This was a beautiful hotel with fantastic staff, service, food and drink. Beautiful views from the hotel and a very convenient location. City centre is a 5 minute taxi ride away. Uber app is a must, they arrive very promptly too.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 115kaib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray N, Managing Director at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to rate and review our hotel. We are all so pleased you had an enjoyable time with us and hope to welcome you back to the Winchester Mansions in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018

Just arriving into Cape Town we ventured out for some food, excellent service , taste mussels and sliders .. nice beer with a view. The girl that served was delightful , helpful and very kind . Regards Susan

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Vaughan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray N, Managing Director at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2018

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and compliments regarding our food. Our chef will be pleased at your feedback. We do hope you will join us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018

We stayed for 2 nights on a layover in Cape Town. We chose it because it was across the street from a stop on the Hop On, Hop Off tour bus route, and also because it sounded like a nice hotel. We pre-booked the hotel shuttle to pick us up and return us to the airport..It was much cheaper than any other shuttle service that I could find. The hotel is very nice with a beautiful inner courtyard. After talking with the staff, the building is about 100 years old. It very well kept for its age. We had a suite overlooking the ocean and it was very well appointed and comfortable.

Every one of the staff members we encountered were very polite, attentive to our needs and helpful. Especially our shuttle driver and one of the hotel staff, Salim. (I hope I spelled his name correctly).

The included breakfast was a sumptuous buffet and excellent. We ate at Harvey's dining room for one lunch and one dinner. The food and service were excellent. I especially enjoyed the springbok tenderloin.

Room tip: We had a suite on the second floor (level 1) and had a good, unobscured view of the ocean and promenade across Beach Road.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jjinatx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray N, Managing Director at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2018

Thank you so much for your kind rating and review. Thank you for mentioning our wonderful staff, they are the reason our guests return to the Winchester Mansions. Our chef is always happy to hear that our guests ate in Harveys' and enjoyed the experience. Thank you for choosing us when you were in Cape Town and we hope we will be your only choice in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews