We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 265)
Filter reviews
1 266 results
Traveller rating
756
359
87
37
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
756
359
87
37
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jazz brunch harvey's bar sea point central courtyard lovely courtyard free shuttle sea view beach road colonial style junior suite camps bay reception staff hop on hop off bus hotel shuttle charming hotel shuttle service the hotel offers
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 1 266 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2018

From the moment we arrived we experienced a truly warm welcome and a flavour of Cape Town hospitality at its best. Beautiful views over the Atlantic from our window; what an incredible way to start the day. Would thoroughly recommend and wouldn’t hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank murielmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray N, Managing Director at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Thank you for your kind rating and beautiful review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and cannot wait to welcome you back to the Winchester Mansions. Thank you so much for the recommendation we appreciate it very much. Keep Well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018

This is a hotel that gets better the longer you stay there. The staff are really helpful and go out the way to help you. The indoor open air courtyard adds to the character of the place and is where we had a wonderful breakfast every morning.

Our room was on the 3rd floor which has been recently added and on the whole was very good. However I would have given this hotel 5 stars if the wardrobe space was a bit more generous. Maybe it would have suited the fictional character "Jack Reacher" who only travelled with a toothbrush!!

Having said that I would recommend this hotel and be happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: Maybe pay the extra and get a suite
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray N, Managing Director at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Thank you so much for this wonderful review and rating. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. The staff and I hope to welcome you back to the Winchester Mansions in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018

Great hotel, lovely room, yummy food and fabulous staff. Good location with the 'Hop on, Hop off' bus stop right outside the front door. Nothing too much trouble for the staff and a neat little shop in the basement. We loved the singing of the lady chef cooking the breakfast eggs.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kev G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray N, Managing Director at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Thank you for your kind words and rating! I am happy to hear you took advantage of the Hop on, Hop Off bus which is very conveniently located opposite the hotel, its the best way to explore Cape Town. All our staff as are a happy bunch, glad you enjoyed the entertainment. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018

We had guests from other parts of South Africa visiting and decided to take them for a night cap after a lovely dinner this evening. We arrived at around 10h30pm. We ordered drinks and after at least 20 minute wait enquired where the drinks were. I eventually landed up taking the drinks to our table myself, being in the service industry myself years ago I realized that the bar was under staffed and it was not the barmen's fault. On calling for management, a Mr Thulani Ngcokoea came to assist and asked if we are hotel guests. I advised that we are not at which he advised that the Winchester Mansions does not serve outside guests after 10pm. On asking him where the sign was outside he advised that the barman should of advised us. We finished our drinks and left.
As a resident of Green Point i.e. a local I thought it only right that I post our experience of the shocking experience we had when questioning management of the Winchester Mansions. In closing think twice before your go to the Winchester Mansions if your are a local from anywhere in South Africa!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grantkendrick69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018

The location ( especially with a tourist route bus stop outside ), food and facilities were very good.The staff were extremely helpful especially in assisting with/ providing taxi services and support re onward flights

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank simonwells15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray N, Managing Director at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

We appreciate you taking the time to rate our hotel and for your feedback. Thank you for complimenting our staff they really are wonderful at making our guests feel welcome and look forward to your next visit. Keep Well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews