We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 266)
Filter reviews
1 266 results
Traveller rating
756
359
87
37
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
756
359
87
37
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jazz brunch harvey's bar sea point central courtyard lovely courtyard free shuttle sea view beach road colonial style junior suite camps bay reception staff hop on hop off bus hotel shuttle charming hotel shuttle service the hotel offers
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 1 266 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2018

Sunday brunch is a great time to visit Winchester Mansions. The welcome is wonderful, the display of food is amazing, the jazz is good (if a little loud at times) and the food is delicious. There is no queueing as the platters are regularly refilled and there is such a wide choice from sushi to freshly cooked eggs, salads, meat, fish and desserts. I have been several times and each time it is a wonderful experience. The only down side is that the brunch is now so popular that they seem to be squashing more and more people into the courtyard. You have to squish your way past other guests when getting up for your next course!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray N, Managing Director at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

It's so wonderful to hear from our regular guests. Thank you for your feedback regarding the food, our Chef and his team takes a lot of pride in his food and it shows. I will take up the matter with the Food and Beverage Manager regarding the table set up in the Courtyard, to see if we can perhaps set up the tables better when we have larger numbers. We do hope to see you at the hotel very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018 via mobile

We stayed at Winchester Mansions for a family vacation with our 4 year old daughter. The entire staff from servers, housekeeping, and front desk made us feel welcome and treated our daughter like a princess.

We went to the front desk to call a local restaurant for last minute reservations on Valentine’s Day. The front desk called but the restaurant was all booked. We asked if she had any suggestions. She made a call, booked us a table, and then had the hotel driver drop us off and pick us back up.

We will definitely return to Winchester Mansions and hopefully bring friends and family on our next trip.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray N, Managing Director at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Thank you for complimenting our staff, they really do know how to make everyone feel welcomed and at home during their stay with us. Thank you for this wonderful review and rating we appreciate it very much. We cannot wait to welcome you and your family back to the Winchester Mansions!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018

Booked well in advance and if you do you can turn up whenever you like. It starts at 11am until 2pm with a massive selection of foods to choose from. The jazz band are excellent with most in their 80's but they can really play and it was an excellent way to spend a brunch. The hotel manager was very attentive and everyone really enjoyed themselves,

My only issue was the service charge applied to the extra glass of champagne we had. I thought what equated to 9 english pounds was excessive for bringing 3 glasses of champagne over so we didn't pay it.

Stayed: February 2018
Thank hodgeyWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray N, Managing Director at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Thank you for the your rating and review of our Legendary Sunday Jazz Brunch. The band varies every week, so every week is a surprise. I am always happy to hear that our guests enjoyed their time with us. We hope you will be able to come and experience it again when in Cape Town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018

Great location and lovely hotel with beautiful view by the seaside; however, my husband and I were disappointed to find that our beds comprised of two twin beds placed side by side. We have stayed in numerous hotels abroad and are not unaccustomed to two twin beds being placed together to make a double bed; however, what was highly disappointing was that one single double bed sheet was not used to cover the two twin beds but instead had two single sheets with a obvious gap between the two beds and two separate twin blankets were placed on the bed. We were visiting South Africa in celebration of our anniversary but instead, we felt like two divorced or separated couple during our stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FatimaG36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray N, Managing Director at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Thank you for your taking the time to inform us of your stay. I had a look into your reservation and it seems that your agent did not inform us that you were here to celebrate your anniversary or the fact that you were two people who will be staying in the room. If this was communicated to us firstly a surplus would have been charged for the extra person, an anniversary set up would have been done on your arrival and your bed configuration would have been a King sized bed. Should you wish to book us again I would suggest you ask your agent to give all the relevant information to us before hand to avoid something like this occurring again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018 via mobile

Winchester Mansions is on the front at Seapoint. It is around a 5 minute drive from the V&A waterfront (hotel shuttle bus service) and a 50 minute walk by the sea. The Rooms are comfortable and have all the necessary amenities. The restaurant is great and there are options of, full on a la carte or bar meals in the evening. The bar is busy with both tourists and locals. The staff are very helpful and knowledgeable. The Hop on Hop off bus has a pickup point immediately outside the hotel.
Would definitely recommend if not looking for a resort hotel.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MarpleTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray N, Managing Director at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Thank you for this wonderful review and rating.We are very happy you enjoyed your time with us and appreciate your recommendation. I do hope to welcome you back to the Winchester Mansions in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews