We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Winchester Mansions
Nearby Hotels
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$135
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 41% below average rates

The price you found is 41% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$125/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$75
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$89/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$169
US$128
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$188
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$87
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$118
US$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$139
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Urban Hive Backpackers(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$24
US$23
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$971
US$836
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1 203)
Filter reviews
1 203 results
Traveller rating
716
340
84
36
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
716
340
84
36
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjazz brunchharvey's barsea pointcentral courtyardfree shuttlelovely courtyardsea viewcolonial stylejunior suitebeach roadcamps bayreception staffhop on hop off bushotel restaurantshuttle servicebeautiful hotelthe hotel offers
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 1 203 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2018

Booked well in advance and if you do you can turn up whenever you like. It starts at 11am until 2pm with a massive selection of foods to choose from. The jazz band are excellent with most in their 80's but they can really play and it was an excellent way to spend a brunch. The hotel manager was very attentive and everyone really enjoyed themselves,

My only issue was the service charge applied to the extra glass of champagne we had. I thought what equated to 9 english pounds was excessive for bringing 3 glasses of champagne over so we didn't pay it.

Stayed: February 2018
Thank hodgeyWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray N, Managing Director at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Thank you for the your rating and review of our Legendary Sunday Jazz Brunch. The band varies every week, so every week is a surprise. I am always happy to hear that our guests enjoyed their time with us. We hope you will be able to come and experience it again when in Cape Town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018

Great location and lovely hotel with beautiful view by the seaside; however, my husband and I were disappointed to find that our beds comprised of two twin beds placed side by side. We have stayed in numerous hotels abroad and are not unaccustomed to two twin beds being placed together to make a double bed; however, what was highly disappointing was that one single double bed sheet was not used to cover the two twin beds but instead had two single sheets with a obvious gap between the two beds and two separate twin blankets were placed on the bed. We were visiting South Africa in celebration of our anniversary but instead, we felt like two divorced or separated couple during our stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fatima G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray N, Managing Director at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Thank you for your taking the time to inform us of your stay. I had a look into your reservation and it seems that your agent did not inform us that you were here to celebrate your anniversary or the fact that you were two people who will be staying in the room. If this was communicated to us firstly a surplus would have been charged for the extra person, an anniversary set up would have been done on your arrival and your bed configuration would have been a King sized bed. Should you wish to book us again I would suggest you ask your agent to give all the relevant information to us before hand to avoid something like this occurring again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018 via mobile

Winchester Mansions is on the front at Seapoint. It is around a 5 minute drive from the V&A waterfront (hotel shuttle bus service) and a 50 minute walk by the sea. The Rooms are comfortable and have all the necessary amenities. The restaurant is great and there are options of, full on a la carte or bar meals in the evening. The bar is busy with both tourists and locals. The staff are very helpful and knowledgeable. The Hop on Hop off bus has a pickup point immediately outside the hotel.
Would definitely recommend if not looking for a resort hotel.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MarpleTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray N, Managing Director at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Thank you for this wonderful review and rating.We are very happy you enjoyed your time with us and appreciate your recommendation. I do hope to welcome you back to the Winchester Mansions in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2018

Very good hotel and facilities but need shuttle or taxi for sightseeing. Nevertheless the free shuttle provided to the waterfront was very useful and the drivers very accommodating. We would go there again.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Keith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018

This is one of the older buildings in Cape Town, certainly as far as hotels go and it is really lovely. Comfortable rooms, sea views, attentive and friendly staff and only a short hop on the free shuttle bus to the V&A and city center.
The included breakfast was excellent with a choice of 'continental' or 'full English' as well as omelettes etc.
We did have one evening meal in the restaurant which was OK but there is so much choice to eat elsewhere, try those first.
Otherwise a really nice stay and it also has it's own swimming pool.

Room Tip: The rooms on the front have sea views but probably cost more.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LimonerosKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews