We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Winchester Mansions
Ranked #24 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2016

The room is modern and very airy. The sea view is beautiful and gives a very romantic and rejuvenating environment. All services requested from the hotel were provided very efficiently.Taken together, all these aspects make our stay very pleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank suzelenap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray N, Managing Director at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2016

Thank you for such a wonderful rating and for your feedback. It is always great hearing from happy guests. We are glad you had a great stay with us and hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

274 - 278 of 1 157 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2016 via mobile

What a nice restaurant...good service and good food and great view. Everyone was friendly and the food was plentiful and good. Highly recommend. We almost stayed here as well but chose another location. Next time I would stay here to try it.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank snowone123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray N, Managing Director at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2016

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at Harveys. Our chef takes a lot of pride in his food and he will be happy to hear that you enjoyed it. We look forward to welcoming you to the Winchester Mansions should you decide to stay with us in the future, you will not be disappointed. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2016

I had a nice stay
unfortunately no seaview
but very good breakfast
service was average
room clean
pool very small
restaurant O.K but not much variation
reception O.K but not very helpful
I was quite disappointed that the transfer was so very expensive
WIFI did not work in my room

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank diogena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray N, Managing Director at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2016

Thank you for staying at the Winchester Mansions. I am sorry to hear that you had WiFi issues, this is not usually an issue and assure you it must have been a once off incident that we could have easily rectified had we known. I apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused you. Please let reservations know the next time you book that you would like a sea view room, if available we will gladly accommodate you. Thank you for your support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2016 via mobile

Originally has booked a single night here for the first night of our stay in Cape Town and stayed in one of their sea view suites. We had been here on a previous trip just for a drink in their wonderful veranda bar.

The rooms are comfortable and staff here are fantastic, breakfast has a great selection and it's lovely to sit outside and watch the paragliders land in front of the hotel.

We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant but it did seem busy in the evenings and had an attractive menu.

They have a shuttle service available which can be booked at reception and is complimentary. Limited parking is available, we were lucky to be able to use it the 3 nights we stayed.

As we are the kind of travellers who don't book ahead (like to travel around and find places as we go) we decided this time to book another 2 nights at the end of our trip here again!

We would definitely stay here again and plan to do so when we return to Cape Town next March!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank eiretraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray N, Managing Direcrtor at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2016

It is so wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for letting us know. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed it so much you decided to extend your stay! We look forward to welcoming you back in March. Thank you for your support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2016

Great Hotel. Very well located, with rooms nice and very clean. Staid and confortable decoration. Great cost-benefit relationship, particulary for high professionalism of staff. Very solicitous and polite. Point fort of Hotel. Worth it!

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RENATO C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray N, Managing Director at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2016

Thank you for this wonderful rating and comment! Seeing feedback like this makes all our hard work so worthwhile. Our staff work very hard to make all our guests feel welcomed and comfortable. We do hope you will visit us again as we would love to have you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
3,2 km away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#27 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 833 reviews
0,1 km away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#26 of 112 in Cape Town Central
576 reviews
2,8 km away
Cape Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel
#10 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 km away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#53 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 576 reviews
2,4 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 856 reviews
3,1 km away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winchester Mansions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winchester Mansions

Address: 221 Beach Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 1 865 - R 5 326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Winchester Mansions 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winchester Mansions is an iconic building on the seafront in Cape Town within close proximity to the V&A Waterfront and Cape Town International Airport. Free shuttle service to the Waterfront, free wifi internet access in public areas are standard. This landmark hotel offers classic elegant rooms, many boasting stunning sea views. Facilities include a heated pool, relaxing treatments in the Ginkgo Spa, signature dishes from award winning Harveys Restaurant & Bar as well as full service conferencing. Cape Town's most famous and longest running Jazz brunch is hosted at Winchester Mansions every Sunday of the year. The monthly Grapes, Gourmet and Gallery evenings draw large numbers of food & wine lovers and art aficionados. Winchester Mansions - Part of the Journey ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Winchester Mansions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winchester Mansions Hotel Cape Town Central
Winchester Mansions Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing