We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Winchester Mansions
Nearby Hotels
US$139
US$117
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$166
US$140
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$73
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$206
US$184
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$846
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1 189)
Filter reviews
1 189 results
Traveller rating
705
339
84
34
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
705
339
84
34
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjazz brunchharvey's barsea pointcentral courtyardfree shuttlelovely courtyardsea viewcolonial stylejunior suitebeach roadcamps bayreception staffhop on hop off buscharming hotelhotel shuttleshuttle servicethe hotel offers
Filter
Updating list...
402 - 407 of 1 189 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2015

we used winchester as a stopover the first night of our holiday. the hotel is full of character and the terrace area is peaceful. greeted by extremely friendly front of house we found our rooms comfortable and clean. after a beautiful walk along the beach we ate at winchester's restaurant. delicious fine dining for a fraction of the UK price... the bar had been set high for our SA trip.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the front of the hotel for best sea views.
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray N, Managing Director at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2015

What a fantastic start to your holiday! I am so pleased to hear we are the ones who contributed to this. Thank you for mentioning our Front Office Team, they will be delighted to know they made a positive impression on you. It is always great when guests acknowledges staff, its very motivating. Our chef will be happy to hear you enjoyed the food at the Winchester Mansions, we hope next time you get to stay a bit longer to fully experience what we have to offer. I hope the rest of your holiday was a great success!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2015

The hotel's rooms are not equipped with automatic dampers so you will constantly be awaked by slamming doors. Furnishing are also quite outdated and poor. So reviews have mentioned that this is a rustic hotel. I would classify it as outdated and uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 604abdullahc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray N, Managing Director at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2015

I am sorry our hotel was not to your taste. My apologies to you for being woken up by the slamming doors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2015

Words cannot describe how incredible our experience was. From the minute we arrived, we felt at home. The check in staff were fantastic, the room was spotless, comfortable and very well-decorated, the restaurant and bar were just amazing, perfectly lit, relaxing and sophisticated at the same time.

We stayed in a junior suite and we were concerned about noise since the room is on the first floor and facing the street but the windows are double glazed and, therefore, block out any noise.

We have definitely found our hotel in Cape Town we will be coming back, hopefully soon!

Room Tip: Junior suites are the best, very spacious and have excellent views of the Promenade
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tat v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray N, Managing Director at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2015

Thank you for such a perfect review! We are extremely happy that you had such an enjoyable stay with us, and took the time to let us know that you did! We take a lot of pride in what we do and it is always wonderful to know that our guests appreciate all that we do. We look forward to welcoming you back to "your hotel" very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2015

REALLY lovely hotel, right on the water in CapeTown. It's close to major attractions like the V&A waterfront and good restaurants.

The room was spacious, clean and well laid out. Bonus - the bathroom was huge! The staff was friendly, helpful and efficient. I'd highly recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled solo
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kavita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray N, Managing Director at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2015

Thank you for your kind rating and positive review! I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our rooms comfortable. Thank you for mentioning our friendly staff, they will be grateful they were acknowledged by our guests. We hope to welcome you back very soon. Thank you for your support!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2015

If I return to Cape Town I would have no hesitation in staying in the same hotel.
The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. All areas were spotless and little touches like iced water and suntan cream for the use of guests by the pool added to the overall care and attention.
My only disappointment was with the food on offer. I had one evening meal in the restaurant which wasn't cooked as requested and also the bar snacks could have been more diverse. However as there are many cheap and varied eating places within a short distance, this was not a big issue. My recommendation would be to book bed and breakfast rather than full board.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank G9756LPmargareth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray N, Managing Director at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2015

Thank you for taking the time to rate the Winchester Mansions and for your review. I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in our food, although it is not always nice to hear, we do take all guest feedback seriously so we can better ourselves for our valued guests. I am however very glad to hear that you would come back, and hope it will be soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews