We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Hotel in South Africa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Winchester Mansions
Ranked #24 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2015

What a beautiful, historic hotel with THE BEST STAFF you will find ANYWHERE. If I am ever in South Africa again, I will stay here. The spa is outstanding and the restaurant is really good. The rooms are gorgeous!

Stayed: August 2014
Thank AhuvafromTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray N, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2015

Thank you so very much for such a wonderful review! This makes us all very proud! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff treated you so well and we too believe that we have THE BEST STAFF. I do wish you return to sunny South Africa very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

422 - 426 of 1 158 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2015 via mobile

Winchester mansions is located in a great spot. However the wi fi didn't work during our entire trip. Showers were not so great. I really enjoyed the food in the restaurant and the room service was excellent. The staff were lovely and gave good recommendations for restaurants.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
Thank Rajasvini B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray N, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2015

We are terribly sorry that you had no WiFi access while here. We had issues with our WiFi provider during the course of your stay and I can assure you that this problem has been resolved should you return. I am very pleased you enjoyed our food. Thank you for mentioning our staff, and I am very glad you received the service we strive for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2015

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for one night, to celebrate our 12th wedding anniversary! We were treated to a beautifully renovated sea facing room, with complimentary sparkling wine and chocolates.

We went for dinner at the V&A Waterfront and upon our return, our room was decorated red roses.

The staff was very helpful and we felt welcome!

We were treated to a beautiful buffet breakfast, including salmon and sparkling wine, before heading back to pick up our 5,4 and 3 year old children from their grandparents.

We will gladly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Charl d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray N, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2015

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! This is what we love to hear. Congratulations on your anniversary and we are more than delighted that we made it extra special for you both. I am very happy that you received the service we strive for at the Winchester Mansions! We hope to welcome you back with your kids next time in one of our family rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2015

From our arrival to exit, everyone at Winchester was so nice. Service was exquisite, and everyone went above and beyond to make our stay memorable. They offered a free upgrade to a seaside view because it was my girlfriend's birthday and even did breakfast in bed on her birthday morning. Coordinated spa treatments and various dinners around town. Bathroom was nice with a large roman soaking tub, which was perfect after a long day out. Nothing could have made our stay better-it was amazing!

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank emz110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray N, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2015

Thank you for your time to write such a wonderful review on our all around good service and facilities. We are happy that you and your girlfriend had an enjoyable time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2015

Can't say enough about Winchester Mansions, the first -- and oh-so-welcoming -- stop on our recent visit to South Africa: beautiful setting, very friendly and always helpful staff, delicious breakfasts, fine dining, and the elegant building itself with its strikingly beautiful interior courtyard. Should we ever be so lucky as to return to Cape Town, we’ll be rushing “home” to Winchester Mansions! Judy & Bill, Toronto, Canada

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Travelbound1246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray N, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2015

Thank you for your raving review. We pride ourselves in exceptional service and we are delighted you received only the best we have to offer. We are proud to say we were "Part of your Journey". You are welcome "home" anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
3,2 km away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#26 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 836 reviews
0,1 km away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#27 of 112 in Cape Town Central
577 reviews
2,8 km away
Cape Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel
#10 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 km away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#54 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 577 reviews
2,4 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 859 reviews
3,1 km away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winchester Mansions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winchester Mansions

Address: 221 Beach Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 1 830 - R 5 130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Winchester Mansions 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winchester Mansions is an iconic building on the seafront in Cape Town within close proximity to the V&A Waterfront and Cape Town International Airport. Free shuttle service to the Waterfront, free wifi internet access in public areas are standard. This landmark hotel offers classic elegant rooms, many boasting stunning sea views. Facilities include a heated pool, relaxing treatments in the Ginkgo Spa, signature dishes from award winning Harveys Restaurant & Bar as well as full service conferencing. Cape Town's most famous and longest running Jazz brunch is hosted at Winchester Mansions every Sunday of the year. The monthly Grapes, Gourmet and Gallery evenings draw large numbers of food & wine lovers and art aficionados. Winchester Mansions - Part of the Journey ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Winchester Mansions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winchester Mansions Hotel Cape Town Central
Winchester Mansions Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing