We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful stay - highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Winchester Mansions
Ranked #25 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2015 via mobile

Checking into the Hotel on Sunday evening for 5 nights we realised that all the previous reviews were spot-on! From reception through to house-keeping, breakfasts, dinner and just tea, every aspect of our stay was enjoyable! All the staff are especially helpful and kind and the hotel itself is just beautifull with an old world charm.

Make sure to reserve a room away from the street to ensure a quiet night!

A lovely hotel to stay at in Cape Town for business or pleasure!

Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
Thank Brinkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2015

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are very glad that you had such an enjoyable time and love your special mention of our staff. We will be sure to pass your compliments on. We look forward to having you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

452 - 456 of 1 156 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2015

What a fabulous hotel sat outside on varander for breakfast most mornings looking over a lovely grassed area then onto the sea. You can paraglide down from mountain and land on the grass area fab to watch. The hotel rooms were beautiful always lovely and clean bedding turned down in evening and chocolates conveantely placed by tv remote. Reception staff were amazing always willing to help nothing was to much trouble the hotel curtesy bus drivers were exelant willing to take u to all the local attractions. Food at breakfast was lovely always plenty of choice also the restaurant and bar were tasty and well presented Sunday Jazz afternoon in three gardens by fountains is well booked up in advance but well worth a visit they also provide a british cream tea with warm scones whichis fabulous. Hotel well situated for attractions felt safe to walk along coastal path people couldn't have been more friendly will definitely try to return.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Paula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2015

Thank you Paula P for this excellent review. We are glad that you had such a good time in Cape Town and with us. We look forward to having you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2015

The Reception Staff are very helpful indeed,especially Thalia,which is always a good sign.
We had an excellent stay here,the room,breakfast,ambiance and hospitality was first class.The setting opposite the coastal promenade is another plus for this hotel as is their free mini bus service.certainly to be recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank gourmandise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2015

'First class' and 'certainly to be recommended' are great things to hear from our guests. We are very happy that you had an excellent stay with us. Thank you also for mentioning Thalia's outstanding service. We will be sure to let her know. We would love to have you back if your travels bring you to Cape Town again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2015

A major part of any holiday is judged on accommodation and service. This hotel did not disappoint, the atmosphere is warm and welcoming and the staff do their best to please, particularly Bianca, who went that extra mile to ensure our stay was as enjoyable as possible. Although we had a slight mix up with rooms, this was professionally dealt with by the reservation manager Jackie, who went out of her way to ensure we were totally satisfied with the outcome. What a refreshing experience to deal with such courteous customer service – thank you Jackie and Bianca.

The Jazz brunch is highly recommended, what a fantastic way to spend a day (Sunday) sitting in a beautiful courtyard, listening to the sultry sounds of a jazz singer, a wide range of yummy dishes to select from the buffet and amazing chilled bottle of wine - book in advance though as it sells out quick! Thanks to Errol for arranging a table for us at short notice - another example of excellent staff service.
The bar is equally enjoyable, enjoy lunch or an ice cold drink on the veranda whilst watching the world go by, or, pop it night for a night cap.

Location perfect for VA, Camps Bay and surrounding areas.

We have already recommended this hotel to friends planning to visit Cape Town and we will definitely return to WM on our next trip.

Thanks to WM for adding to a truly enjoyable holiday

Room Tip: Maybe pay a bit extra for a junior suite, but don't be afraid to query your room if you are not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2015

Thank you very much for your detailed and very positive review. We are glad that we ticked all the boxes and made your stay in Cape Town a very enjoyable one. We will be sure to pass on your kind comments to Jackie, Bianca and Errol. We love when our staff get special mentions!
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon and thank you for recommending us to your friends! Please be sure to tell them about our Jazz Brunch and as you mentioned advise them to pre-book as it is a very popular event all year around.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2015

A quick word to say that putting our clients in this hotel was a kind of reward for us. Our clients even
said that every people working in this hotel were pleasant, and always happy and ready to go for the extra mile to make their guests feeling good. And yes, they really did it!
Food wise, this place has nothing to be shy of, from breakfast to dinner it's all good and done with taste. The snack menu (at lunch)and it's Club Sandwich is a reference for Cape Town. Breakfast served until 3,00 pm,really it sounds like Berlin.
This place is not "Boutique, design, bling bling" it's just a beautiful traditional building made with modern amenities, surrounded by the coastal promenade and that is a real plus in the busy Cape Town. Well done for all, this is what I call a real HOTEL. Please keep on.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank zoomproduction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2015

Thank you very much for your raving review. We aim to please and we are very glad that we managed to do just that on so many levels, but especially when it comes to our staff! We will be very happy to read out your review at our next staff meeting.
Hopefully see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
3,2 km away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#27 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 830 reviews
0,1 km away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#26 of 112 in Cape Town Central
575 reviews
2,8 km away
Cape Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel
#10 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3,1 km away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 861 reviews
2,4 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 852 reviews
0,6 km away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winchester Mansions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winchester Mansions

Address: 221 Beach Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 1 888 - R 5 409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Winchester Mansions 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winchester Mansions is an iconic building on the seafront in Cape Town within close proximity to the V&A Waterfront and Cape Town International Airport. Free shuttle service to the Waterfront, free wifi internet access in public areas are standard. This landmark hotel offers classic elegant rooms, many boasting stunning sea views. Facilities include a heated pool, relaxing treatments in the Ginkgo Spa, signature dishes from award winning Harveys Restaurant & Bar as well as full service conferencing. Cape Town's most famous and longest running Jazz brunch is hosted at Winchester Mansions every Sunday of the year. The monthly Grapes, Gourmet and Gallery evenings draw large numbers of food & wine lovers and art aficionados. Winchester Mansions - Part of the Journey ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Winchester Mansions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winchester Mansions Hotel Cape Town Central
Winchester Mansions Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing