We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Winchester Mansions
Nearby Hotels
US$134
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$148
US$131
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$218
US$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cape Diamond Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$144
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$276
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$66
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$752
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$119
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$87
US$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1 187)
Filter reviews
1 187 results
Traveller rating
704
339
84
34
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
704
339
84
34
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjazz brunchharvey's barsea pointcentral courtyardfree shuttlelovely courtyardsea viewcolonial stylejunior suitebeach roadcamps bayreception staffhop on hop off buscharming hotelhotel shuttleshuttle servicethe hotel offers
Filter
Updating list...
480 - 485 of 1 187 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2015

What a fabulous hotel sat outside on varander for breakfast most mornings looking over a lovely grassed area then onto the sea. You can paraglide down from mountain and land on the grass area fab to watch. The hotel rooms were beautiful always lovely and clean bedding turned down in evening and chocolates conveantely placed by tv remote. Reception staff were amazing always willing to help nothing was to much trouble the hotel curtesy bus drivers were exelant willing to take u to all the local attractions. Food at breakfast was lovely always plenty of choice also the restaurant and bar were tasty and well presented Sunday Jazz afternoon in three gardens by fountains is well booked up in advance but well worth a visit they also provide a british cream tea with warm scones whichis fabulous. Hotel well situated for attractions felt safe to walk along coastal path people couldn't have been more friendly will definitely try to return.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Paula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2015

Thank you Paula P for this excellent review. We are glad that you had such a good time in Cape Town and with us. We look forward to having you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2015

The Reception Staff are very helpful indeed,especially Thalia,which is always a good sign.
We had an excellent stay here,the room,breakfast,ambiance and hospitality was first class.The setting opposite the coastal promenade is another plus for this hotel as is their free mini bus service.certainly to be recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank gourmandise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2015

'First class' and 'certainly to be recommended' are great things to hear from our guests. We are very happy that you had an excellent stay with us. Thank you also for mentioning Thalia's outstanding service. We will be sure to let her know. We would love to have you back if your travels bring you to Cape Town again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2015

A major part of any holiday is judged on accommodation and service. This hotel did not disappoint, the atmosphere is warm and welcoming and the staff do their best to please, particularly Bianca, who went that extra mile to ensure our stay was as enjoyable as possible. Although we had a slight mix up with rooms, this was professionally dealt with by the reservation manager Jackie, who went out of her way to ensure we were totally satisfied with the outcome. What a refreshing experience to deal with such courteous customer service – thank you Jackie and Bianca.

The Jazz brunch is highly recommended, what a fantastic way to spend a day (Sunday) sitting in a beautiful courtyard, listening to the sultry sounds of a jazz singer, a wide range of yummy dishes to select from the buffet and amazing chilled bottle of wine - book in advance though as it sells out quick! Thanks to Errol for arranging a table for us at short notice - another example of excellent staff service.
The bar is equally enjoyable, enjoy lunch or an ice cold drink on the veranda whilst watching the world go by, or, pop it night for a night cap.

Location perfect for VA, Camps Bay and surrounding areas.

We have already recommended this hotel to friends planning to visit Cape Town and we will definitely return to WM on our next trip.

Thanks to WM for adding to a truly enjoyable holiday

Room Tip: Maybe pay a bit extra for a junior suite, but don't be afraid to query your room if you are not satisfied as staff are very helpful.
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2015

Thank you very much for your detailed and very positive review. We are glad that we ticked all the boxes and made your stay in Cape Town a very enjoyable one. We will be sure to pass on your kind comments to Jackie, Bianca and Errol. We love when our staff get special mentions!
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon and thank you for recommending us to your friends! Please be sure to tell them about our Jazz Brunch and as you mentioned advise them to pre-book as it is a very popular event all year around.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2015

A quick word to say that putting our clients in this hotel was a kind of reward for us. Our clients even
said that every people working in this hotel were pleasant, and always happy and ready to go for the extra mile to make their guests feeling good. And yes, they really did it!
Food wise, this place has nothing to be shy of, from breakfast to dinner it's all good and done with taste. The snack menu (at lunch)and it's Club Sandwich is a reference for Cape Town. Breakfast served until 3,00 pm,really it sounds like Berlin.
This place is not "Boutique, design, bling bling" it's just a beautiful traditional building made with modern amenities, surrounded by the coastal promenade and that is a real plus in the busy Cape Town. Well done for all, this is what I call a real HOTEL. Please keep on.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank zoomproduction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2015

Thank you very much for your raving review. We aim to please and we are very glad that we managed to do just that on so many levels, but especially when it comes to our staff! We will be very happy to read out your review at our next staff meeting.
Hopefully see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2015

We stayed 5 nights here at the end of our Garden Route holiday.
A classic room 115 was allocated and although comfortable was rather dark compared to our other room when we last visited.

Check was quick with Artmos and service standards very good. Breakfast was good with the usual choice and eggs cooked to order but bacon quality could be better.

We only dined once in the hotel restaurant as we preferred to visit local restaurants. A special thank you to Thalia for arranging all our restaurant bookings and complementary shuttle with reasonable city limits.

The lounge bar with its veranda seems to come alive at sundown with both guests and local visitors. The cocktails are great and no complaints regarding service.

A small swimming pool including loungers was provided for guests.

A charming gentleman named Goodwill was on hand to assist with luggage but also was so helpful if any other requests were made - we required our luggage stored for a few hours after ckeckout to visit the V & A Waterfront for lunch.

Bianca was extremely efficient on the reservation desk - helpful with maps etc.

We would certainly recommend this hotel due to position & service.

Room Tip: Rear rooms are quieter but seea view would be bonus.
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2015

Thank you very much for your good rating and in depth review. We will be sure to pass on your nice comments to the staff you mentioned by name. It makes their work so much more rewarding when guests make a special effort to remember and mention their names on TripAdvisor or other review sites.
We will be sure to pass on your comments regarding the bacon to our kitchen team that is dealing with the breakfast service and are very glad that you enjoyed good service at our bar which is indeed a hotspot for locals and visitors alike.
Hopefully see you again some time soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews