We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of Waterfront Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waterfront Village
Ranked #68 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights. Superb location, walking distance to bars, restaurants etc. Felt safe to walk at night. We hired a car and got free parking which was a bonus but the city sightseeing hip on bus is nearby and goes to lots of places. Apartment was huge,
Modern and with free washing machine and tumble dryer. Definitely would go there again.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jacksterlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (679)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 106 of 679 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2017

On trips to Cape Town we usually chose to stay in camps bay but decided to try somewhere different. Really pleased with our choice. Good view of Table Mountain to the rear and the V &A from our front balcony. Perfect location for a week in the city. We will be staying here again. Handy for the supermarkets for eating in and for the bars and restaurants of the waterfront area for eating out.

Stayed: January 2017
Thank Davina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Leg 1 of our amazing trip to South Africa we were booked into Waterfront apartments. For location, space, cleanliness, could not recommend highly enough. We had a superb apartment for four adults with great all round views. However, we inadvertently left our safe open (didn't think we had but the management did a special check on it) and we had £300 stolen in varying denominations of currency - clever, thought we may not notice. As the safe was in the wardrobe, behind closed doors no-one had any need to be in there! The management were very supportive and arranged for the police to come, who claimed this was not uncommon in these apartments . Such a shame as it would deter me from staying there again.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Kittiwak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2017

Friends who stayed at the Waterfront Village 3 years ago, recommended the place so we booked 10 months in advance and really looked forward to our stay.

What a disappointment!

While the check-in procedure was handled very efficiently and the location is perfect as it is walking distance to the V&A Waterfront, the apartment itself was the biggest appointment of our entire holiday!

The unit was dirty - we found chips on the floor and sofa, some crockery and cutlery not washed properly.
The sofa and the chairs in the lounge area were so dirty, we did not even want to sit down.
There was no dining table as advertised on the website - only two barstools around the kitchen counter which did not offer adequate space for two adults to sit and eat.

The website shows you pictures of a modern and beautifully furnished apartment - what we found was not even worth 3 star.

Another issue was that the units are not serviced on Sundays and public holidays - what policy is that? Every self-catering accommodation we have stayed at so far throughout South Africa is serviced daily, irrespective of public holidays.

Since we stayed over New Year's Eve / New Year's Day, our apartment was serviced only once during our three nights stay - but we were charged the full rate.

It seems like there is a huge difference between standard, luxury and deluxe apartments in both the interior and the views (our view was onto a construction site while some buildings have unobstructed views onto the Waterfront canals and the yacht basin).

My recommendation would be to get a map of the complex and carefully select the building and unit when making a booking.

Room Tip: Carefully select building and unit when making a booking - don't book unit B102, it was terrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Kerstin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017

really great place to stay while in Cape Town - walking distance to everything and very well equipped apartments, some with lovely views. Seals often seen on the decking. The complex is huge and a bit impersonal and it was very annoying to have to pay for wifi in this day and age in the apartment but the advantages far outweighed this small inconvenience. Especially good if travelling with a family as the apartments are so spacious and nice to self cater a few meals rather than eating out all the time. highly recommended.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank alexamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0,5 km away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#24 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 614 reviews
1,5 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 856 reviews
0,6 km away
Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfron...
#63 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0,8 km away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#54 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 576 reviews
0,6 km away
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#32 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 167 reviews
0,6 km away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#42 of 112 in Cape Town Central
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Village

Address: Mind Pearl House West Quay Road | V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#44 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#59 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 2 540 - R 4 974 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterfront Village 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront Village, situated on the water’s edge in the picturesque V&A Waterfront Marina, next to the Cape Grace Hotel and One&Only, offers guests Standard, Luxury and Deluxe apartments offering superior services and facilities. Guests are spoilt for choice with our selection of one to three bedroom apartments, providing a wide selection of accommodation that will suit their individual requirements. Guests will enjoy access to our on-site reception, swimming pools and gym. An abundance of shops and restaurants are available within walking distance. Crafted around tranquil waterways the inspired architecture maximises the panoramic views, creating international desirability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waterfront Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Village Hotel Cape Town Central

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing