We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spent 5 nights here. It was a very good experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hollow On The Square Cape Town City Hotel
Ranked #82 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2017

I stayed in room 108. It was large and clean. It felt as if I was the first person to stay in the room. The only downside was the continuous machinery hum from the kitchen which is directly below the room. Internet service was dodgy at the time but I was told they were 100% booked and many people were trying to get online at the same time.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Okpani A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2017

The room was fantastic and the housekeeping staff very diligent and attentive to guest needs. Breakfast was generally ok but very greasy as most of the food was deepfried.

The downside is that you get one wifi voucher which restricts you to one device only and half the time denies you connection saying you are already logged in even when you are not.

The tv lost signal halfway through my stay and even after reporting it to reception, nothing was done.

Room Tip: Corner rooms away from the main road are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alandeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

We stayed over for 1 night on a Namakwaland coach tour. The hotel where clean, good service, nice rooms with now view. The buffet dinner was a disgrace, half the bus was sick that night after eating dinner. Drinks and water total overpriced. The breakfast the next morning was not suitable as the potatoes of the previous night where served again for breakfast - not acceptable. Don't wast your time of your money!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wianab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

My yearly visit to this fine establishment. A definite must if you are a traveler who would like to be in the centre of the city. Great to get around. Lovely restaurant for both dinner and breakfast. Food of good quality. Room are beautifully appointed and very spacious.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Green Annexure is spendid
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cornelia Elizab... K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

In a world of many options, this is not one of them. I am in the hotel consulting business and my intention here is to be objective and fair.
I landed in Cape Town for business and had been booked into Hollow on The Square on Mon 4th Sep 2017. The criteria for selection was simple: 4 star, wifi and close to my client.

Their room rate of R1290/night is beginning to enter the premium range. But when you arrive, it's not that. It's an old property that's been re-tiled and repainted. Do not expect anything more.

Nevertheless, for us business travelers, wifi and comfort matter more. Sadly the wifi was too weak to hold a video call with my client -so I used my data. And once my call was done, I realsied their TV set didn't work.

And nothing of this was mentioned when they ask you to settle the bill up front.

So requested the manager to check me out and get the funds returned to my card. He did and I felt safe with the refund slip in my hand. I called next door to see if they had a room with working wifi and TV -they did, and it was R850 a night!

I went there and I thought I had solved my problems! But sadly I got a notification 2 days later that manager at the Hollow hotel, had now taken my transaction for deposit!!! And when we called with an intention of informing him this was a mistake, his reply was "he'd have to investigate"

If only he'd investigate the state of his price, his wifi and his TV service. I didn't stay they night but they have my money...

When will you correct this Mr Manager?


Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RobCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0,9 km away
Townhouse Hotel
Townhouse Hotel
#49 of 112 in Cape Town Central
428 reviews
1,1 km away
Urban Chic Boutique Hotel
Urban Chic Boutique Hotel
#90 of 112 in Cape Town Central
315 reviews
1,4 km away
Cape Town Hollow
Cape Town Hollow
#51 of 112 in Cape Town Central
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0,5 km away
Strand Tower Hotel
Strand Tower Hotel
#56 of 112 in Cape Town Central
715 reviews
0,1 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#47 of 112 in Cape Town Central
913 reviews
0,2 km away
Fountains Hotel
Fountains Hotel
#87 of 112 in Cape Town Central
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollow On The Square Cape Town City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollow On The Square Cape Town City Hotel

Address: 9 Hans Strijdom Avenue, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Tulbagh Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 1 197 - R 2 976 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hollow On The Square Cape Town City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hollow on the Square is conveniently situated within walking distance of the famous V&A Waterfront, City Centre, Cape Town International Convention Centre (CTICC), and just minutes from other inner city shopping meccas such as Green Market Square, St Georges Mall and the beautiful Flower Market. This trendy modern city hotel offers 56 large semi-self catering en-suite bedrooms with all modern amenities. The eco-friendly addition to the hotel, The Green Annexe, an oasis of 'green'-inspired hospitality, boasts 30 stylishly calm rooms, which have all been created with energy-efficient and environmentally sound materials, without compromising on luxury. The trendy public areas portray a French-chic vibe and include a relaxed lounge and dining area with cocktail bar and patio. For keeping you connected 24-7 we have Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. For the first-time travellers to Cape Town, or for guests who need assistance with anything to do with Cape Town, our friendly Concierge is available to help enrich your stay in the 'Mother City'. Not only do we offer advice, but also a shuttle service and tours within the city and surrounds (booking advisable), car hire and the ease of foreign currency exchange within the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hollow On The Square Cape Town City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing