We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveller rating
38
58
33
11
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
58
33
11
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews room was large long street walking distance laundry service location was perfect hotel room reception staff south africa water front cticc conference waterfront
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 144 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2017

I stayed at this property for 12 nights and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The entire staff was very friendly and accommodating. The location is great with easy access to local attractions. They serve an excellent breakfast buffet. The room I had was in the Greene Annex and was very spacious and well appointed. I would thoroughly recommend this property. Great job!

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChuckLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

I stayed here a couple weeks ago while on business and I had a really great experience. The location is in the CBD and is in walking distance to many restaurants and shops. The room I stayed in was large with an open plan bathroom and a balcony that overlooks a courtyard. The rooms were very clean and well kept and the staff were friendly and always willing to help with anything I needed. I will definitely be going back next time!

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank JoshK2178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musicexplore, General Manager at Hollow On The Square Cape Town City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2017

Dear Valued Guest thank you for your wonderful comments regarding the location, rooms and service! We look forward to seeing you back again soon. Yours in hospitality Paul and The HOTS Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Had a brilliant stay! The hotel was clean, room was comfortable and most important to me the staff was helpful and the management looked after us so well.

The location is perfect and walking distance or cheap Uber from all the things I needed to do in CT central.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bradk991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Excellent hotel of this class...wonderful property and kept extremely clean. Front desk staff is very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast area is spacious and one of the best in a south Africa have experienced. every time I visit cape town you my place

Room tip: book hallow in the square
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MuhaliV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musicexplore, General Manager at Hollow On The Square Cape Town City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2017

Dear Valued Guest
Thanks so much for your wonderful feedback! We strive for a high level of customer service and its great to hear that you were impressed with the hotel. We look forward to your speedy return! Yours in hospitality Paul and the HOTS Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

I stayed in the green annexe. This building is detached from the main hotel and there are often people hanging around and begging when you move between the annexe and main building. The guys that checked me in late in the evening were funny and jovial but apart from that the hotel didn't have much feel about it. Would stay here again if visiting the Conference centre but otherwise as a tourist look to stay out of the CBD.
Was an easy walk to Long street and also hop on hop off bus office and also green square market.
Room was nice comfortable bed and decent shower.
Would recommend the main hotel not the annexe for solo foreign traveller.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank ads102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musicexplore, General Manager at Hollow On The Square Cape Town City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2017

Dear Valued Guest thanks so much for your constructive feedback! Regarding the CBD and area although there are quite a few homeless persons wandering around the CBD we have 24 Hour security and pride ourselves on our security and ensuring the safety of guests. The Central Improvement District together with our security ensure that our area is an extremely safe one. In fact the level of crime in the CBD is extremely low. I urge you to consider staying in the CBD on your next visit and I together with one of my managers will personally take you around the city and share with you some of our favourite spots and show you why we love the CBD so much and believe it is one of the greatest city centres in the world. Thanks again for your valuable comments! Yours in hospitality Paul and the HOTS Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews