We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (240)
Filter reviews
240 results
Traveller rating
56
101
52
15
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
101
52
15
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mouille point restaurant downstairs is green point park great location staff at reception were friendly lovely vibe mountain view beach road small hotel rooms are spacious and clean thoroughly enjoyed my stay choose this hotel bath and shower stayed here for nights hotel restaurant large room great place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 240 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2017

I have stayed at this boutique hotel before and when I walked in and saw the upgraded reception area, I thought I was in a hotel. However having to knock on the desk for some one to appear is a bit primitive. Then walking to my room and using out dated lock and key gave me the impression that I was more at a guest house than hotel. The room is spacious and art deco in furnishing. I did not see any security at any stage during my stay even in the open parking area. No safe in the room. Only reading material from the hotel is a menu from the restaurant that charges prices three times more than an in house restaurant even though you ordering tapas. Cost benefit ratio for this well situated place is 5/10.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DazzaB777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisRaath121, General Manager at La Splendida, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2017

Good day,

Thank you for taking the time to review us.

My apologies you did not have a good experience at our hotel.

Although our front desk is open 24 hours a day, there are times where the receptionist would be busy in the back office or attending to another guest in a room but I assure we do not keep our guests waiting intentionally or for a long periods of time.

La Splendida has a security contract with an outsourced security company which patrols the immediate area as well as the hotel 24 hours a day.

Our room service menu prices are the same as the downstairs Sotano menu prices however should you order room service a small tray charge would be added to the bill.

All our rooms have a safe for your valuables in the cupboard. Newspapers and magazines can be found downstairs in the lobby area for our guests enjoyment.

Kind regards,
Chris Raath
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017

Very nice stay at la Splendida over spring break. The husband and I had a lovely room with a view of the water. The room was very bright with it's full length window letting in lots of light and it's splashes of red - bathroom door, mini frig, sofa, and chair. The room was nice and spacious with lots of storage space - large wardrobe with shelves, 2 drawers, cupboard with 2 cups & saucers, spoons, and a wooden chest filled with teas, instant coffee, creams, and sweeteners, and a hot pot. The bed was pretty comfortable. Unfortunately, the room was right over the restaurant and bar area; and as such, we could hear the late diners a couple of nights and the music on Friday night. I think that things quieted down around 11 or so, however, and we were able to sleep peacefully. The bed was fairly comfortable (I have issues), and the room was very clean. In addition, the staff was always courteous. Most of the staff greeted us upon passing and Chris, at the desk, as well as one of the young ladies in the evening were always very pleasant whenever we passed through. If you're American and you enjoy using a face/wash cloth, remember to bring one from home because most hotels in S.A. (just like in Europe) don't provide them. They did have body wash, so bring your puff or sponge if you like. The towels and linen that were provided, however, were okay. The towels were not super thick and luxurious, but were your average mid-level hotel standard issue and were fine. There is a drought in Cape Town, so we used our hand towel and drying towel for two days at a time – and we lived. We ate breakfast at the hotel restaurant each morning and their cooked to order omelet and full English breakfast with scrambled eggs were both very good. We ate dinner there one night and the lamb was very good also. Wifi reception was not the best at times, but it was free and allowed us to at least check text messages and email at some point during the day. Even tho you could see the water from the hotel - it's right across the street - you can't go down to the water's edge. It's sort of like a board walk there and there is a rail where you can stand above the water and look down at the water and rocks. The water is so pretty at the edge, it is very clear. There are also benches in this area where you can sit and enjoy the scenery and watch people walking and playing fetch with their dogs – so tranquil. The lighthouse is right here also and is open during the day for tours (for a fee).
Just as a reference, we were able to walk to the V&A shopping area from this hotel (probably 1 ¼ - 1 ½ miles) and the Hop on/Hop off bus stops right across the street.

Room Tip: Room 103 is very nice, but sits directly over the restaurant/bar and outside terrace.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cheen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisRaath121, General Manager at La Splendida, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2017

Good day,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us and for all the feedback and details you have listed.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again very soon. It was a pleasure having you here.

Kind regards,
Chris Raath
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017

Centrally located on Beach Road which overlooks the ocean. The vibe is friendly and laid back. The in house restaurant is open all day. The early morning sees the coffee crowd congregate. The extensive menu offers light meals and a full bar which includes a wide range of artisinal beers. A great base from which to explore the vibrant city of Cape Town.

Room Tip: Higher floors will minimize the ambient noise from the street down below.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisRaath121, General Manager at La Splendida, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

Good day Delina,

Thank you for taking the time to review us.

We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate the feedback.

Hope to see you again very soon.

Kind regards,
Chris Raath
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

On face value, rooms look lovely, however room is a bit aged on closer inspection.

Worth's it value for the price you pay.
Staff are excellent, very good service and attention received. WiFi sucks big time.

Bathrooms are in a generally ok condition, a bit aged as well.

Beds are excellent and comfy, loves this.

Fridges have to be stocked in request.

Best views from sea facing room. It's a splendor to open up curtains in morning and look out. Downside, noise from the early breakfast and late night drinkers filter upstairs to room. Was on the 2nd Floor and noise was pretty disturbing.

Would definately go back here, value for money, close to the waterfront and beautiful views.

On a clear day, u see Robin Island from your balcony.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Jeffster89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisRaath121, General Manager at La Splendida, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

Good day,

Thank you for taking the time to review us.

We appreciate all the feedback and hope to see you in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Chris Raath
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

We came with a group of 15 that all paid the same amount to stay at this hotel. Several weeks before we arrived I contacted Tracey at corporate to see about getting an ocean view room, she told me there would be a charge and apparently never relayed this message to the hotel staff! When our group of 15 arrived, some were given 2 level suits, some ocean views, and we were given a view of the AC unit! I spoke with the hotel manager who moved us to a mountain view (view of the staff parking lot) room and said that he would try during our 4 night stay to move us to an ocean view room. We asked again about moving the next morning, and they said they would have to check on availability... that's the last we heard about moving for the next 4 days! The manager never contacted us to say that moving wouldn't be possible, and in fact upon checkout he never even mentioned not being able to accommodate us! Very poor communication skills by both corporate and the manager. Front desk staff is very nice though. Also, wifi is the worst I have ever experienced in a hotel. So if that's important to you, this is not the place to stay.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jagsgirl20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisRaath121, Manager at La Splendida, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Good day,

Thank you for taking the time to review us,

I apologise that your stay was not satisfactory.

Due to very high occupancies we were unable to move you to an ocean view room. I most definitely would have moved you should an ocean view room become available which was communicated the day of arrival as well as the next morning.

Although your complimentary upgraded mountain facing room does overlook the parking lot it also has a view of the Green Point Golf Course, Green Point National Park as well as the Mountain.

Apologies for the poor WIFI signal you experienced. It would appear that our WIFI is working as it should but thank you for letting us know. I will most definitely look into it although some devices do have restrictive settings on it which may be the case in your instance. We always encourage our guests to let us know during their stay to communicate any challenges they might have so we can possibly rectify it in a timely manner.

Thank you once again for all the feedback.

Kind regards,
Chris Raath
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews