We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$161
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$190
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$157
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$191/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$78
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$120
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$91
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$83
US$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$115/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1 933)
Filter reviews
1 934 results
Traveller rating
1 003
668
176
60
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 003
668
176
60
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstsogo sunfree shuttleconvention centershuttle servicebreakfast buffetbeautiful hotelexcellent staybusiness hotelwater fronteasy accesswaterfront areaour honeymoontable mountainlong streetsouth africaconferenceconcierge
Filter
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 1 934 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2018

Hotel was probably nice when it was new. Quite worn down, staff feels very tired, security feels off and not a priority. Food was very bad, even though a wide selection but poorly prepared. Whatever you tell the staff you get the opposite outcome!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
1  Thank Renegade_7171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hlengiwe M, Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay with us, it is disappointing indeed to hear that we did not meet your expectations, we apologise for any inconvenience that you may have encountered. We value you business and we certainly hope that you will book with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018

Returning guests, Tsogu Sun rewards program member. We had pre-booked a Smoking Room in March, paid a 1-night deposit, and received a reservation confirmation. On 10 Dec 17, we arrived at the Cullinan at about 0930, after a 12-hour flight from UK, and approached Reception. We apologise for being early, and understood that check-in was not until 1400. We were told that no Smoking Rooms were available!! The receptionist said she would try and get us a non-smoking day room, and hoped to have a Smoking Room available by 1800 (?). With little choice in the matter, apart from sitting around Reception for 8 hours, we accepted the scenario. We used the day-room, had a shower and changed, and spent much of the day sat near the pool, waiting for our room.

At 1800, our reserved room was still not available, so we met up with some friends by the pool. Eventually, at 2000 (!) we were advised our room was now available … six hours after normal check-in time. For a pre-booked and confirmed reservation, this was really not satisfactory.

That apart, it was a satisfactory stay. Comfortable room, good food at breakfast and at Stella, and with generally friendly and efficient staff. We will return, but hope on the next occasion our reservation is honoured on time. Travelling for 24 hours from home is bad enough without having a further 6 hours added to the process.

Room Tip: View over pool is nice.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Old_Brits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hlengiwe M, Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay with us, your comments regarding the check-in have been duly noted and we apologise the inconvenience caused. We certainly hope that this will not deter you from booking with us in the future. Sincere apologies once again for the bad check-in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

This was our 4th visit to this hotel, and every time they meet expectations. Wonderful service, and the food is excellent, especially breakfast.

Just a note, management should consider to upgrade the in-room coffee machines to something like a Nespresso machine as you can find in certain upmarket hotels in Sandton.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jaco l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hlengiwe M, Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to give us positive feedback on your recent stay with us, it is pleasing to hear you enjoyed your stay once again, our Suites and Executive rooms have Nespresso machines, in future please feel free to request for one and we will gladly set it up in your room. We certainly look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017

excellent stay, need to have internal drivers with cars service for customers, should be more flexible on breakfast hours, great location, great view, the room service menu needs to be updated because after a hard day and one does not feel to go out, hence the menu of in room dining should be like a restaurant, especially for kids. but overall 9/10

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Faisal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hlengiwe M, Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay with us, your comments have been duly noted. We certainly look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

Try it yourself . Good value for money. Caring staff, fabulous breakfast.
My kids found this experience amazing as we got answers for all questions and concerns immediately Well done to the team and keep it up,

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank EPascoal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hlengiwe M, Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to give us positive feedback on your recent stay with us, it is pleasing to hear you enjoyed your stay. We certainly look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews