We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a family with small children”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cape Heritage Hotel
Ranked #10 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2017

We loved our stay here. We were travelling with a 2-year old, and the hotel is very child friendly. Sam was very nice and made sure that we had an amazing stay here. The room we stayed in faced the street, away from the inner courtyard - it wasn't noisy! I think if you have a room facing the courtyard, it can get noisy as there is a restaurant there. The room is tastefully decorated.

Stayed: December 2016
Thank nepali_nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

205 - 209 of 1 336 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2016

Wonderful location, staff makes you feel at home. Many histroic sites within walking distance. Restaurnats great within one block of lacation. Breakfast provided was a full breakfast. Would highly recommend.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dsdavid808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016

This is a wonderful boutique hotel in central Cape Town in the Malay quarter, only minutes walk from Bo-Kap. The hotel has wonderful history and to see the photos of it's progression to where it is now, is quite amazing.

the staff really make the place special. They go out of there way to make sure you feel comfortable and well taken care of. We had an issue with our booking, we actually go upgraded to an apartment - which was beautiful, but not what we wanted as we loved the look of the unique rooms. We told the staff about our situation, and they quickly corrected the situation. We got just the room we wanted and loved it. If we were a bigger family, the apartment would have been wonderful.

The hotel itself is a gem and I recommend even just popping in to take a tour of it's history. Breakfast was delicious in a wonderful little courtyard. All the staff go out of their way to make it a wonderful stay. If and when we head back to Cape Town, we will for sure stay at the Cape Heritage Hotel

Room Tip: spend the extra to upgrade to a luxury room
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Paar21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2016

We stayed here for five nights in early December. We were absolutely impressed by the beautiful rooms and décor. The staff was friendly and helpful and the location is central to many things. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kate7198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2016

Based on breakfast service, quality of room, marvellous staff and nearby attractions, this hotel would easily rate excellent. However, there were significant disappointments. The noise from the courtyard below our window and surrounding restaurants was a nightmare on some nights. It was impossible to get to sleep until well after midnight, even with ear plugs. The so-called roof top jacuzzi had a busted thermostat and the water was set to a temperature that would boil an egg with no problem. Every day I was told it would be fixed tomorrow. I'm sorry to complain because the staff were memorable but I would not go here again.

Room Tip: I suspect all rooms suffer from noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank graham1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 843 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#4 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 460 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#42 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blackheath Lodge
#6 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 900 reviews
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#27 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 806 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#60 of 112 in Cape Town Central
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Heritage Hotel

Address: 90 Bree Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R1 676 - R8 319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Heritage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Heritage Square in the heart of Cape Town, the Cape Heritage is a boutique four star hotel that is historic and contemporary; intimate and lively; and stylish and cozy. Originally built in 1771, the hotel has 17 individually decorated bedrooms, which not only retain the charm of the past but are also equipped with an array of modern comforts. The hotel opens out onto a courtyard that houses the oldest living grapevine in South Africa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Town Heritage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing