We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PROTEA HOTELS ALWAYS THE BEST”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Ranked #74 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 7 December 2017

I was located at the sixth floor of the hotel. They have renovated the place, clean rooms, parking space and nice breakfast. My challenge was when we eat breakfast the staff will concentrate on over seas guest then local ones. This has to change as we are all paying customers at the end of the day

Room Tip: Rooms at the sixth floor are perfect for people who likes to watch the beauty of cape town
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 78jn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 367 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2017

I and my wife were in this hotel between November 17 thru 25, 2015. The hotel is supposed to be a Marriott but it lacks all amenities expected of a three star Marriott Hotel in USA. First we were given a small room that is equivalent to Motel 6 in USA. When my wife protested the next day, one of the employees upgraded to a one bedroom suite. This was really great room with a beautiful view. I have to thank this employee for this act. However, the hotel has serious problems with access. You have to climb stairs for two stories from the road before you reach the reception area. Of course you if you know already and the elevator is working, you can go thru the garage and avoid the climb. The major drawback was lack of WIFI and power outages for the elevator. The in house generator will not serve the elevator. If you are on 10th floor, you are in trouble. If you are visiting from US and cannot use phone to avoid heft roaming charges, you are in big trouble, because WIFI system does not work all the time. In addition, the hotel states it is walking distance from waterfront. It is not, and waterfront tourist area is 15 minutes walk. At night it is risky to make this walk.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank abdul63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine_L3, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Dear abdul63

We are sorry to hear of your disappointing stay whilst visiting Cape Town but please note this is not for Protea Hotel Sea Point.

Our elevator in the hotel is serviced by our generator and to date we have not been experiencing any power outages at the hotel so you will be able to reach the 6th floor, our top floor, by elevator. Our hotel is situated within 5km of the V&A Waterfront but we do not advertise that it's within walking distance.
We do have wifi within the hotel and have not had any complaints regarding intermittent signal.

It is of our opinion, by your description of the entrance area and number of floors that you may be referring to Protea Hotel Cape Castle?

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017

We stayed here on a tour.Were surprised. Room on the small size 2 twins 2 chairs. Bath small shower large with rain shower Must enter bathroom and shut door to access the toilet. room 504 good balcony pool view. Street noise. Breakfast good but limited selection eggs cooked to order a bit slow. lady quick guy is slower. service was goog.beach view

Room Tip: higher room better view slow elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank amargie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017 via mobile

My husband and I headed to the Arthur rd Protea Hotel in Sea Point after a bad experience elsewhere the night before. Protea hotels are a known brand in SA so we were confident that we'd be ok here. The very friendly, keen and helpful Chanelle assisted us at reception. Since we had a bad experience the night before she set us at ease by showing us the room before we agreed to take it. Since space was limited, we were assigned a family room on the other side of the hotel with a view of Lion's head. We really loved our room. It had 2 large windows (with wooden venetian blinds) letting in plenty of natural light. The room was clean with a comfortable bed and modern finishes. The hotel is moderately priced (R2350pn) and ideally located close to the sea - about a 100m walk to the promenade. It is also within walking distance of very nice coffee shops and restaurants and grocery stores (Checkers and Woolworths food). My only complaint would be that there's no light switch to turn off the bedroom light from the comfort of one's bed - you have to turn it off at the entrance to the room. Otherwise our stay was perfect and we will not hesitate to book a room here again next time we visit.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Yulande T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine_L3, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Dear Yulande T

Thank you for the great feedback!

We are so pleased to hear that you loved your room and that Chanelle at Reception was helpful. Chanelle is one of our wonderful Reception TEAM always ready and willing to assist; we will be sure to pass on your compliments to her.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and your husband back again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

One of the most important things for me for a hotel is the sleep quality.

The room itself was great with blockout curtains. However the walls carry all the sounds from the passage and even the adjacent rooms. It was not good at all.

The service though from the staff all round was great, from check-in to breakfast it was very pleasant.

The location is also great. A 10min drive to the Waterfront and just off Main Road for easy access to public transport.

The pool bar at the top is a nice touch.

The gym could be improved. It's quite spacious but not well equipped.

Overall my week long stay at the hotel was mostly pleasant.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Sunshine0789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine_L3, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Dear Sunshine0789

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Protea Hotel Sea Point.
We are happy to hear you found our location ideal, being so close to the Sea Point Promenade and within 5km to the V&A Waterfront is wonderful.

We are disappointed to learn of the noise you encountered from the passages and adjacent rooms but that the room in itself was still comfortable.

Overall we are glad to hear you had a pleasant stay and do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#63 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 075 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#57 of 112 in Cape Town Central
667 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#42 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marr...
#82 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 032 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#89 of 112 in Cape Town Central
218 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#60 of 112 in Cape Town Central
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point

Address: Arthur's Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R1 765 - R2 986 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a block away from Sea Point Promenade and the cool Atlantic shoreline, this stylish three star hotel guarantees GUESTS an experience that’s freshly different. Protea Hotel by Marriott Sea Point is a comfortable oasis for corporate and leisure travellers alike who want to experience the best of Cape Town in a tranquil beach house feel. Protea by Hotel by Marriott Sea Point is Freshly Different. This seaside hotel offers either mountain or sea views from the rooms and the vast range of amenities ensures a home-away-from-home feel. The hotels’ most talked about is the interactive lobby and lounge area. Minutes away from Camps Bay beaches, V&A Waterfront and the CBD; not to mention the beautiful Cape Town promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Cape Town
Protea Hotel Sea Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing