We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business and Pleasure Perfectly Combined ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Ranked #74 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

I spent 5 nights at this wonderful located hotel by Sea Point while attending a conference. I was delighted by the warmth of the reception staff. The room was small, but it fulfilled the purpose. I had a comfortable bed and that was very important for my good sleep. The hotel offered vouchers for dinners in 3 different restaurant and that was cool for, food variety from 3 restaurant worked perfectly. I walked accrosd the main road for jog along the beach front. There's a laptops and tablets stations by the reception, brilliantly done. I can surely say I enjoyed my stay at Protea hotel Sea point.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank sollym95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine_L3, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear sollym95

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotels by Marriott Sea Point.

We are so glad you had a great stay at our Hotel and you enjoyed the surroundings. We truly are situated in one of the best locations Cape Town has to offer.

We hope to welcome you back in the not to far future.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 25 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2017

The rooms here are quite compact but adequate for a brief stay. We were scheduled for a very early AM departure but were awakened by a group of marauding Italian tourists who screeched up and down hallways from midnight to about 2 am, throwing wine around the hallways and the lift. Not impressed as we had a 4 am departure for an early morning flight. Hotel does not appear to have security cameras which should capture this unsociable behaviour.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else if you want to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lozzie3205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine_L3, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear lozzie3205

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel by Marriott Sea Point.

We do apolagise for the noise you encountered during your stay. This is not the high quality that Protea Hotel by Marriott is proud to offer we have informed the relevant department and will rectify this immediately so this will not happen in the not to far future.

We hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regaurds,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

Positive:
- Breakfast staff (esp. Mr. Dube)
- Comfort beds
- one block to sea point beach

Negative:
- Small room
- Simple breakfast
- Fire alarm started 4 times in the morning (6 am - 7 am) in three days!!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank aemaz_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine_L3, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Dear aemaz_2000

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel by Marriott Sea Point.

As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology for the poor handling of the fire alarm going off. Please note we have very strict standards regarding safety and security of our GUESTS and STAFF, therfore the fire alarm will going off is out of our control and try ensure we handle it as best as possible. We have shared your feedback with the appropriate hotel team to ensure that this was an isolated issue that is corrected moving forward.

Upholding our commitment to provide a memorable experience with exceptional service, we hope to have an opportunity to better your experience with us whenever your travels bring you back to Cape Town.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

Sea Point has changed a lot in the last view years. Earlier not so save and clean, it's now getting back to a top adress. The Protea Hotel is well located, has a garage and a very nice pool deck with a view to Table Mountain. Only a hundred meters to the promenade and not far to shops and restaurants. A steak house belongs to the building. The room with balkony was very clean, modern and quiet. What else do you need for a great stay in one of the best towns of the world?

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank AchimBischoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine_L3, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Dear AchimBischoff

Thank you for your lovely compliments regarding your recnt stay at Protea Hotel by Marriott Sea Point.

We have an amazing property and excited that you love it as much as we do. We cant wait to welcome you back in the not to far future.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

The hotel is a block from the beach, so it was quite surprising to find that the rooms have sea view from a small balcony. The room was comfortable and nice and clean. We had breakfast in the restaurant on 4 occasions while in Cape Town, and every time was excellent. Ashley and Maureen are exceptionally friendly staff members as were the rest of the staff. We stay in Protea Hotels all over SA and this hotel compares very good to the rest. Thanks, we will return.

Room Tip: Third floor right at the lift was fine. Just noise at 2:30 experienced but sounded as if it came fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annali K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine_L3, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Dear Annali K

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel by Marriott Sea Point.

We are glad that we were able to meet and excedd your expectation during your stay and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#63 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 076 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#57 of 112 in Cape Town Central
667 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#42 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marr...
#82 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 032 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#89 of 112 in Cape Town Central
219 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#58 of 112 in Cape Town Central
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point

Address: Arthur's Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R1 769 - R2 949 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a block away from Sea Point Promenade and the cool Atlantic shoreline, this stylish three star hotel guarantees GUESTS an experience that’s freshly different. Protea Hotel by Marriott Sea Point is a comfortable oasis for corporate and leisure travellers alike who want to experience the best of Cape Town in a tranquil beach house feel. Protea by Hotel by Marriott Sea Point is Freshly Different. This seaside hotel offers either mountain or sea views from the rooms and the vast range of amenities ensures a home-away-from-home feel. The hotels’ most talked about is the interactive lobby and lounge area. Minutes away from Camps Bay beaches, V&A Waterfront and the CBD; not to mention the beautiful Cape Town promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Cape Town
Protea Hotel Sea Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing