We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 730)
Filter reviews
1 730 results
Traveller rating
1 000
520
152
31
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 000
520
152
31
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews loft room oysters table mountain great location piazza facing seals playing a mountain view room ferris wheel sister hotel travel desk waterfront area robben island ferry separate toilet third floor dock house service at breakfast breakfast was included
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 1 730 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Victoria & Alfred Hotel is the perfect place to stay if this is your first time as a tourist in Cape Town.

The Piazza facing bedroom and bathroom were large with fresh towels, chocolate and water brought night and day. Good selection of drinks from the minibar and a good room service menu.The room and Hotel premises also has free Wifi.

Ginja restaurant downstairs was lovely. Breakfast was excellent and restaurant staff dress code was cute and presentable. Drinks from Ginja bar were tasty. The restaurant outside also has the BEST views of Table Mountain (When the clouds are not covering it of course)

Plenty of shops,bars and restaurants to choose from around the marina and shopping mall. The V&A food market to the side of the hotel is a MUST for foodies.
Transport Links, Taxis and Hop On/Off Bus Station are close also.

Reception staff were extremely helpful and professional. A special mention to Theo who softened a stressful situation by providing us some basic toiletries and chased up where our bags were as they had been mixed up at the airport and would not of arrived until some point the next day. Thanks again :)

Overall a great stay and if I came to Cape Town again I would most likely to stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy_Nold, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your fantastic review of the V&A Hotel and particulaly about our team members who we are very proud of as a whole. Our location is unique with the V&A Hotel the very first hotel to operate in the V&A Waterfront, that is vastly different to when we opened our doors just under 28 years ago in 1990. In 2016 we opened up the entire ground floor area of the hotel and after 6 months of construction opened Ginja with it's unique breakfast offering and majestic Table Mountain as the back drop over looking the working harbour. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The location of this place is unbeatable. We were near absolutely everything on the waterfront and there was absolutely no reason to be in any other location. From our view, we could see the entire waterfront. Only complaints: it is loud at night, you can hear the street performers and the walls are kind of thin inside the hotel and we could hear other guests around us. For the cost, it didn't feel worth the value since the hotel really could use some updating, especially in the rooms.

The hotel staff were also very helpful and organized whatever we needed. If you aren't planning on spending a lot of time in the hotel, it is the perfect location.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LPinthecity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy_Nold, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your positive feedback on our location and our motivated team who we are very proud of. We have embarked on a major upgrade of our third floor loft facilities beginning with our submissions to the Heritage authorities who have jurisdiction over the 114 year old building that houses our hotel and will keep everyone updated with developments on our website. We really appreciate your positive feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

With spectacular views of Table Mountain, quality accommodation and service matched with friendly people you will love staying in the area. Amazing food options close by that are affordable along with shopping this Hotel covers everything you need

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank clarke o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy_Nold, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your wonderful review of the V&A Hotel! We are very proud of our whole team and are pleased that you so much enjoyed our amazing food offering coupled with the fantastic uninterupted views of majestic Table Mountain overlooking the working harbour. Please do come and visist us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Thanks for the hospitality!!! We truly enjoyed our stay and had a wonderful experience. We had a minor issue at check-in but was quickly resolved. Quick shout out to Luci, Wesley and the rest of the team. Best breakfast ever!!! Oysters for breakfast, yeay!!!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank RomGopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy_Nold, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your wonderful review of the V&A Hotel! We are very proud of our whole team and are pleased that you so much enjoyed our unique breakfast offering coupled with the fantastic uninterupted views of majestic Table Mountain overlooking the working harbour. Please do come and visist us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018

This was our first visit to Capetown and we are delighted that we chose to stay at V&A Waterfront Hotel. The two main elements that made for a great stay were the location of the hotel - it simply cannot be beaten, and the truly wonderful staff who were without exception great ambassadors for the hotel. I couldn’t fault any of them for their friendliness, helpfulness and attentiveness.
Breakfast at the hotel was also outstanding with a great variety of standard fare as well as a la carte choices. Meals were served by outstanding and cheerful staff who really provided a personal touch.
Free internet was provided as well as free security car parking.
The only negative was that our loft room overlooking the Ferris wheel was rather tired and in need of a refresh. However, it was bright during the day, not too noisy, adequately spacious and had a very comfortable bed. Being in an older building, it had some creaky floorboards and could use and update.
But, overall, our experience at V&A was great and I’d highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Preferably not a loft but if you have to have one perhaps consider one on the marina side
Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank avidaaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy_Nold, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Thank you for your fantastic feedback on our location, great breakfast offering and our team who are motivated and we are very proud of. We have embarked on a major upgrade of our third floor loft facilities beginning with our submissions to the Heritage authorities who have jurisdiction over the 114 year old building that houses our hotel and will keep everyone updated with developments on our website. We really appreciate your positive feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews