We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$154
US$145
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$187
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$77
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$92
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$84/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$133
US$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$71
US$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$83
US$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$120/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Urban Hive Backpackers(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$32
US$22
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Book now, pay at stay
US$168
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1 682)
Filter reviews
1 682 results
Traveller rating
967
509
148
31
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
967
509
148
31
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloft roomoysterstable mountainpiazza facingseals playingperfect locationa mountain view roomferris wheelsister hoteltravel deskwaterfront arearobben island ferryseparate toiletthird floordock houseservice at breakfastbreakfast was included
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 1 682 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

Stayed overnight in this fantastic facility. Rooms were clean and spacious. Great fluffy robes. Turn down service with bottle water and chocolate on the pillow makes you feel special. Fantastic breakfast available. Staff are amazing. Take the time to talk to them and ask about their life. Bag storage is available on request. Right in the middle of the waterfront with restaurants shopping and tours available.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Melissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy_Nold, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing your positive experiences at the V&A Hotel and we are delighted that you enjoyed the breakfast at Ginja so much. We are very proud of our team and it is very pleasing to receive such fantastic all round feedback. Please do come and visit us a again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

4 night stay. Everything was perfect, love it when staff remember your name, adds that special touch. Room was large, clean and modern with good fast WiFi.
The location couldn’t be better. Slap bang on the 5k running loop for a safe course round the waterfront, loads of restaurants within a few minutes walk.
The view from the room is one of the best in the world, and waking up watching the seals frolicking in the marina is just magical.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank darwindc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy_Nold, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are delighted and thank you for your positive review of the V&A Hotel, its facilities and most importantly the team members who we are very proud of as we continue to develop our culture of guest satisfaction over the past 27 years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

This hotel is wonderfully located on the wwaterfront walking distance from all the restaurants and attractions.

Piazza facing rooms are nice but vary in size some rooms are double the size of others.

Breakfast is wonderful

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CamyBirdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy_Nold, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for positive review of our hotel and we are pleased you enjoyed our unique breakfast offering with majestic Table Mountain as the backdrop. Please do come back and visit us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018

The rooms are huge, very stylish, clean, modern and comfortable. We stayed for 4 nights and had a wonderful time there. Very clean standard, the only downfall was the sheets were to small for the bed but once I advised housekeeping it was rectified. Restaurant downstairs very nice, best breakfast I've had in a hotel, Cafe Latte was welcoming after brewed coffee. Great location at the Waterfront, beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Di M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy_Nold, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank for your positive review of the V&A Hotel and constructive feedback on the linen which I am pleased we were able to rectify without delay and has been addressed with our Executive Housekeeper to avoid re-occurrence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

This is the perfect location to stay at the waterfront!
The rooms are good, well decorated, and with great view (even when facing the piazza). Good bathroom and great shower!
The staff is gentle but they could be more efficient, from receptionists to waiters.
I think the breakfast could be better considering the hotel category.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank portodapraia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy_Nold, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review and feedback on the efficiency of our personnel and thoughts on or breakfast offering. We are pleased you enjoyed our showers and bathrooms, even with the water restrictions in place as we are currently experiencing a severe drought in Cape Town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews