We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$169
US$161
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$79
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$88/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$61
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$133
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$190
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$157
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$167/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$91
US$79
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$132/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Urban Hive Backpackers(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$32
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Reviews (1 682)
Filter reviews
1 682 results
Traveller rating
967
509
148
31
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
967
509
148
31
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloft roomoysterstable mountainpiazza facingseals playingperfect locationa mountain view roomferris wheelsister hoteltravel deskwaterfront arearobben island ferryseparate toiletthird floordock houseservice at breakfastbreakfast was included
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 1 682 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2018

When I say very good I mean that the hotel had a great location in the middle of the waterfront. We spent our evening in the area. It was lively and sometimes overcrowded to our taste. The rooms were comfortable and quite spacious and service good. It met our expectations. The breakfast terrace is amazing , breakfast was decent and could have been better. Service was really good and the staff were really friendly. For dinner shows, I recommend you book before you get there because the concierge wasn't able to confirm any booking for us. However now that I have visited cape town , I would rather stay down at Camps Bay to real soak in the magnificent views!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hess84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy_Nold, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review your stay with us and for your positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hustle and bustle of the Waterfront some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

As other reviews have already said, this is a well located hotel yet rooms were quiet and well soundproofed from outside noise. Ours was on the 1st floor and faced to plaza. The room was spacious and well equipped. We were told by a couple we met on safari that the restaurant was good yet of the 5 days we stayed it was closed for 3 as there were private functions on and we couldn’t even get a drink at the bar on those evenings or sit on one of the tables situated outside- a definite down point hence 4 instead of 5 stars. Service at breakfast was variable. On one morning the waitress never got round to asking if we wanted tea or coffee despite the fact I mentioned to the hostess we had been waiting. Reception staff and porters were courteous and helpful.

Room Tip: Harbour views are best
Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy_Nold, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review your stay with us and for your constructive feedback that will assist us in improving the consistency of the high standards we set for ourselves. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018

My Daughter and I recently spent 3 days/nights at The Victoria & Alfred Hotel in South Africa.The location is terrific , right by the water and there are numerous things to do, shopping and restaurants within walking distance . The hotel itself is very nice and the staff to person are all courteous, respectful and friendly. I would highly recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdsandoval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy_Nold, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review your stay with us and for your positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018

Stayed for 4 nights at V&A in late January. Excellent service, helpful and knowledgeable staff, breakfast is an experience in itself with the Table Mountain in the backdrop. Esther at the Sanctuary Spa offered the best professional massage therapy I have had for a long time. Ask for her when you book!
Adam

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdamF_6803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy_Nold, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review your stay with us and for your positive feedback about our Sanctuary Spa. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2018 via mobile

We have stayed about 12 times at the Victoria & Alfred since 1996. We always make a point if we can of staying at the V & A for our first two nights on a visit to Cape Town. This year we did struggle to make a booking and had to use an outside agency. However we managed to get on of the smaller Piazza view rooms at the extreme end of the first floor Room 134. The delight of the room during the day was the enthusiasm street entertainers playing below our room . Great to watch and hear from our modest balcony window ( evenings and nights were nice and quiet)
This trip was a birthday and wedding anniversary trip V &A did not let us down. We were picked up at the Airport late evening and brought to the hotel in a nice limousine. Next morning at breakfast we had a premier view of Table Mountain at a table decorated with rose petals and a mini birthday cake for the birthday boy . Thank you V & A we will be back.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Stuanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy_Nold, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review your 12th+ stay with us and for your positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to your V&A "family" in the not too distant future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews