We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel, Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Ranked #24 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My Daughter and I recently spent 3 days/nights at The Victoria & Alfred Hotel in South Africa.The location is terrific , right by the water and there are numerous things to do, shopping and restaurants within walking distance . The hotel itself is very nice and the staff to person are all courteous, respectful and friendly. I would highly recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdsandoval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy_Nold, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review your stay with us and for your positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 614)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 1 614 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for 4 nights at V&A in late January. Excellent service, helpful and knowledgeable staff, breakfast is an experience in itself with the Table Mountain in the backdrop. Esther at the Sanctuary Spa offered the best professional massage therapy I have had for a long time. Ask for her when you book!
Adam

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdamF_6803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy_Nold, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review your stay with us and for your positive feedback about our Sanctuary Spa. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have stayed about 12 times at the Victoria & Alfred since 1996. We always make a point if we can of staying at the V & A for our first two nights on a visit to Cape Town. This year we did struggle to make a booking and had to use an outside agency. However we managed to get on of the smaller Piazza view rooms at the extreme end of the first floor Room 134. The delight of the room during the day was the enthusiasm street entertainers playing below our room . Great to watch and hear from our modest balcony window ( evenings and nights were nice and quiet)
This trip was a birthday and wedding anniversary trip V &A did not let us down. We were picked up at the Airport late evening and brought to the hotel in a nice limousine. Next morning at breakfast we had a premier view of Table Mountain at a table decorated with rose petals and a mini birthday cake for the birthday boy . Thank you V & A we will be back.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Stuanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy_Nold, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review your 12th+ stay with us and for your positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to your V&A "family" in the not too distant future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This lovely looking hotel is right on the waterfront, painted in grey with white trim. If you stay here you can walk to bars, restaurants, shopping and all sorts of entertainment. The hotel front desk was super as were the staff at breakfast . The breakfast was included and it was varied and delicious. Our room was very clean and there was a night table on each side of the bed. I highly recommend.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank cebcolpitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy_Nold, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review your stay with us and for your positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I were booked into the Victoria and Alfred Hotel for one night prior to boarding our cruise ship. As we had a long flight I did not feel like dinner so my husband went to dinner alone. I woke at 11.45 p.m. to find he had not returned from dinner and all the restaurants closed. The Night Manager and Night Chef were so helpful and supportive to me as I was so distressed about my missing husband. The Hotel is in the safe tourist area of the V & A Waterfront and therefore they have CCTV cameras and 24 hour security service. By using the cameras and the security service my husband was safely located at 1.45 a.m. Unfortunately he had suffered a stroke but without the intervention of the hotel staff and the security staff the outcome could have been far worse.
We now know that my husband suffered his stroke at the hotel restaurant and two dining room staff asked was he all right and asked if they could call a Doctor. Unfortunately my husband did not realise he had a problem. After my husband as discharged from hospital, we went back to the hotel to thank the staff for their help on that night - certainly the Night Manager and the Night Chef went well beyond what could have been expected of them. We cannot speak more highly of the staff and care which they provided to 'one night guests'. Our room was lovely as we overlooked the harbour. The breakfast the following morning was also well presented and enjoyable. I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel which is in an excellent location. The V & A Waterfront as far as I am concerned is the only place for a tourist to stay in Cape Town city area. It is best to avoid downtown!

Stayed: December 2017
4  Thank Evron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are so glad to hear your husband is doing well. Thank you so much for letting us know and sharing your kind words.
Rey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0,4 km away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 441 reviews
0,1 km away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor Hou...
#16 of 112 in Cape Town Central
753 reviews
1,1 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0,3 km away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 149 reviews
0,3 km away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#41 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 383 reviews
2 km away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria & Alfred Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Address: On the Waterfront Pierhead, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 2 540 - R 5 419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria & Alfred Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront.Framed by the ocean and Table Mountain, the elegance and luxury of the Victoria & Alfred Hotel is rivaled only by its relaxed atmosphere and warm personal service.With 94 spacious bedrooms - It’s the detail that gives the Victoria & Alfred Hotel its elegance, intimacy, romance and reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Victoria & Alfred Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Alfred Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing