We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 733)
Filter reviews
1 733 results
Traveller rating
1 002
520
153
31
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 002
520
153
31
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews loft room oysters table mountain great location piazza facing seals playing a mountain view room ferris wheel sister hotel travel desk waterfront area robben island ferry separate toilet third floor dock house service at breakfast breakfast was included
Filter
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 1 733 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2017

Hotel is in a great location if you want to be close to what’s happening in and around the V&A Waterfront. Can be a bit noisey but if you like African music and dance, like we do, its perfect. Can be a bit pricey over the holidays example $140 on a normal day $260 weekends and holidays. $420 on Christmas Day. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast on the dock looking up at Table Mountain is lovely. Rooms very clean and well tended. Room service could be better.

Room Tip: If you would like it a bit quieter stay on the Table Top mountain side of the hotel.
Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank dejm106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2017

Thanks very much for staying with us. It is lovely to hear you enjoyed are friendly staff, our great breakfast, clean rooms and of course our wonderful location in the heat of it all.
Rey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights at the start of our South African journey along the Garden Route.
The hotel is of a traditional style and might by some be called old fashioned in that much of the furniture is dark wood and soft furnishings red velvet. First impressions can be deceiving as this turned out to be a wonderful hotel. The rooms are massive, ours having a view over the waterside quay and Table Mountain in the distance. The view is stunning.
The bathrooms are very modern with duel wash basins, large glass enclosed shower and a large bath. The latter we were unable to use because of the drastic water shortage that the Southern Cape is experiencing at the moment.
There is a small bar on the ground floor next to the restaurant where you are served breakfast and which also serves light snacks during the day and dinner at night. We only used it for breakfast and there is a very large selection of fresh fruits, meats, cheeses and breads and if you want it you can order a full English Breakfast which is served to you. On good weather days breakfast can be taken on the outside veranda and also at the tables on the waters edge as this area is also owned by the hotel.
The staff could not do enough for you and always greeted you with a smile.
The hotel is also attached to a small shopping mall.
A room tip would be to have a mountain view room overlooking the harbour as the area outside the front of the hotel can get quite noisy with bands playing in the evening.
The V&A Waterfront is the main tourist area for Cape Town and has a real buzz about it. There are lots of places to eat ranging from the usual bunch of take away places and some really upmarket restaurants. The V&A shopping Mall forms part of the area and has some very upmarket designer names there.
Overall the Victoria and Albert is a great hotel, go expecting modern rooms and you will be disappointed, go expecting traditional massive rooms with all modern conveniences and comfy beds and you will love it.
I will be back.
Oh and by the way Cape Town is very safe

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank PeterMirfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Wow, thank you so much for the kind recommendation. It is lovely to hear how much you enjoyed our comfortable rooms, our restaurant and overall superb location.
Rey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2017 via mobile

We were very lucky to have a harbour view room. We had an amazing view in the morning and across the harbour.

The rooms were generous in size and were really clean. Separate bathroom and toilet was also handy.

The location is amazing and it is easy to walk around the area but also catch other transport or walk into the city.

Would totally recommend

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 795rebekahw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

We are super proud of our fantastic location and further are very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the recommendation.
Best wishes
Rey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2017 via mobile

After a busy holiday touring South Africa, Zimbabwe, Zambia and Botswana we took a few days to chill at the V & A hotel at the Waterfront. We were lucky enough to be there while the Volvo Globe Yacht race and the rugby sevens were in crating a fantastic atmosphere around the V & A.

The hotel is comfortable and good value for money but the restaurant food is not the very best that we had come to expect in Africa. However there a some many restaurants to choose from within the Waterfront that provide excellent choice and quality.

It is in an excellent position within Waterfront and was ideal for the few days we spent relaxing before our return to the UK.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Go670420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Thanks for sharing your stay experience with us. Sorry you did not enjoy our artisanal restaurant, but thanks for mentioning how much you enjoyed your overall stay with us.
Rey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

This is a great hotel right on the waterfront so within very easy strolling distance to all the attractions of the restaurant. Location absolutely perfect. Hotel has no pool, garden etc. but residents can use the facilities at a nearby hotel but although just the start of summer it was not really the weather for a pool. Our room (2nd floor Piazza view) was very nice , roomy, and couldn't fault it at all. Didn't need to spend extra for a mountain view as seen every day at breakfast etc. Breakfast was superb with a vast selection of "continental breakfast" items plus a wide range of hot food available. We also had a dinner their restaurant which was really good and good value although selections a bit limited. Staff excellent and keen to help with arranging trips if needed. If returning we would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a 2nd floor piazza view room - lovely room, quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rclholl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Thanks very much for sharing your great experience at our hotel. We are very happy you enjoyed your room , the great views and location, our fabulous restaurant and professional and friendly team.
Rey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews