We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Ranked #23 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went one night pre and one night post Cruise. I had debated with myself on Hotels on the Waterfront. This is the perfect location. The staff are excellent and helpful . I was happy with the loft room and also the Waterfront room. The breakfast is stunning and the setting magical.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank DenisePF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are super happy that you chose to stay with us and delighted you enjoyed every minute of it.
Best wishes
Rey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 600)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 1 600 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel is in a great location if you want to be close to what’s happening in and around the V&A Waterfront. Can be a bit noisey but if you like African music and dance, like we do, its perfect. Can be a bit pricey over the holidays example $140 on a normal day $260 weekends and holidays. $420 on Christmas Day. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast on the dock looking up at Table Mountain is lovely. Rooms very clean and well tended. Room service could be better.

Room Tip: If you would like it a bit quieter stay on the Table Top mountain side of the hotel.
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank dejm106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks very much for staying with us. It is lovely to hear you enjoyed are friendly staff, our great breakfast, clean rooms and of course our wonderful location in the heat of it all.
Rey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights at the start of our South African journey along the Garden Route.
The hotel is of a traditional style and might by some be called old fashioned in that much of the furniture is dark wood and soft furnishings red velvet. First impressions can be deceiving as this turned out to be a wonderful hotel. The rooms are massive, ours having a view over the waterside quay and Table Mountain in the distance. The view is stunning.
The bathrooms are very modern with duel wash basins, large glass enclosed shower and a large bath. The latter we were unable to use because of the drastic water shortage that the Southern Cape is experiencing at the moment.
There is a small bar on the ground floor next to the restaurant where you are served breakfast and which also serves light snacks during the day and dinner at night. We only used it for breakfast and there is a very large selection of fresh fruits, meats, cheeses and breads and if you want it you can order a full English Breakfast which is served to you. On good weather days breakfast can be taken on the outside veranda and also at the tables on the waters edge as this area is also owned by the hotel.
The staff could not do enough for you and always greeted you with a smile.
The hotel is also attached to a small shopping mall.
A room tip would be to have a mountain view room overlooking the harbour as the area outside the front of the hotel can get quite noisy with bands playing in the evening.
The V&A Waterfront is the main tourist area for Cape Town and has a real buzz about it. There are lots of places to eat ranging from the usual bunch of take away places and some really upmarket restaurants. The V&A shopping Mall forms part of the area and has some very upmarket designer names there.
Overall the Victoria and Albert is a great hotel, go expecting modern rooms and you will be disappointed, go expecting traditional massive rooms with all modern conveniences and comfy beds and you will love it.
I will be back.
Oh and by the way Cape Town is very safe

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank PeterMirfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Wow, thank you so much for the kind recommendation. It is lovely to hear how much you enjoyed our comfortable rooms, our restaurant and overall superb location.
Rey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2017 via mobile

We were very lucky to have a harbour view room. We had an amazing view in the morning and across the harbour.

The rooms were generous in size and were really clean. Separate bathroom and toilet was also handy.

The location is amazing and it is easy to walk around the area but also catch other transport or walk into the city.

Would totally recommend

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 795rebekahw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are super proud of our fantastic location and further are very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the recommendation.
Best wishes
Rey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Scotland, United Kingdom
92
Reviewed 16 December 2017 via mobile

After a busy holiday touring South Africa, Zimbabwe, Zambia and Botswana we took a few days to chill at the V & A hotel at the Waterfront. We were lucky enough to be there while the Volvo Globe Yacht race and the rugby sevens were in crating a fantastic atmosphere around the V & A.

The hotel is comfortable and good value for money but the restaurant food is not the very best that we had come to expect in Africa. However there a some many restaurants to choose from within the Waterfront that provide excellent choice and quality.

It is in an excellent position within Waterfront and was ideal for the few days we spent relaxing before our return to the UK.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for sharing your stay experience with us. Sorry you did not enjoy our artisanal restaurant, but thanks for mentioning how much you enjoyed your overall stay with us.
Rey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0,4 km away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 394 reviews
1,1 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 822 reviews
0,1 km away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor Hou...
#16 of 112 in Cape Town Central
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0,3 km away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 129 reviews
2 km away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 843 reviews
0,8 km away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#45 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria & Alfred Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Address: On the Waterfront Pierhead, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#23 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R2 702 - R6 172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria & Alfred Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront.Framed by the ocean and Table Mountain, the elegance and luxury of the Victoria & Alfred Hotel is rivaled only by its relaxed atmosphere and warm personal service.With 94 spacious bedrooms - It’s the detail that gives the Victoria & Alfred Hotel its elegance, intimacy, romance and reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Victoria & Alfred Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Alfred Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing